More Labor economic incompetence

Not that anyone needed further proof Labor doesn't understand where money comes from, or how it is repaid, they just gave away for free $100M to non Australian citizen pensioners (they don't live in Australia), as part of the 'let's stimulate the Australian economy' fiasco. That's 69,000 pensioners x $1400 each.

The path to hell is paved with good intentions.

I don't think anyone cares actually. This govt was voted in because the electorate was sick of material obsession - we had been riding on the back of a boom so long that people were sick of money. They wanted compassion for the under privilidged, abolsih work choices, unionism, higher taxes and all that stuff. They wished for pverty and they now have it - the only trouble is there are 2 jabs, one from the GFC and one from a socialist party. At the time of the Labor victory I think most f us were blaze, assuming that it didn't really matter who presided over the boom time conditions. Unfortunately it does matter who presides over a recession.

Papers were a bit slow picking up on this issue, weren't they. The $1400 payment to pensioners was made back in December. This was separate to the $950 and has different eligibility and target than the $1400. The Age article just throws that fact in the middle to muddy the waters. Do they proof-read their articles before they publish them.

My grandmother received the $1400 (she lives in Greece) in December and she spent it all on the family there. The Karamanlis Government I am sure appreciates it.

Maybe it Rudd's plan to save the world :rolleyes:

Hey Kevin, how about you take away dividend imputation too.........div payouts are going down anyway....so maybe a lot of retirees and responsible savers won't notice your need to finance bigger govt by bringing back double taxation...

re imputation i think there is speculation that it maybe removed and certainly reviewed.
the income test for the senior health card is another target.

i guess we will have to wait and see.

i wonder what they have planned for prop investors?

Bring one more incompetence...more the better!

I think we should set immigration to 500k per annum.....that way my properties will go up by 100k per annum....making me a millon plus a year!

On a serious note...who cares!:D.....these people are obviously Australian permanent residents or citizens. I am sure that there are some foreigners here spending their foreign pensions here. So it all balances out.

This Xenophobic rubbish is just silly....just like the idiots who are blaming Kevin Rudd for all the ills in the economy. Some of these bogans need to take an economics lesson.

The economy moves in cycles....always will....get used to it!

So Winston...please get off your speakers corner Pedestal....if you must get on a plane there!! ;)

Not that anyone needed further proof Labor doesn't understand where money comes from, or how it is repaid, they just gave away for free $100M to non Australian citizen pensioners (they don't live in Australia), as part of the 'let's stimulate the Australian economy' fiasco. That's 69,000 pensioners x $1400 each.

The path to hell is paved with good intentions.

You having difficulty distinguishing between a pension and an economic stimulus? you poor dear.....

better to say nought than confirm your education is courtesy of 60 Minutes and A Current Affair....

Bring one more incompetence...more the better!

I think we should set immigration to 500k per annum.....that way my properties will go up by 100k per annum....making me a millon plus a year!

On a serious note...who cares!:D.....these people are obviously Australian permanent residents or citizens. I am sure that there are some foreigners here spending their foreign pensions here. So it all balances out.

This Xenophobic rubbish is just silly....just like the idiots who are blaming Kevin Rudd for all the ills in the economy. Some of these bogans need to take an economics lesson.

The economy moves in cycles....always will....get used to it!

So Winston...please get off your speakers corner Pedestal....if you must get on a plane there!! ;)

Hmmm.....yes....you are right....

Is the pension similar to a hotel or motel in Italy or Greece?:p

...and is the economic stimulus something like Viagra???;)

Yes....I do get all maa edumacation frpm 60 Minutes and A Current Affair....don't they always tell the truth???;)

I say old boy....I think you have accidently mistaken the Somersoft forum for the Neocon website.....should I send you the site...??

You having difficulty distinguishing between a pension and an economic stimulus? you poor dear.....

better to say nought than confirm your education is courtesy of 60 Minutes and A Current Affair....

!

