Investor Lender Order

Hey Brokers,
I was curious to learn more about this concept of investor lender order. I have read numerous posts detailing how your best to start investing with certain lenders due to serviceability/cash out and then as your portfolio grows you use other lenders with perhaps more favorable serviceability which you may require due to your increased debt.

This is not specific to anything, I am just a budding broker and keen to understand this concept further.
If anyone is willing to shed some light, an example would be fantastic :)

Thanks In Advance
Ben

Hi Ben

There's no one size fits all - all depends on the client, their equity, borrowing capacity, risk profile, and importantly - their plans.

There are some lenders you just wouldn't bother with for investors - because of cashout issues and poor servicing, but apart from that, there's no set rule and everything is dependent on the clients needs.

p.s - I think there was a good post on this topic recently. If you do a search you may find it.

Cheers

Jamie

It's not as simple as figuring out which lenders will give you the least and which will give the most and working your way down the list. There's a lot more to consider such as:

1. When you want to access equity 5 years down the track, which property is going to have it. Make sure you'll still be able to borrow through them later. The whole 'order of lenders' theory tends to fall to pieces on this alone.

2. If you're taking an aggressive approach and lending using LMI, do you understand each lenders LMI policy and the actual insurers policy? Where do they diverge? Most people don't understand that sometimes you have to plan years ahead to meet both lender and mortgage insurer policies.

3. What happens when there's a downturn or a GFC type event? How is the lender funded and what might be the consequences of that? Which lenders have the track record of working with borrowers rather than gouging them?