Buying a car - advice needed please

Hi Everyone,

I hope it's OK for me to post this here in the Coffee Lounge. :)

After a decade of study I have finally decided to get myself a job and I've found myself a wonderful role that couldn't be better. The only one hurdle is that it is a fair distance away - a 140km round trip - and whilst the driving itself doesn't bother me, I'm not sure how long my little old car will put up with it for. I'm driving a fossil from 1989 with over 300,000km on the clock and I feel it is about time I get something else, even though I still love it. :eek: I absolutely must have reliable transport as running late is not an option at all. It's time to bite the bullet.

So, I've started looking at cars and I am all confused. I don't need help with the kind of car, more so with all the other factors that come into play, such as type of finance to get (I'm a sole trader, and so far I think a lease makes most sense?), whether to buy second-hand or new (I'm concerned about the cost of a new car but then reliability is of utmost importance), how much to spend (the car may well be a family car for us in a couple of years so I want something safe but don't want to over-extend financially) and even how long to keep the car for seeing as I will be doing around 40,000km per year and will possibly want to trade the car in for something else before it has too much mileage on the clock.

I understand buying a reliable car is a necessary expense, but I am yet to start investing and I am reluctant to set back my investing too much by buying a car. I am having trouble working out the best balance!

I don't expect anyone to have 'answers' as such for me, but perhaps if you have any advice or stories to tell that might help guide me to make the right decision I would really appreciate that. I've had my current car for 11 years so this is all new to me.

Thanks in advance guys.

Ali

I'll start the ball rolling with a couple of things I've found: