Beer coaster calc

Then you think manure. I have a different approach to society. We know for a fact that inequality leads to drag on economies. And you and your kind love to perpetuate it. I think for the next thousand years, not to my next customer.
What does this even mean?

I think I can speak for all business owners here in that we all want to make money, we all want to expand our business, employ more staff, improve the economy as a whole...it starts with the next customer though.

If you are referring to inequality; there has always been that. It is sad that folks are poor, and noone wants to see everyone get rich more than me.

But a lot of poverty is self-inflicted through that person's choices. I'm not talking about victims of war and famine etc; they have little control over their world.

I'm talking about us folks in Countries like Aus where the opportunities are available to us to excel.

Some folks get incensed that an individual or Corporation can make unbelievable amounts of money.

What they tend to forget that in almost every case; the individual or Corp employs a huge number of people to acquire that wealth. Bill Gates has his own section in the IRS to handle his tax obligations. I'm sure there are others now too...their volumes of dollars they pay are astronomical; tax perks notwithstanding..

What those employees who only see inequality choose to do with the money they earn is entirely up to them.

We all know here on SS how an average person can excel financially if they have the knowledge and the application of it. It is free for all to pursue.

Should the massive Corps and disgracefully rich give some back? Hell yes.

And; in most cases they do. Many don't broadcast it, or want it broadcast.

Steven Speilberg is one of the major sponsors of Cedars-Sinai Hospital in L.A, for example.

Some pay too little tax as a % of their turnover; the rules of the game are set up by the various Gubbs around the world. They are the ones who can fix that.

But, they dare not go too hard, else the hand that is feeding them might bite.

Companies who need it, need encouragement. Remember the idea of lifters and leaners?
How do you assess those who need it and those who don't?

Jobs need to be decently paid so that it is an incentive to work. Also if you can't afford to pay decent wages, your business is not viable. Also see the Harvester judgement, it IS one of the pillars of Australian society.
From my memory, most industries in Aus have continually won improvements to workers' conditions and remuneration. I don't know the figures on whether the average wage has gone backwards in real terms over the last 40 years that I'm aware of - I suspect not. Unions are always striving for better pay and conditions for their workers. Bosses are always trying to pay less, of course, but most good Bosses and Companies know to reward good staff - otherwise they might go elsewhere; and they do. So, there are folks out there paying people well for their positions.

3) Govt needs to steer economy into more sustainable and clean techs. Australia has a reputation for clean agricultural produce. And people in Asia as they get richer will want more.
I agree, but the forces of free enterprise de3mand cheaper and cheaper - we all want cheaper everything. Hence; if a company can deliver a cheaper product from an O/S supplier in order to be competitive; they often do. I don't like it - I want to see Australians only buying Australian products, but the public as a whole won't do it because we are too expensive in many cases.

4) Education. "Education is the silver bullet. Education is everything. We don't need little changes, we need gigantic, monumental changes. Schools should be palaces. The competition for the best teachers should be fierce. They should be making six-figure salaries. Schools should be incredibly expensive for government and absolutely free of charge to its citizens, just like national defense." Quote from the West Wing. BTW Should I get a subsidy for having a private security guard if I don't trust the police to protect me?
I agree that education is very important.

5) R&D. What on earth was the village idiot Abbott thinking when he chopped the CSIRO and reduced R&D tax breaks.
It's possible that a lot of R&D was not actually that, but companies rorting the system?

6) Mining tax. A must. We get only 20% of the total income for our rocks. A modest 5%-10% mining tax without the dodgy exemptions is the go. Go check out Norway's sovereign wealth fund.
Read my earlier thoughts on the mining industry.

7) Carbon Tax. An absolute must. The country needs to change direction to more renewable tech. There will be a time when humanity starts to actually realise how bad the Climate Change situation is. (Deniers, shut up and publish your findings, then I will believe you). Jobs growth from this in high tech green jobs would be huge.
The CT was introduced to encourage less production of CO2 I believe. It hasn't been confirmed that this measure will do anything at all to lower the world's temperatures at all. The best guestimate has been that it might lower the temp by 1/4000th of a degree by the end of the century. Let's call it 1 degree by the end of the Century...might. Noone actually knows or will verify a figure that it will.

