"bogan" areas??

I often see posts here from "out of towners" asking about our Bris "bogan areas" (Logan, woodridge, deception bay, caboolture) Now I do admit that "on paper" these areas look sort of OK.
I am sure EVERY city has "bogan" areas.
So my question is...does local knowledge actually HINDER us as investors???

I often see posts here from "out of towners" asking about our Bris "bogan areas" (Logan, woodridge, deception bay, caboolture) Now I do admit that "on paper" these areas look sort of OK.
I am sure EVERY city has "bogan" areas.

You left out Sunshine Coast;)
It probably does as much as it helps us.

Naaaa not just us Qld'ers :)

http://www.starnewsgroup.com.au/story/64253
Bogan Pride.

On 6 October, SBS will air the new television series, a comedy whose schoolyard scenes were filmed at Sunshine College and which celebrates bogan culture.

Rebel Wilson, who played Toula in SBS show Pizza, wrote Bogan Pride from her experiences of growing up in Sydney’s western suburbs in the 1980s.

Ms Wilson said Sunshine Secondary College was used for the school scenes and most of the show’s exterior scenes were filmed in Laverton and Altona.
NB: fimed in VIC based on experiences in NSW :p

AND then I find that NSW has a WHOLE Bogan Shire :p wif a cousell an evryfink :p http://bogan.local-e.nsw.gov.au/

No obviously I realise I may not have worded my question correctly. Anyone care to respond constrctively???

My question is....if a suburb looks good on paper, is that enough??? Does the
genral (local) consensus that it is a "bogan" suburb put you off??

What is a bogan..??

......"The term bogan (pronounced /ˈboʊgən/, rhyming with slogan) is Australian and New Zealand English slang, usually pejorative or self-deprecating, for a person who is, or is perceived to be, of a lower-class background. According to the stereotype, the speech and mannerisms of "bogans" indicate, poor education, cheap clothing and uncultured upbringing. 'Bogans' usually reside in economically disadvantaged suburbs (often outer metropolitan) or rural areas"........

I laughed my head off at a post Dazz made a fair while ago about his observations of the people who reside in some QLD mining town he was visiting. That was just a typical rural town anywhere in NSW or QLD and probably anywhere in Australia.

So nearly everyone in my local area is a bogan. I am. I can't stand flash restaurants, much prefer a pub meal. Gotta go 100 k's to a flash restaurant anyway. I wouldn't be seen dead in a flash car. Most cars in my area are white toyota four wheel drives. I ride dirtbikes as do most of my mates, that's got to be a big bogan hobby. While I don't hunt wild pigs, it's a popular hobby around here, and probably half the local males chase pigs with dogs and earn some cash at the same time. Bogans probably like camping. I'd reckon a flash holiday for a bogan would be a few weeks at the Gold coast in a unit and take the kids to a theme park or two? There is sure as hell plenty of rural bogans in the place I stay at anyway. In winter I can go to the local sports club for a meal, in ugs, tracky dacks and flanno, the kids in their pj's, and not get a second glance.

When a bogan has made it big time, he likes to move out of town and onto some acreage. One of my bogan mates has 10 acres, with a footy field complete with goal post for a front lawn, and a motocross track going around the house. A relaxing arvo is watching the kids race around the house, beer in hand.

I'd reckon most rural people are proud to be bogans.

Sue, I agree that knowing an area can be a disadvantage, if you let it be. When you have local knowledge of an area, you have to try and benefit from your knowledge, without being overly influenced by local prejudices, and that can be a difficult balance.

TC, there are bogans, and then there are bogans... you're of the lovable variety. ;)

bogan predudice cost me $

I could have purchased a house in Frankston North in 2004 for $170K but my bogan predudices and advice from so-called experts talked me out of it.

Same house now is $240K.

I could have purchased a house in Frankston North in 2004 for $170K but my bogan predudices and advice from so-called experts talked me out of it.

Same house now is $240K.
That's only a 7% pa return... are you saying your prejudices served you well or hindered you in this case? I mean it's not a terrible return, but it's certainly not "the one that got away"!

Another bogan-dusty hick here, TC. ;)

-Proud to be feral bogan origins, substitute moccies for crocs, with a butterfly clip.

-And a latte sipping feral-bogan-dusty-hick. I have class man.

-Oh, forgot, an optimistic, rose colored glasses, hippy! socialist, left wing, solution solver who does invest in fellow bogan areas, and making a relatively small, but sweet gain. Continuing to associate myself with my fellow bogans of varied origins.

Life is indeed amusing and sweet.

Moyjos:

I'm not sure Moyjos, I have considerable local knowledge for many areas, (having been a transient bogan in the past :p), got to say I feel networking and local knowledge/experience has truly been an asset for me.

Been a great help, just in my case.

That's a 7% gross. Real return after inflation and expenses probably in the order of 3% pa. Nothing to feel sorry about missing out on.

That's only a 7% pa return... are you saying your prejudices served you well or hindered you in this case? I mean it's not a terrible return, but it's certainly not "the one that got away"!

I must say I mostly invest in Bogan areas....they are great captive rental audience and in most cases make excellent tenants! :p

Trouble....is these days some of these areas are attracting the "latte sipping" crowd!!.....these places are going down hill...LOL! ;)

In winter I can go to the local sports club for a meal, in ugs, tracky dacks and flanno, the kids in their pj's, and not get a second glance.

I had a chuckle at your post topcropper :).

When I was about 19 my boyfriend at the time was transferred to Kilcoy with the bank. One of his new friends was getting engaged and we went to the engagement party in the local hall.

I was dressed "city style" but most of the other local girls were "dressed tizzy" as well so I didn't look out of place.

Best part was the father of the future bride, in the black suit he no doubt was married in (and probably the same one he would be buried in), white shirt, black tie and BLACK THONGS :eek:....... obviously his "dress thongs".

Couldn't take my eyes off 'em.

That's a 7% gross. Real return after inflation and expenses probably in the order of 3% pa. Nothing to feel sorry about missing out on.

Um, thats still half the picture. What if it was a no money down deal. Then I would be stoked. ROI of ..... wait for it........ infinity :). Thats where IRR and ROI should be used.

WRT investing in bogan areas. Every city has its logans/marsdens/kingstons. For the life of me I can't understand why people look outside their own cities. Wouldn't it be more financially sound to invest in an area you know well where you can mitigate risks instead of looking in a different city. When I see people enquire about these the whole "out of site out of mind" saying pops into mind.

For the life of me I can't understand why people look outside their own cities. Wouldn't it be more financially sound to invest in an area you know well where you can mitigate risks instead of looking in a different city. When I see people enquire about these the whole "out of site out of mind" saying pops into mind.
Hi CP,
At the time (and now) I had a number of IP's in the one LG area in one state. Therefore I was seeking to mitigate risk by diversifying into another state that I travelled to quite regularly. Also I was getting hit with land tax and so moving state was to mitigate this impost as well.;)