Brokers Ain't Brokers?

I have been using a broker for several years and I have been happy with him. However, it seems we have hit a wall in trying to obtain finance as I am LoDoc. I have lots of equity, but my income isn't great. I can get a loan to fund purchase of $275k but will be paying through the nose for it with a smaller non-bank lender at 7%. I assume mortgage insurance as well...

A friend has suggested a different broker who is "fantastic" and who could probably help at securing funds *at much lower rate. My question is: how can this "new" broker do what my broker can't?*

Not all brokers are as imaginitive/driven to get deals done as others. For example they may just put every deal through Westpac/ANZ/CBA/whatever and then give up when serviceability is reached and say "oh well thats all".

A good broker will map out your future plans and then put loans with lenders depending on their credit policies, leaving least restrictive lenders till last as opposed to using them up early in the piece

The new broker might have a larger varieties of lenders on his panel ( Private, non banks, insurance trust and international) + may be more experienced in the low doc range.

After the NCCP laws kick in a few years back, a lot of brokers exit the "low doc " market as the major players ( Lenders/banks) pulled back from their low doc funding or have introduced a lot restrictions/roadblocks.

Generally speaking if your LVR is over 60% than your rate will be more expensive compared to a standard home loan UNLESS you have 12 month BAS or 6 month trading statements. With 12 month bas/6 month trading statement up to 80% LVR you can still get rates under 6% depending on lender.

Accountants letter only, >60.1% -- rates will start from 5.50% - 9.40% ( up to 90% LVR)

For example they may just put every deal through Westpac/ANZ/CBA/whatever and then give up when serviceability is reached and say "oh well thats all".