Buying a renovated fire damaged house

G'day All,

Have been looking for a suitable block in Sydney 2770 to do a GF on. Think I've found one suitable, however the main house on it has been renovated after severe fire damage.

Just wondering if anyone has had experience with this and if there are any potential traps to watch out for e.g dodgy cover ups.

Also any recommendations for building inspectors out that way?

Cheers,

Ben

That could be Nathan's house you are looking at. In which case it wouldn't be dodgy (and videos on youtube to prove it).

Send the link and we can see (not me as I have little experience) if the reno looks dodgy or not.

Hey MsAli, the house in front is for sale too. Do you think it's just too rough in that particuliar pocket?

Coconutwheels, I've been to Willmot only a couple of times. I don't like the vibe of the area. There are stray dogs...it just doesn't feel right. Call me emotional or short sighted, but I wouldn't buy there hoping for CG in the near future....unless you were getting a bargain which made the property positively geared and get decent equity.

Is this just an addition to your portfolio? Or are you starting out and attracted to the area? I'm guessing since you are from Darwin you are in process of researching these areas. Initially when we came back into the market in September last year we went to quite a few open homes considering the "granny flat" potential. We thought we could get on the bandwagon and checked the sewer diagrams for various properties. But decided against it - there are a few other threads about those around. The yield looks attractive, but is it really worth the hassle? is it really worth the risk? Is it really worth the outlay? I personally don't think so.