advice required: sub div deal colapsing?

Hi everyone, i may have hit a hurdle here and would love your input.

I am currently looking at a buying a new IP in regional NSW. I own 2 properties (1 x oo, 1 x ip) and this would be my 3rd. I have never done a subdivision or DA before but want to get started and this will (hopefully) be the first of many.

The site is a corner block, sloping towards the street so no issues with easements. It is about 870sq/m in a rectangular shape with an existing 2 bed 1 bath house (approx 80 yrs old) on the front corner leaving a great big backyard.
The interior has not been updated in anout 40yrs so is well and truely ready for a reno. My plan is to install new kitchen, new bathroom vanity, give it a lick of paint and some new carpet, but otherwise just repair jobs, nothing major/structural. I have completed a reno similar to this before and estimate it will cost about 10-15k (doing all the work myself). once the reno is complete, i should be able to rent it out for about $200/w. Its not a great rental return, being $200/w on a total cost of $220k (purch price and reno and thats not including stamp duty etc) but the potential for the DA will more than make up for that.

i have already paid a local town planner to assess the site and do a little research for me based on keeping the existing dwelling and sub dividing the backyard.

He has said i should be able to fit two 2 bedroom duplex on the back block, but we have not discussed what could be done if we demolish the existing dwelling.
the reason i never asked about that scenario is that i think i will only have enough finance to complete the two new buildings, not the demolition and construction of another 1 or 2 more. My gut feeling though is that if it were demolished, i could fit 4 units/townhouses on it.

i have recieved back my building and pest inspections. Pest inspection: no problems.
building inspection: some concerns.

View attachment summary.doc