Duplex sites

Hi,

I am a newbie trying to find out about possibility of building duplex on either a vacant land or old house with large block.

I have the following questions in mind but need someone with experience to advise.

1. what land size and frontage is suitable for duplex?
2. Does it depend on the council or the developer for approving duplex site?
(could different developers result in different council decision in approving duplex site?)

3. If there is an existing house, how much normally does it cost to demolish and build a new duplex sites? Is it cheaper than building 2 separate houses?

4. Moneywise, do you have to keep paying the interest while the existing house is being demolished and new house is built? Is there any finance institution that are offering delayed settlement or interest free while building?

5. How long does it take get da approval for building duplex site? What are the costs involved and how much will it be?

6. If the land is big enough, can a triplex built on it?

Thanks in advance.

Hi,

I am a newbie trying to find out about possibility of building duplex on either a vacant land or old house with large block.

I have the following questions in mind but need someone with experience to advise.

This depends on the council, go onto their website and you should be able to find their developement plan which will explain what you can do in each zone, when you find a suitable property ring up the council to find out the zone and then look it up in the plan.

(could different developers result in different council decision in approving duplex site?)

The council is the main influence but a good builder/town planner may have some influence in getting a non conforming developemnet getting through if they can show it will work.

3. If there is an existing house, how much normally does it cost to demolish and build a new duplex sites? Is it cheaper than building 2 separate houses?