john the builder

Hi everyone,
this is my first time using Somersoft there is some interesting stuff talked about
and you can always learn something new its great. The astute investors have a 7 to 10 year plan and then they flip them and replace them with new ones again
I believe that this is the best way they have found for tax deductions, need to look at what your own situation requires but this is a general rule of thumb
scenario .

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi Wasp,
from what I have learnt from some of the investors I have built for is that
after 7 years the warranty period is over and the home needs a freshen up
but some times they need to hang onto it for a couple more years to maximize the capital growth hence 7 to 10 years ( please keep in mind I am no expert in investing I am a builder and still learning allot about investing in rentals).
I hope I have answered your question in an understanding way?
with some of the homes I have done for my clients I have been lucky enough to have been able to be on site with the valuers and I have found that they have valued the home at between $10,000 and $20,000 more than what I had just built it for , that gives me a great feeling that I am doing what I should be Doing for my client.
Sorry mate looks like I'm doing a commercial here ay
Please feel free to ask more questions
Regards John

I have been lucky enough to have been able to be on site with the valuers and I have found that they have valued the home at between $10,000 and $20,000 more than what I had just built it for

No offense, but that sounds like a complete waste of time.

Hi Cards,
I am still learning about rental properties and in some cases I think you are right
I think that while these investors are still in the work force they keep flipping them for tax reasons but I think that eventually when they retire they go for ownership so they don't
have a mortgage hanging over their head at least that is what I would do.

Hi Dave,