Have you studied Think and Grow Rich?

I studied the book for years.
It took me a long while to realise it is "snake oil".

etc etc etc

While I can see some benefit in reading these books concerning motivation and belief, and I have read my fair share of them, I essentially agree with markpatrick.

There are too many other topics (some self-help, some technical, some others) I would prefer to learn and read about.

All the "believe it and it will be" comes across as something you'd hear at an MLM seminar, or as mentioned previously, too much like "The Secret".

I found that part of the book, the bleeive and it will be bits, distracting from the defining a purpose / having people involved that you can talk with etc etc etc bits....

If you persist, things happen, sometimes becuase of a new discovery or invention, but sometimes thta you just see something you never saw before, or it accidentally directs you onto something else - i dont know if you can put much more into that occuring than having a good run on the freeway on the way to work on a day you're running late. So many things ahppne at the sme time, some coiincide positivley with our plans, some negatively and most don't at all

In a perfect world what you say is true of course but do you really believe that?, I don`t, it has a lot more to do with what your priorities/skills/physical appearance/mental mindset and any given combination of one or more intanglibles.
If you have a city of ten people they cannot all be rich and successful.

I really believe that.

And you agreed with me in the bold section of your post. All of those factors can be changed by choice.

priorities - my 8 year old son's priority is to be the best Halo player in the world. His friend's priority is to play for Essendon. Both of these boys can change this if they wish.