Liberal Federal Govt

The young 20 year old was oustanding last night when interviewed. Yesterday was also his first federal voting experience.

http://www.abc.net.au/local/stories/2010/08/22/2990060.htm

I certainly didn't have such lofty ambitions of community and serving at that age. His style and charisma and communication skill was truly remarkable to see.............good for him. His parents must be proud. :)

Yeah Player,

His parents were interviewed last night, but shown briefly tonight on the news.

I have bumped into the young fella (passed him) on his daily duties about 3 weeks ago, as I was attending to a couple of my IP's in Caboolture.

F

The young 20 year old was oustanding last night when interviewed. Yesterday was also his first federal voting experience.

http://www.abc.net.au/local/stories/2010/08/22/2990060.htm

I certainly didn't have such lofty ambitions of community and serving at that age. His style and charisma and communication skill was truly remarkable to see.............good for him. His parents must be proud. :)

He spoke well when interviewed - truely great to see a diverse government. We have to get away from making promises to the 'public and not following through with the big promises = policies'.

Funny thing - hubby and I did not discuss who were we voting for before voting only after so we are independent swing voters.

I agree P. He was exceptionally poised, articulate, and sensible in all he said.
A true credit to his parents, teachers, and mentors. Peter Costello commented about the way he handled the interview, and said he'd go a long way. I think most would agree.

I'm glad he is with Liberal rather than Labor. usually teens and young 20s are more idealistic and left in their world view.

i still think its too early to call.. so I wouldn't count your chickens.

My whole life has been a series of counting chickens before they hatch, especially in investing. You get good at it after a few decades.

I hope Tony wears something a little more formal than budgie smugglers when he's sitting across from Quentin signing the docs.

"QUOTE=Dazz;704624]My whole life has been a series of counting chickens before they hatch, especially in investing. You get good at it after a few decades".

Even if you do say so yourself. Plenty of people more successful then you who may say "be cafreful what you wish for".

Yesterday was just another day in politics. The more things change the more the stay the same. The biggest losers are the dillusional ones who think that this result somehow reconfirms their own view of the world...until the next political crisis...and so it goes.

If nothing else a hung parliament will be very interesting.

Sorry, I'm a leftie. Definitely hoping the independant are swayed towards Labor. Having said that I am much happier with a hung government, then an outright win by Liberal (anything is better then that :D ). It gives the power over to the independants. I always voted for Tony Winsor when I lived in Armidale and am happy he made it in again. Labor really have made it hard for themselves this election, with crap policies and bad publicity - It is not that surprising we have a hung parliament, given that the choices at the moment really are dumb and dumber.

Dazz:
Great night for Australia. I'm as stoked as Our Obsession is for everything else

Good for you! I'm stoked, you're stoked!

Within 36 hours I have spoken with two treasurers of Oz, (Wayne Swann and Peter Costello), I have had a ball, kinda nerdy fun, I know, but I love that you enjoyed it all too-and us possibly opposite ends of country:) :D

Sorry, I'm a leftie. Definitely hoping the independant are swayed towards Labor. Having said that I am much happier with a hung government, then an outright win by Liberal (anything is better then that :D ). It gives the power over to the independants. I always voted for Tony Winsor when I lived in Armidale .

I'm assuming you were a uni student when you lived in Armidale. If your a leftie, why the hell vote for Tony Windsor? Why wouldn't you vote green or labor? Sounds like you wasted a few years of votes just voting for who everyone else was voting for?

