Jumping On The Ladder

anybody,

Looking for help.
I am new to the game and have recently aquired a house in Mooloolaba Queensland. It has no mortgage, is worth approx $300,000 and has tennant.
I have a good job in Sydney and would really like to know any tips for jumping onto the property ladder. I do not want to sell the property but would like to use it in some way. I have read numerous magazines and websites and now have information overload.
I see my profile as cautious and would prefer to invest fairly local to myself. I have never brought property/land etc before and feel that I should be able to do something a little creative with my equity.
Not stupid and not looking for a quick buck. Just an original strategy.
Can anybody once in the same situation or a mature property investors point me in the right direction?
All help very much appreciated

Hi HPorter,

Great position to be in.

Firstly - Don't sell the place in QLD. Keep the tennant in there.

If you have a mortgage on your PPOR(principal place of residence), put the rental income (from the QLD property) into an offset account to reduce the interest payable on your PPOR.

You will also be in a position to buy another investment property using the QLD property as security (there are various ways of drawing equity from the QLD property to fund a deposit on another investment property. It is preferable NOT to cross colatoralise).

Doing all of the above is low risk (in my humble opinion), shouldn't cost you anything from your own pocket and will help you build a good 'nest egg'.

Hope this helps !

G'day hporter,

Best place to start would be to seek out a good mortgage broker, one that understands IP's.

There are several excellent brokers that hang around this place.

Ask questions and lots of em.....just remember the only stupid question is the one you don't ask....

Cheers
watto

hporter

Where do you want to end up. $300K of equity can burn a hole in many an investors pocket.