Sourcing building products from China

Hi Guys,

I'm a builder with quite a few small to medium projects to be started this yr. I've actually heard about other developers buying their pc items in bulk at huge discounts in China. eg. toilets, electrical appliances, kitchens, door furniture, towel rails etc...

Have any of you guys done this or know anyone who has? I've currently got 16 houses to go into council in the next few months, with more on the drawing board and thought that a big buy up might save me thousands. Just not too sure where to start looking?

Cheers guys

Morty

Hi morty,

I think you find that many of the bigger builders & developers have been doing just this for, not just recently, but for many, many years.

you will need to bring over container lots for it to be worth while.
start will google china and go from there. eventually you will find what your after.

Also there are trade shows in china you might want to check out if your serious

Your idea of bulk and the Chinese idea of bulk direct from a factory are prop miles apart. There are however distributors over there that can handle smaller orders.

Best way to find any product in China is www.alibaba.com if there is a factory in China not listed on there I would be suprised, it also provides a ratings system so you have less chance of being ripped off.

If you only have 3 or 4 houses to do you may be able to find a factory that will do a small order as a trial if you give them the impression that you are a big fish.

lets hope you also speak Chinese..

people think that china is cheap.. but in reality their wages are going up, and shipping charges/insurance needs to be added, buy the time you do all this you will find getting the product here isn't much difference.. other than lower quality product..

and pray you don't have any problems

I agree with the Alibaba search engine. Dealing with China is fun :) I am importing flyscreen mesh, rivets etc for our Screen manufacturing biz.