Same with sea levels ; they " they may rise by X metres"

It is a joke.

8) Negative Gearing. What a rort. Apply it only to NEW housing. That will increase supply.
Usual response by someone who is either a victim mentality and anti-rich, or owns no property and can't afford the house they want, or both...FHB's are usually the loudest complainers about NG.

NG has been around since I was a kid, and from my experience it has had little bearing in the overall cost of housing prices. It has not suddenly become the cause of unaffordable housing in recent years.

And, it is available to every single Australian...if you choose to partake in it.

Without it, there will be far less investors, which will create more demands for rentals by renters - forcing up the rents, and forcing folks to find other accommodation arrangements, tor the rents will have to increase to provide a return attractive enough for an investor to bother going through all the grief associated with purchasing a property.

If you want to point a finger; point it at the Gubb for the raft of fees and GST costs associated with every single step of a house being planned, approved, permits, construction and traded. That is where a lot of housing costs are built in.

9) Super concessions. The age pension currently costs $39 billion and superannuation tax concessions will cost the budget around $35 billion in 2013-14. The Commonwealth bill for these concessions is projected to rise at a staggering 12 per cent annually to be $50.7 billion in 2016-17.
Super concessions are there to encourage everyone to plan and provide for their retirement and take the burden off the taxpayer. Most super contributions are funded by Employers.

This is a business cost which is either forcing up Aus prices for commodities/services/manufacturing, etc - or costing jobs. One bloke I know had an increase of $5,000k per month last July when the Super contribution went up.

And the overwhelming majority of this assistance flows to high-income earners.
How does this occur? Is it because they receive a higher % concession rate than a lower income earner? If that's the case, then I agree it's not equal. But if it is based on volume; this would be correct because higher income earners are providing more in contributions and salary sacrifice. Everyone is able to salary sacrifice - I would wager that most lower income earners don't participate in that.

What does this even mean?

I think I can speak for all business owners here in that we all want to make money, we all want to expand our business, employ more staff, improve the economy as a whole...it starts with the next customer though.

It means we look to improve the world we live in and not just make a buck.

I think I can speak for all business owners here in that we all want to make money.
Absolutely! We all do, I am not a business owner right now, unless you count my 4.5 IPs. But they are IPs with a social purpose.

we all want to expand our business, employ more staff, improve the economy as a whole. These are optional. If you could make more profit without employing more staff would you would you even pause and consider to hire more people if you didn't have to? The number 1 motive is profit and in most cases due to the amoral nature of business, profit at any cost is the only motive, in fact, a legal requirement for some.

Do pokies and casinos benefit or hurt the economy in the long term? Do all businesses have a focus on the triple bottom line? Some businesses are hurting the long term economy and don't really care as long as they make a profit, do you deny that businesses such as this exist?

We are all stakeholders in future generations to come, 1000 years from now. What are we leaving them?

Usual response by someone who is either a victim mentality and anti-rich, or owns no property and can't afford the house they want, or both...FHB's are usually the loudest complainers about NG.

NG has been around since I was a kid, and from my experience it has had little bearing in the overall cost of housing prices. It has not suddenly become the cause of unaffordable housing in recent years.

And, it is available to every single Australian...if you choose to partake in it.

Without it, there will be far less investors, which will create more demands for rentals by renters - forcing up the rents, and forcing folks to find other accommodation arrangements, tor the rents will have to increase to provide a return attractive enough for an investor to bother going through all the grief associated with purchasing a property.

I own 2, 2 are about to settle in 2 weeks, another 1 has had a contract signed, and another 1 will be purchased this year. So much for that insight. You think you know me? pffffft

I have some physicist friends who would love to meet you. You have created black holes in Australia which swallow up houses once NG is removed. Once beyond the event horizon, these are not part of our universe any more. They can't even be sold.

