7:30 report discussion on a possible housing bubble ready to burst

RE not being totally honest regarding disclosing failed auctions.
I have been tracking the REIV stats for over 12 months now. This time last year their unreported auctions were coming in at around 7-9% of the total held, it's creeping up toward 20% most weekends now.

The media are repeating the same story.
We all know that the premium markets plus many markets of WA and QLD are correcting so median prices nationwide will appear lower.

If interest rates climbed higher in the short term then sure, we'll have price corrections at other brackets and in other states as well but interest rates aren't moving for now.

I think the WA market correction has run it's course... it's been quite long grind too. Seems the WA and Qld markets led the way there. South East seems to be following now. The downward movement in WA went for about 3 years. I expect it to languish about for a further 3-9 months before kicking up. pure guesswork of course, but may prove as some sort of extrapolation for what the south east may do.

The allegation is that housing research companies like RP Data tend to project positive home value forecasts because many of those who buy their research are involved in real estate - as is RP Data's research partner, Rismark.

Thats a massive statement to make without providing further details..

My issue with this statement is that I cannot find a logical reason why RP DATA would project positive value forecasts..

RP DATA clients include, valuers, banks, developers, builders, investors etc..

Lets say for instance RP DATA projected massive falls, why would any of the above listed clients then stop buying RP DATA services in reaction???

If RP DATA had a conflict of interest e.g. it was owned by some of the countries major builders or real estate agents then that maybe a reason but its not to my knowledge..