St George 1.5% below std variable

Today St George ran an ad promoting their new discount which is 1.5% below the standard variable rate for 12 months which comes in at the moment at 5.39% a tad under the Rams one though the Rams is for 2 years. This is before the RBA announcement so if there is a 1% reduction it would bring the rate on this product to 4.39%. As it isn't fixed there is still scope to fix if rates look like going up again over the next year and if rates continue to fall.........................

Hi sparky23,

I must say that the rate you mentioned for St George doesn’t come up on my software or in any emails I have received from St George (I am a QLD Mortgage Broker) but I must say that it would be a great rate and with the expected rate cut in February it would get even better. I will have to look into this first thing on Tuesday.

We are entering a great time in the property investment market as a perfect storm coming with rates dropping and yields as high as they are.

James Grady
Mortgage Planner
http://www.theNEXThomeloan.com
1300 660 107

I wonder whether it is dependent on state? They ran a half page ad in the Sunday Telegraph here is NSW, also the local branch mentioned it to me in a meeting last week, they said it would be available from Tuesday I think.

Special offer - 1.5% p.a off our Advantage Package Standard Variable Rate:
Commences Sunday 25 January
For a limited time we are offering 1.5% p.a. off our Standard Variable Rate for the first 12 months with our Advantage Package for new
applications taken from 25 January 2009. Along with this great offer, as part of the Advantage Package your customers will receive:
* $0 loan establishment fee
* $0 monthly loan administration fee
Please note the following regarding this campaign:
* The Advantage Package Discount Variable Rate margin will be increased to 1.50% p.a off the Standard Variable Rate (i.e. current rate will
be decreased from 5.76% p.a to 5.39% p.a).