Holding a garage sale?

Hey All,

I'm planning on holding a garage sale next weekend and I have never done one before. Apart from putting up signs on the local roundabout and that kind of thing is there some kind of garage sale directory that all the 'in' people know about or what other ways is there of advertising my garage sale in advance?

And if any SS'ers want to risk life and limb and venture out to the westside of melbourne let me know. I'm selling everything - furniture, whitegoods, appliances and misc crap I've built up over the years.

Mods, if the above is being too cheeky feel free to remove it!

TIA!

There's always gumtree.

There is a garagesales site- egaragesales.com.au

One of our forum members once wrote a garage sales site. I don't know if it's this one or another one.

I've no idea how well they work.

Thanks Geoff, that's the kind of thing I was looking for.

Thanks Lizzie, not sure there is even a local paper for my area, at least not one that I've seen.

Singo, thanks, will list with gumtree as well.

Just ring up the local council prior to putting the signs up around your street area,some council will fine you for the signs,imho..

If you do put up signs in the neighbourhood, PLEASE remember where you put them and take them down. Sadly, few bother.
Marg

If you do put up signs in the neighbourhood, PLEASE remember where you put them and take them down. Sadly, few bother.
Marg

Yes that is my pet hate. THOSE people should be fined.

We have had a few garage sales over the years. Put the signs out a few days earlier. Put a sign on your front door saying "DO NOT bother to knock before 7am" You will get the dealers wanting to look. They are time wasters. They want everything for nothing.

TIP-price stuff. Most people won't bother asking unless they REALLY want it.

If you have lots of cheap things colour code. Use stickers Orange =$2 etc. After lunch changeorange to $1.50 etc.

Don't bother with 2 days. Sunday is a wipeout.