Should first time investors stick to buying within their city/state to start with?

After a hectic 18 months of career changing I have recently gained stability in my professional career and am looking to invest in the next 6-9 months as I save up a deposit.

I have noticed the general consensus that regional areas have higher yielding (and lower growth potential) properties. I also understand that some regional towns have very high capital growth opportunities (at high risk ie mining towns). I also understand that each state has their own market within markets, and some are more attractive than others.

As a first time investor, should I limit myself to purchasing within the Sydney area (e.g. bounded roughly by Blacktown in the west, wollongong in the south, etc) or should I also consider the regional NSW or even interstate properties? While I am undertaking a lot of research, the fact is that I have no actual experience in buying/managing a property. My thoughts were that it may be better to 'cut my teeth' closer to home.

It may also be relevent: my average working hours are around 60+ hours a week, so realistically my only research/inspection/renovation times will be weekends.

Greatly appreciate any advice.

No right or wrong way to your question. It really comes down to how you feel about it yourself based around your personal risk profile.

Me personally, I felt most comfortable purchasing within the metro area where I lived for my 1st investment property.

There are a lot of things you learn when you first invest (my first investment taught me a lesson or ... 100).

It depends on your risk profile (as stated previously), I purchased sight unseen (and have since done-so again and, thankfully, well), though had made trips to learn the area quite well before hand. Although it didn't go as smoothly as i'd have liked, I was fortunate the capital growth in the area (St Marys) covered my mistakes.