Going from 4,2,2 to 5,3,2

Hi All,

At the moment this house is "officially" a 4 bedroom.

I've never done major renovations before and I'm wondering how much benefit (to valuation and rent) it would be to fully make it a 5,3,2.

The layout is as follows:
UPSTAIRS:
* Massive main bedroom with Ensuite (no bath)
* Second full bathroom (includes bath)
* 3 other bedrooms, all with builtin robes

DOWNSTAIRS:
* Double garage
* Living/Kitchen open plan
* Office/Rumpus, has 2 windows on one side, and a sliding door to the backyard on the other. Already has a close-able door but no wardrobe.
* Large size toilet room & vanity.
* Huge laundry next to the toilet room.

The conversion would involve:
1. Add an Ikea wardrobe to the office, so that it can be called a bedroom.
2. Add a 3rd shower to the laundry, or try and squeeze a small shower into corner of the toilet room by removing the vanity to make space. I can then put a small wall-basin in so that all 3 fit.

Has anyone done a similar improvement before - and how much extra on the valuation did it work out as?

Also - how do valuers get the figure for the number of bedrooms that get fed into the valuation (this is in NSW). Would I need to do anything at council to have the number of bedrooms changed "officially"? even though I'm just adding a wardrobe?

Firstly, I would check property comparisons Ie.. does a 5,3,2 add more value?
What is the your local land square footage average?
What is the your local building foot print / FSR average?

In some areas, what you are proposing would de-value the property as large rooms are expected in certain areas.
Just carving up a rooms to create more rooms can work ie? Student accommodation.

Research, research, research!

Check with your local council requirements for adding bedrooms.
For valuation purpose's, RP Data can be informed of the change once you have approval from council.