Worth building large development in Kelmscott WA?

Hi all

I am new to Somersoft and am extremely impressed with the wealth of knowledge and the eagerness of members to share that knowledge.

I was hoping to get some advice for a large development site I have in Kelmscott (4000m2 R40 - 16 units). This was bought at the peak of the GFC. It has a crappy rentable house and the CF is heavily negative. However, it has not caused stress as my total portfolio is CF+.

Option A - Sell the block (has a house that's been rented out). Could get around $1m, but will take a capital loss of $200k. The loss would be offset against the gain in a property sold earlier this financial year.

Option B - Build 16 units.
The rough financials look like:
Land value: $1,000,000
Demolish: $30,000
Sewer run: $140,000 (not currently connected to deep sewerage)
Western power: $80,000
Build basic 3x2 units (16 x $170k): $2,720,000
Holding cost: $248,500
Total cost: $4,218,500
Value per unit: $320,000
Total value: $5,120,000
Profit: $901,500
Margin: 21.4%

The banks would regard it as a commercial development. However, if need be, I could fund the whole development using cash.

Thoughts on risk and feasibility?

Thanks in advance.

if youre selling you need to take into account GST and selling costs too and you need some sort of contingency imo and they will erode your margins significantly.

have you done a development before? what is your experience level?

alternatively, the market is desperate for land at the moment, what if you subdivided and sold lots off? might be an option too

Thanks Sanj.

Thoughts are to sell half and keep half. So I will have to factor in gst and selling costs.

The number of developments I've done to date are.... Ummmm.... 0.