Perth IP - the beaches or 10 km radius

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this so please be gentle.

I am looking for my first IP in Perth. Strategy is buy and hold. Budget is 650k at the moment although 450-550 would be the sweet spot.

My issue is: looking at Sydney I feel like you can't go wrong with something close to a nice beach. But coastal here has been languishing for a while, possibly due to the very big houses and price tags. So I am thinking an older house on 600-700sqm in Padbury, possibly Hillary's, maybe Beldon or Hamilton Hill if it has views.

But people tell me to stay within 10 kms of the city and to look at villas in Belmont, Carlisle, Dianella. I'm worried they may be fads, Como and Subiaco are within 10km too and from the median prices I see they don't seem to be going nowhere fast (or am I misreading)?

What would you do?

I'm worried they may be fads, Como and Subiaco are within 10km too and from the median prices I see they don't seem to be going nowhere fast (or am I misreading)?

i think it is part of the longer cycle - lack of debt and mass destruction of wealth means people simply haven't had the money to buy in Subiaco. this has seen the cheaper areas bid up to the point where the price difference between suburbs has been flattened. I see this as an opportunity to move into western suburb locations. I am stunned as to the money some people lay out to live in pretty ordinary locations.

i think it is part of the longer cycle - lack of debt and mass destruction of wealth means people simply haven't had the money to buy in Subiaco. this has seen the cheaper areas bid up to the point where the price difference between suburbs has been flattened. I see this as an opportunity to move into western suburb locations. I am stunned as to the money some people lay out to live in pretty ordinary locations.

Hi Aus
I agree with you.
What do you get in the Western suburbs for $650,000???

I'm not.

I cal them Wannabees.

Got them at my young son's school.