Need a wireless network expert in Sydney

Can anyone recommend someone please. I'm sick of paying for people that don't fix it.

It appears that the access point is blocking the laptop from connecting. I can connect the laptop to an unsecured access point in the area.

Thanks!

I'm a Systems Administrator (IT Nerd) and will help if I can.. PM me with all the details of the problem

Include models of everything etc and exactly what is happening.. Have you reset the device to it's default configuration and started from scratch? this will remove any dodgy configuration from it that might be blocking the notebook from connecting..

We can go from there..

FrankGrimes said:
will remove any dodgy configuration from it that might be blocking the notebook from connecting..

We can go from there..

gezz sound like a dodgy answer to me.

Wireless Access Point dont just block connection if you dont deliberately configure it in the first place. sound more like incompatible WAP and wireless card and type of encryption use to secure the wireless network.

Thank you all for your help.

I decided to set up a completely new wireless network on the access point and the laptop and amazingly I connected. Touch wood, I'll stay connected!

ani
now a qualified nerd;)

Ani just make sure you are using some type of encryption, eg wep or wap.
You don't won't to be giving away bandwidth and download limits to your neighbours. ;) I don't remember exactly what the stats are but its around 70% of wireless networks are insecure. Just drive around your local area and you will pick up bucket loads of insecure wireless networks. It doesn't take much to set it up either and will stop most people from leaching off you.

Ace73 said:
Ani just make sure you are using some type of encryption, eg wep or wap.