The CT was introduced to encourage less production of CO2 I believe. It hasn't been confirmed that this measure will do anything at all to lower the world's temperatures at all. The best guestimate has been that it might lower the temp by 1/4000th of a degree by the end of the century. Let's call it 1 degree by the end of the Century...might. Noone actually knows or will verify a figure that it will.

It was not meant to lower the worlds temperatures. It was meant to be a pricing signal for Australia to change direction and prepare for the global changes that are to come. Very wrong of you to keep peddling this myth. I did say dishonest, but I don't think you are dishonest. But you are wrong in your assessment of the reason for the CT. The world is changing and we need your wisdom.

Do pokies and casinos benefit or hurt the economy in the long term?
The people who use them have ultimately turned them into a hurt to the economy.

I hate pokies. Mindless.

The idea behind them was great; provide more revenue dollars to the Gubb, and an entertainment source for the users.

BUT; it's a double-edged sword; many venues do well out of them and indeed would not have survived without them in many cases, but folks decided to get addicted to the stupid things - all their own choice - and now we have a scenario where the whole idea has become a liability.

Do all businesses have a focus on the triple bottom line?
I can't answer that.

Some businesses are hurting the long term economy and don't really care as long as they make a profit,
We all know that, and many get caught.

Don't start me on Japanese whaling boats....if the USA want a cause for bomb dropping; a few less of their boats might be a nice day.

do you deny that businesses such as this exist?
Stupid question. I am not a naive 13 year old. I am a cynical 53 year old. ;):D

We are all stakeholders in future generations to come, 1000 years from now. What are we leaving them?
This is where you and I are in agreement. I have sleepless nights over how we treat the world generally, but what can we do now?

We have produced a world lifestyle which requires use of resources from the ground and sea.

I hope that we continue to look for ways to replenish that which can be, and preserve that which can't be via changes to technologies, etc.

I don't have the view though that humans can have an affect on the temperature of the planet in even the most microscopic level.

All changes to the world's temps are totally out of our control, and we need to stop banging on about such things as human caused "Climate Change" (what the hell does that even mean?), and/or Global Warming.

Tim Flannery stated some years ago that we would run out of water...then the dams filled up. He was fanatical about it. And others ike him have caused a generation of believers.

This is what we are faced with in this debate.

Is there GW or CC?

Maybe, but we didn't cause it. So, why tax companies who belch out steam and (supposedly) CO2.

Can we get back to solutions to the ailing economy please?

It was not meant to lower the worlds temperatures.
It was; otherwise why even think the idea up?

It was meant to be a pricing signal for Australia to change direction and prepare for the global changes that are to come.
It will have no effect at all.

Very dishonest of you to keep peddling this myth.
What myth?

Andrew Bolt has attempted to obtain from several various Politicians, experts and scientists involved in this mentality, an answer to how much the world's temperature would be reduced if we proceeded with the CT - designed to reduce omissions and ultimately the temperature of the world.

Noone would answer the question - someone eventually came up with 1/4000th of a degree.

What does that tell you about it's possible relevance or success?

You would have it that we slug mining (and other) companies billions of dollars in the event of a very distant maybe - at best?

Here's a question for ya; if we are in the midst of an ever-increasing Global Warming trend (at our own hands), how do you explain that Victoria has just had their coldest January in 11 years?

Or is that just...Climate Change?

Maybe some good news then.

Why would JB say it was blowing out though?

It does show in the second graph that Medicare expenditure is increasing. :confused:

The problem is the GDP I think.

Mining and manufacture are down the toilet currently, so is the graph a prediction?

It could be still on the downward trend going into the next few years.

Where are the improved revenues to support Medicare debt going to come from?

Interesting side-bar: as a small business owner, I am now compelled to pay for "audit insurance" to the tune of $500 per year approx. It is a new thing, and I am taking the risk not to pay it, because I can't afford to.

Extrapolate that out to every small business in Aus, and we have a scenario whereby they either absorb the cost, or not pay it. Many won't, many will.

