Hi ho, Hi ho, It's back to Rudd we go...

Do you think Kevin Rudd will replace Julia Gillard before the next election?

• Yes

Votes: 20 33.3%
  • No

Votes: 17 28.3%
  • No- but someone else will

Votes: 23 38.3%

• Poll closed .
I had two addictions, smoking and gambling....gave 'em both up easy, just simply stopped ,cold turkey on the spot.....reasons = coughing started to hurt(smoking), and got our first mortgage(gambling).

Never had so much spare cash since the smoking and gambling days...:)

If I can do it, anyone can, we don't need a Nanny state to dictate to us the choices we make.

Back on topic....so funny hearing the Happy Little Vegemite comment from Rudd...LOL!:D

I know it is not as easy to escape an addiction for some as you are suggesting. But good on you for doing it.

I used to smoke and had an occasional punt but was never addicted. No ciggys for nearly 40 years and don't know how to fill out a lottery ticket or a bet on The Cup.

I drink everyday though so I'm not about to tell others what to do. But I do believe pokies and the club industry are cancers.

I was in Spain in the 80s and the cantinas had "pinball" and poky machines but usually only one of each and no-one played them. I liked Spain because it WASN'T a nanny state. You could go to hell in your own way.

Pretty much agree with ya Sunfish...although I have no problem with clubs.

Willpower is the very thing that a nanny state is breaking down...."take it away so no-one can use it" is a distinctive breach of rights.

I like Kerry Packers view when he advised the Govt.... " ...why don't you get rid of a law every time you pass one..." and "...every time you pass new laws you are taking away the freedom of everybody"

And yes I drink every day too Thommo....matter of fact I've got one now!!:D

Pretty much agree with ya Sunfish...although I have no problem with clubs.

Willpower is the very thing that a nanny state is breaking down...."take it away so no-one can use it" is a distinctive breach of rights.

I like Kerry Packers view when he advised the Govt.... " ...why don't you get rid of a law every time you pass one..." and "...every time you pass new laws you are taking away the freedom of everybody"

And yes I drink every day too Thommo....matter of fact I've got one now!!:D

Being from Perth, can you guys explain to me by what you are referring to when you say "Clubs" ?

Be thankful for the Nullabor. It has quarantined you from that pox that started in a corrupt NSW. Like the fruit fly it easily jumped the Tweed and the Murray rivers.

Crikey, I just looked at some of the pokie machine numbers... NSW do have quite a few more, don't they?

These are old figures, but I know SA's have remained fairly stable.

NSW - clubs 72,429 total 97,890

VIC - clubs 13,691 total 29,804

SA - clubs 1,446 total 12,548

TASSIE - clubs 221 total 2,399

WA and NT - total < 1200 each

QLD - similar to VIC

Obviously I skipped other venues like casinos, hotels.

You shouldn't do that. Woollies and Coles are major hoteliers because they want to tap into the gambling stream.

In Townsville I think it's fair to say there are only two "busy" pokey clubs but every hotel (50?) has a bank of them.

You shouldn't do that. Woollies and Coles are major hoteliers because they want to tap into the gambling stream.

In Townsville I think it's fair to say there are only two "busy" pokey clubs but every hotel (50?) has a bank of them.

Casinos and hotels were in the total - I meant I didn't tally them up in my post for people to see (lazy).

It's sounds like some of these places are like mini casinos.

Woollies and Coles are major hoteliers because they want to tap into the gambling stream.
Do Woolies and Coles run hotels in WA? If so it would only be ones with big bulk turnover. You wouldn't believe how awful our "local" Woolies pub is. They broke a glass fridge door a month ago. All they have done is make the patch a little less dangerous since. There has not been any smoking in the bar for a lot of years but the daggy, patched up nicotine stained ceiling remains. Yuk!

Yes they do in SA, although I don't think their numbers are huge. The ones I know of are very nicely renovated pubs.

Increasing your machine numbers here means buying existing licences (so no overall increase in actual numbers) or buying the pubs themselves.

I was wondering about WA Weg because they don't have pokies and that is what the grocers care about, I think.

I don't know about pubs without pokies. But pubs with, would have to be no, according to the oldish data I looked at. Only the casino has pokies (anyone, correct me if I'm wrong).

Oh yes, i'm sure NSW changed the VIC & QLD laws so they could have more pokies.

I'd say more pokies were welcomed with open arms. Like the NSW govt, the QLD & VIC govts saw the huge income stream from taxing them.

Your back water state bias is showing again mate.

I'll stick by my description of them as a pox which thrived in a corrupt NSW (they weren't always legal). Those becoming infected by close proximity don't always do so voluntarily.

Qld and Vic held out as long as they could but eventually spendthrift labor governments just couldn't resist the tax. Justified by the fleet of busses crossing the border every day they took the easy rout.

Edit: I'd prefer you don't call me mate. "Comrade" if you must.

Which goes to show they were wanted. By the people, and the govt. They were not forced on any state by the NSW govt.

And yes, i remember the pokie bus tours across the Tweed to NSW Seagulls club.

Sometimes i wonder if some posters on here are in touch with reality. Or they let their bias dominate their critical thinking.

I'd be honored to be called comrade. ;)

Qld and Vic held out as long as they could but eventually spendthrift labor governments just couldn't resist the tax. Justified by the fleet of busses crossing the border every day they took the easy rout.

What the heck, the CO2 tax thread got closed after 56 pages, let's talk about another "not before the election" Labor policy.

BUSINESS opposition to Julia Gillard's carbon tax has intensified, with food and grocery producers falling into line with miners to warn the levy could destroy jobs and slash living standards.

And negotiations between the government and business appear close to flashpoint, as seven out of the government's hand-picked 15-member industry advisory group have signed a letter to the Prime Minister warning the tax could drive investment overseas.

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/new...rbon-tax/comments-e6frg6n6-1226040635543?pg=2

And for the Poker Machines Policy: Asian crime gangs have been recruiting Poker Machine addicts to traffic heroine. I wonder what the statistics are for Asian Addicts? I used to enjoy a good game of Black Jack perhaps once a year.... One thing I did notice at the Casino's Sydney and Queensland was the over-whelming majority of Asian gamblers, but that WAS on the $5- $10 tables.

http://www.toppokerclubs.com/3905/problem-gamblers-recruited-into-drug-trade