No, that's the problem, they are often neither.

Hmmm...so how does one qualify if they are not permanent residents or citizens.

I am confused...please explain??

The firm I worked with did work for the Feds....a lot of computer systems are now x-refered to other systems - i.e. Immigration, ATO, Centrelink, etc. so alot of data matching goes on. Would be curious how people are getting around this?

No, that's the problem, they are often neither.

maybe labour have a deficit target to reach so they just **** money against the wall to really fk things up royal and make us all slaves to debt, IRs etc.

i see 17% IRs coming up.

This is no different than pensioners in Australia receiving payments from the governments of countries they used to live in. It happens all the time all over the world.

My mum is an Australian Citizen but still recieves a dutch pension on top of her Aust pension.

What Labor are doing is the same as what every other western government is doing in their own respective countries. I would bet a years salary that if Rudd wasn't implementing any stimulous package you would be whinging and complaining about that.

About time you Lib supporters quit being sore losers I think, you're starting to sound like the whiny kid who lost at musical chairs when they were six.

Nat, the full economic stimulus amount was paid out to previous Australian residents (even those who lived here for 5 years) ....... the glitch was due to Centrelink's database not being up to date and accurate.....

Please let us know when your Mum gets an economic stimulus payment from the Dutch government.......

The only stimulus package I want Rudd to be implementing is to expand and maintain infrastructure.

Nation building isn't about having a few thousand more plasmas.

having asked all the people that I know that are recipients of this free money what they plan to purchase, it would appear that my friends and family have indeed splurged on flat screens and in one instance a more conservative choice of an imported washing machine. Still scratching my head to understand how everyone else getting free imported plasmas will help anything much at all other than the chinese factories.

This is no different than pensioners in Australia receiving payments from the governments of countries they used to live in. It happens all the time all over the world.

I think it's completely different Nat. The purpose of the first stimulus handout was just that, to stimulate our local economy (putting aside whether or not it worked).

Now I understand that pensioners who worked previously in their former country get a partial payment from there, that's fine. My dad gets one from Austria because he worked there for a year or so when he was 18 before he came to Australia. I think it amounts to less than 10% of his total pension. In the same token when the Austrian pension increases, he'll get a proportionate increase as well.

But are you saying if the Austrian govt. declared a $1,000 euro bonus next week for all pensioners to stimulate the economy - my Dad who hasn't been in Austria for more than a cumulative 8 weeks (holidays) in the past 55yrs should also receive that $1,000 euros for the purpose of stimulating the local economy in Vienna and Kremsmunster? :confused:

About time you Lib supporters quit being sore losers I think, you're starting to sound like the whiny kid who lost at musical chairs when they were six.

Do you a deal, nat ... :D

We Lib supporters will quit being sore losers ..... if you 'true believers' will quit banging on about Whitlam being the best PM this country has ever had! :rolleyes:

I mean, fair's fair - Johnny has only been gone 18 mths! Whitlam was kicked out 34 years ago! :p ;)

Lynn :)

I keep wondering if JH would have been silly enough to blow $42bn on plasmas and I think probably not. I think this will be the crunching point for our economic wellbeing for years to come. If the boom had rolled on then Labor may have stumbled along and done ok. The combo deal of a GFC and Labor tho will be just too much. If China doesn't come good we are cactus

having asked all the people that I know that are recipients of this free money what they plan to purchase, it would appear that my friends and family have indeed splurged on flat screens and in one instance a more conservative choice of an imported washing machine. Still scratching my head to understand how everyone else getting free imported plasmas will help anything much at all other than the chinese factories.
How about it keeps the guy unloading the shipping containers in a job, the guy that has to transport it to the factory in a job, the people at the distribution warehouse in a job, the guy that drives it to Harvey Norman in a job, and man that sells it to you at Harvey Norman in a job. And as you said in your post above, the health of the Chinese economy is vital to us, so supporting their industries isn't such a bad thing.