Brisbane - dates for upcoming lunch and dinner get-togethers

Hi Tracey

Sorry you couldn't make it today. Only my friend Alan and I came. Maybe lunchtimes aren't great for people. Also it was tough to park in Milton.

See you at the next one.

BP:)

Wow! And I had a migraine - Neil and Alan, I hope you enjoyed your lunch anyway, but I'm sorry that our group shrunk so dramatically. There were about 6 "yes I'll be there"s and 3 or 4 "possibles", so that really was unlucky! :eek:

I hear lots of people saying "dinner is better", or a BBQ, yet a few months ago we routinely got 12-14 people at Thursday lunch, so I'm reluctant to completely give up on lunch... In any case, how about we make our December get-together a BBQ? (Good suggestion, Richard) That forces us to mingle, is inexpensive, can include families, and we don't have to fight for restaurant bookings with the gazillion work Christmas parties. ;)

I'll put up a strawman: how about Sunday 14th December at Rocks Riverside Park at Seventeen Mile Rocks? I know it's a bit out from the city, but it only takes a few minutes on the freeway to get there, and it's well worth the drive; it's an awesome park for all ages.

As for time: how about we go for 4:30pm? Lunches are usually ridiculously busy, so I'd like to avoid that, but a 4:30pm start means those with kids can join us, kids have a play and parents chat before dinner, then eat around 6pm, and get home before dark. (Before we turn into pumpkins - but more importantly, before the kids turn too feral ;)) Those unimpeded by kids can feel free to be wild and crazy and stay up until 7:30 or even 8pm, if they really want to party :D

OK, I'd suggested 4:30pm this Sunday the 14th at Rocks Riverside Park.

What I didn't know at that time was that hubby's work Christmas BBQ is lunchtime of the same day down on the Gold Coast. I'm a bit doubtful that my migraine-prone head would be up for another BBQ after driving to/from Gold Coast and socialising...

But I thought I'd leave the idea floating and see what response it generated... thus far it's been pretty underwhelming. :eek: I suggest you monitor how much enthusiasm there is, and if there's enough, you guys go ahead and I may or (more likely) may not be there. (Though if I know I can get a cuddle with Oliver, that'd be some incentive. ;))

It shouldn't require much organising anyway - everybody bring what they need for BBQ, meet at the pavilion behind the flying fox.

OK, I'd suggested 4:30pm this Sunday the 14th at Rocks Riverside Park.

What I didn't know at that time was that hubby's work Christmas BBQ is lunchtime of the same day down on the Gold Coast. I'm a bit doubtful that my migraine-prone head would be up for another BBQ after driving to/from Gold Coast and socialising...

But I thought I'd leave the idea floating and see what response it generated... thus far it's been pretty underwhelming. :eek: I suggest you monitor how much enthusiasm there is, and if there's enough, you guys go ahead and I may or (more likely) may not be there. (Though if I know I can get a cuddle with Oliver, that'd be some incentive. ;))

It shouldn't require much organising anyway - everybody bring what they need for BBQ, meet at the pavilion behind the flying fox.
We look forward to meeting next time, we will be at a family lunch instead on Sunday now and won't be at the BBQ.

Hope everyone who is going has a fun time, these meetings are a nice idea I think.

Sorry can't make it for tomorrow as my wife had an emergency caesarean yesterday. Baby (in SCBU) and Mum doing well but probably wouldn't look to good to be bbqing down the coast ;)

Hope everyone enjoys themselves and the weather is good.

Perhaps next time.

Shane

Congratulations on the new bub!!! You cannot hide this news in this thread, and should shout it out in a new thread :).

Is this a first baby, boy or girl? I saw a brand new baby at Carindale this week, and must admit I got a bit clucky.

Wow, number four. I reckon by number four, your wife should be out in the fields by this afternoon. A picnic would be...... well...... a picnic.

I stopped at three, but sometimes wish I had had a fourth, if only to remedy the "middle child" syndrome, which my middle child seems to suffer :p.

All the best. I'll bet the other children are just loving having a little play baby.

Getting clucky again....... :D.

Congrats Shane!! that's great news...

we have also just had our fourth - so i know exactly where you're at!! :D

and such a beautiful name!

UC

HI Guys,

I'd love to come along one day to one of your lunches. Heading down to Tassie for Christmas, leaveing on Wed 17th Dec.

May be next time.

Have a Merry Christmas everyone,

From John at Shailer Park.

New to the group, just wondering if the Feb dinner may be still on, and if OK for me to show up.
The lunch would be good to, but in UK now, so I missed the Jan lunch, I guess there may be one in Mar then also? I'm likely to miss it anyway as I'll be back in sunny UK.
This will depend on our new twins which I hope will be here in 2 weeks, Yey!

Congratulations, allmine, on your expected twins. I'm a Mum of 7yo twin sons, and Suann sometimes comes along, she is expecting a pigeon pair shortly, so we already have something to talk about besides property. :D Though property alone often sees the conversation through three hours...

You'd be most welcome anytime, and yes, we alternate lunch and dinner, though the last two lunches have been cancelled, so I may revisit this, depending on feedback.

The next dinner will be Sunday 8th Feb 6:30pm, but I haven't picked a venue yet. Please do come!

And tell us about your work, flying back and forth. Are you month-on, month-off on an oil rig or something? Are you originally from the UK?