Brick or weatherboard exterior?

Hi... im thinking of buying an IP and found a nice place in my budget - its going to be between $240-$260k... its a weatherboard place - the inside is decent... but the outside I think needs work... all the other houses on the street have a brick exterior.

I would like to add some value to the house so I'm wondering what other people on this forum would do.

1) Paint the exterior and keep the weatherboard look.

2) reclad the exterior to brick

3) other options

I'm also intending to landscape the area - something simple... some shrubs, natives mulch, paving.

The place also has a brick chimney. I think this is quite ugly if i choose to keep the weatherboards - what should i do?

Also it is a 3 bedroom, 1 bathroom single storey house - what are the likely costs for the above options?

Thanks.

Also I am just starting out with renovation - never did anything b4 - so will need easy solutions to get me going.

The place also has a brick chimney. I think this is quite ugly if i choose to keep the weatherboards - what should i do?

Well, I have never seen a weatherboard chimney.... :D

Leave the house weatherboard - bit of fill and paint. Easy enough to replce rotten boards as you go.

Cheers,

The Y-man

Hi... im thinking of buying an IP and found a nice place in my budget - its going to be between $240-$260k... its a weatherboard place - the inside is decent... but the outside I think needs work...
Tenants are more fussy about the inside than outside

I would like to add some value to the house so I'm wondering what other people on this forum would do.

Yes that's what I would do

sounds nice but the footings will have to be hand dug because of the proximity to the building.

I'm also intending to landscape the area - something simple... some shrubs, natives mulch, paving.
Thats a good move.

If the chimney is no longer in service, it could be removed, but then you would have to replace and match weatherboards to make it look right.