I'm an author

One of my life dreams has come true over the last month. Just wanted to share my news with the lovely people of Somersoft.

I am now a published author, after the release of my first book. It is a picture book for children. It was such a thrill for me the first time I walked into a shop and saw my book on the shelves.

To give some perspective - common figures in fiction publishing put getting a first novel published by a legitimate publisher as around 1 in 1000 manuscripts submitted (for an unknown like me, figures are totally different if you are a sports star or celebrity). To get a debut picture book published is considered twice as hard as getting a novel published. So I feel very fortunate that the first children's story I ever wrote was pulled from the slush pile.

My second book is due out next year.

Now, if only I could make some money out of doing what I love..........:)

Lily

that is such great news for you and well done.
As i would like to purchase this book i will need you to tell me the name. and if you could heighlight it in big block letters, as my eyesight lets me down a bit :}
Well done.

Thanks.

I have not given more details as I didn't post in order to sell more books - but rather, to share my good news.

If anyone is seriously interested in knowing more, feel free PM/email me.

:)
Lily

Congratulations! I have day dreamed about doing similar and still think that some day I may just get there. At the moment my time is taken with my two littlies and property investing :rolleyes:

Speaking of my littlies, I have a 4 yr girl and a 2.5 yr boy who LOVE books and I'd love an excuse to buy one for them. Then we can put up a review for you LOL. So I need more information please...

Lily I reckon that given you were circumspect and didn't make a first post with the title of the book and where people can buy it, the mods won't have a problem with you now posting those details in response to people's entreaties.