Charged for Trades Apprentice

Hi

Bit miffed. Had some aircon guys out to new office to do some AC duct work repairs, relocations, and service.

I was advised it was a 2 person job and took 4 hours. They also brought an apprentice who hung around, watched, fetched the occasional bit of gear/tool for the 2 techs.

Got the invoice and was charged for 2 x AC technicians + trade apprentice at 50% rate.

Am I justified in challenging the apprentice charge? At no point prior was I advised they were bringing an apprentice, or when they arrived that he was being charged out at 50% of full rate to stand around and learn on the job courtesy of my bank balance.

In my business I have junior IT staff on occasion and I take them out to client sites to learn but unless they are actually doing meaningful work, the client doesnt get charged as I see their training and development as a cost I bear not the customer.

No I studied after high school and delivered pizzas and assembled computers for people to pay my own way until I was able to join the workforce. Bzzt next.

$50 an hour for a trade apprentice to hand tape and ductwork and tools from the ground to the guy on the ladder, good value? I dont think so. One tech plus an apprentice to help pull duct throughg a drop ceiling, not a problem, it was a 2 man job for this reason (as the AC company advised up front). But it was not a 3 man job, never was, and thats what I am being charged for.

FFS Moneybags pay the bill!

You got 50% discount so it was probably saving you as you wouldnt want one of the tech guys on $100+/hr walking outside to get tools would you?
Hold on a minute! He was told it was a two man job. So, it's only fair and reasonable that he pay for two men.
I was advised it was a 2 person job and took 4 hours. They also brought an apprentice who hung around, watched, fetched the occasional bit of gear/tool for the 2 techs.

Got the invoice and was charged for 2 x AC technicians + trade apprentice at 50% rate.