Many won't be able to pass it on to the consumer. I can't pass it on that easily without complaint. (why is it that the petrol stations can jump up the price by 19c overnight, but if I put up my hourly rate by $1 each year, I am an expensive gouging crook?)

The "wills" may reconsider more employment expansion as a result. Less jobs being created.

"It's only $500, and tax deductible" I hear you all say.

Ok then; can one of you pay it for me, and I'll refund you the tax deduction next year. ;)

A few years ago I mentioned to a new accountant that my old accountant had sent me a letter about audit insurance and he laughed and said it was rip off and a waste of money and asked if he could see a copy. A year later he sent me the same letter.

Yep; I have been sent the same letter for the last 3 years and have declined each year.

I am too lazy to check, and would shudder to think how much - I pay each year for various insurances - money that is primarily wasted for the most part.

Could be worse I guess; could be a Physician's malpractice insurance premium. :eek:

Here's a question for ya; if we are in the midst of an ever-increasing Global Warming trend (at our own hands), how do you explain that Victoria has just had their coldest January in 11 years?

Because there is a global trend, but local variability.

You, and Andrew Bolt, are comparing two different things so you can ignore the science.

To put it another way you the trend in Australian Property Prices is up. But tell that to someone who owns a house in a mining town where the mine has just announced a closure!

Because there is a global trend, but local variability.

You, and Andrew Bolt, are comparing two different things so you can ignore the science.

To put it another way you the trend in Australian Property Prices is up. But tell that to someone who owns a house in a mining town where the mine has just announced a closure!
Here's a bit of a read;
http://www.wnd.com/2015/02/climate-guru-brace-for-massive-cover-up/

And this;
http://www.accuweather.com/en/weather-news/live-blizzard-set-to-wallop-no/41251974

These sought of threads have no ending.

Because they are theoretical threads about how governments should spend/tax etc.

How they should legislate/free up market/business/labour markets.

That's why I so love investing.

Its my money, my money will move to the best opportunities available.

My capital is mobile.

And most importantly my returns are not subject to the opinions of others as to whether I deserve it or not.
My returns are not in any way dictated by a 'democrocised' vote.

I hear you Bayview, I really do. You are a small businessman out there in the wilderness, crying for logic. And yet you are up against all those who are not in business (or in what I call the bullsh**t business, the leachers in business, those who make their money off policy).

So again, I really couldn't care.

Yes I have business interests in Australia. I hedge those business interests through legal means (which I will not explain in a public forum).

And I have my investment interests.

Its up to the Australian people to decide how they want things to play out.

At the end of the day, I will profit regardless.

Ok...here is my suggestion to save taxes and cut expenditures

Become a frugal :)

Now if we could just get the governments to do the same !!

It is not uncommon in statistical analysis to clean up data.

http://reason.com/blog/2015/02/11/temperature-record-chicanery-an-overhype

"Homewood notes that the raw data have been adjusted, which is not at all surprising since the data are affected over the decades by shifts in station locations, instrument changes, and urban heat islands.

Very generally, in order to detect such changes, climate researchers look for abrupt shifts in the temperatures recorded at each weather station which are presumed to be artifacts rather than actual temperatures. These shifts are adjusted via an algorithm using data from nearby stations. What Homewood found is that a lot of the past data have been modified in a mostly cooling direction.

Using satellite data, the private research company Remote Sensing Systems finds that the atmosphere has warmed at an average rate of about 0.13 C? per decade. Interestingly, the RSS reports that the models most closely match the satellite temperature trends for the arctic region."

Give it a rest BayView and leave the science to the scientists.

I hear you Bayview, I really do. You are a small businessman out there in the wilderness, crying for logic. And yet you are up against all those who are not in business (or in what I call the bullsh**t business, the leachers in business, those who make their money off policy).
I wasn't looking at this Economy situation with my business owner's hat on so much actually - just a bloke who was pulling in all the various aspects of the rhetoric we keep hearing and thought I'd do a few basic numbers.

I guess my business owner hat comes on when I see one thing happening, but they say "we are creating more jobs!"

I am like you though where I am making my own path to a degree and can go along despite what the Pollies are doing/not doing.