Protected Vegetation - again

I recently read a thread about trees and I couldn't reply at the time and now I can't find the thread anymore.

Anyway, a big celebration is in order coz I just received my permit to remove a massive tree on the front of my block.

It delayed site works by about 5 weeks.

I bought the land not knowing the tree had a VPO on it.

The plans were approved by council. My lawyer and the certifiers both did not check. The developers gave me a $10k discount and said I could remove the tree if I wanted. At the time, I had no idea about protected vegetation..very naive...shows I'm still learning something new after years of developing.

It was only a week before commencement of site works that I quetsioned the supervisor about the tree. After investigation he said I needed to remove it. Cheapest quote was $3k...it's a massive tree. The tree loppers thought better when they saw birds nest and phoned council to dbl check. No tree company would touch a tree if it was protected. There's a $40k fine to the owners and $20k fine to the tree company.

So I sent the application to council with a site plan. Good thing is that you can apply as manay times as you want with no fees. I was told it would take up to 8 weeks but the decision took 2 weeks. My request was rejected.

Lots of things went through our mind because the letter stated so clearly that the tree cannot be removed, even the roots etc that basically we couldn't build any house on it. We looked into cutting the tree down and paying the fine (would mean our profit would be halved), looked into selling the block but guilty conscience and just thoughts we would be stuck with the loan forever. The land is worth $20k more than we paid but it's really worth nothing if no one can build a house on it. Maybe worth about $280k