hi all
my problem is not who wins
but whats the cost
47 b to make a call we all can do now
fast internet for what
just give us internet fast or slow just the net
47b
if the same group does the same as the schools or the batts its going to be 100 or 120b
so is abbot the way to go
well hes at 7 b
thats still heaps and why
is it going to get us moving forward(gillards idea)
no
so how to move forward
the bush guys have got it part right
push the cash into the bush
not with interent but low cost funding
fund some of the things that will open up the bush
fund projects that will bring business into the bush
tax the companies that are buying the farms
do like the swedes get a tax break at the start but after the 5 yeras overseas are taxed at a higher rate.
have a look at the banks and how they have reduced the 6 banks to 4
and how is there tax looking
abbott or gillard should look within their own party for the answers
we need to work smarter not harder
hawke was a great guy for giving ways to reduce tax
he just never did it
nifty nev said work within the system right or wrong
and for me the best guy for the job hewsen had great ideas just couldn't work out the cost of a cake
but he was a very smart guy
abbott is smart he does not get the paper he has without being smart
gillard thou not with the paper is smart she knife rudd at the right time
rudd was a lemon and always was going to be.
yes he was a good looking smiling, rove or 2day fm person but was the front man some times call the fall guy
he brought in things he did not understand and if he did well he's alot better then me
how you can bring in a plan to build 55,000 houses and build 50
how you can insulate the country and not have the batts here to do it
and how you can build new schools that most schools didn't want is well beyond me
so looking at that gillard does not have a lot behind her
but both gillard and abbott did not want the job
abbott got it because 1 person like him
gillard got it because she saw kevin 07 and his ideas were a mess
so we have two people that did not want the job but ended up with it
I like abbott
not because of his party
but because he has one thing that hawke showed even keating showed a few times and for me gillard I am still looking for
thats heart
for me abbott new he was not going to win
he started knowing he was not going to win
he said I am the underdog and even when he got up and as the the leader he never said this is in the bag
his 36hr non stop was a ploy and yes we can all see thru that and for me was a bit of a joke
but it does show stainpower
the power needed to stand up for what you think is right.
you need to take people on what you see them for.
and I think win or lose abbott has stood up for what he thinks is right and has done a good job in my book
and no I did not vote for his party
and no won't say my voting.
by the way 47b will take about 95years to pay off on my calcs
so that 3 generations
allowing for the same blow outs of the housing and batts numbers
so if you have a 16 year old like me
that not their 16 year old
but
1 16
then 1 18
then 1 18
then 1 18
the 1 18
if the marry at 18 and thats just to pay off one person choice
and will the 47b help me right know
no
they have a new lazer paint which allows for lazers to be painted on the back of chips
lazers are 20 times faster then fiber optic
can they get funding for lazer paint
no
47b thats a joke
its just not funny
all the parties are talking b all the time.
lets start helping a few business here with a few mil instead of bil
the bush guys need to get some of those bil into the bush
and need to keep a very close eye on the chinese as they know what they are buying
thats me off the box

Even if you do say so yourself.

Damn straight aussierogue. Some people's definition of confidence is another person's definition of cockiness. Just depends on what set of goggles you are wearing.

Plenty of people more successful then you who may say "be cafreful what you wish for".

Don't know what your definition of 'plenty' nor 'successful' is, so cannot really comment on that. I'll take your word for it though.

If your wish aligns with your personal philosophy, why would you waste your time being careful ??

Happy to be wrong. No skin off my nose personally. Happy to be right. She's all good.

Yesterday was just another day in politics.

Nah mate. Yesterday was a general election for the Federal parliament of Australian where the Govt got booted out. No ordinary day chief.

The biggest losers are the dillusional ones who think that this result somehow reconfirms their own view of the world...

Yeah, that'd be me, more than happy to wear those two tags, and any others. I've got a box full of tags. Love 'em.

Don't get your hopes up that these blokes will support labor. Labor has never done anything for the bush. Labor and the greens are city based political parties.

I think the jubilant TA (and sombre JG for that matter) may share your sentiments... "The coalition is back in business" :D.

I'm assuming you were a uni student when you lived in Armidale. If your a leftie, why the hell vote for Tony Windsor? Why wouldn't you vote green or labor? Sounds like you wasted a few years of votes just voting for who everyone else was voting for?

I don't care who anyone else voted for. I only voted once while living there and the choices sucked. I preferred Tony Windsor to all the other candidates at the time. I like the idea of Independants, the fact they are not bound by any one party. I did vote Labor in the Senate.

TC, do you reckon he'd accept the Speaker's role if offered it by Tony ??

I've no idea.

I'll ask him on Saturday. Quirindi is hosting the minor semi's in the local rugby comp. They came third. Tony might be there?

Green folk will dance around saying how well they did, but 1 out of 150 seats isn't that spectacular, especially when it's not needed to form Govt.

Well 11.5% of the primary vote is getting up to "spectacular", especially if their growth rate continues. Even if it only yields up one seat in the Reps so far, their 9 seats in the Senate is more a sign of things to come for both houses.

I'm glad he is with Liberal rather than Labor. usually teens and young 20s are more idealistic and left in their world view.

I had cause to remind myself of the following quote:

"If you're not a socialist at 20, you have no heart. If you're still a socialist at 40 you have no brain!"
:p

I had cause to remind myself of the following quote:

"If you're not a socialist at 20, you have no heart. If you're still a socialist at 40 you have no brain!"
:p

an oldie but a goodie.....applies to the 99% of the population immersed in booze and sex when 20. Wyatt obviously got through his socialist phase in his early teens, and quickly woke up there's more OPM for benevolent deeds when the free market gets a fair go. :p

I'm wondering what the wider implications of this might be.

A hung parliament isn't necessarily a bad thing, particularly when there's a formal coalition in place. The Liberal Democrats (centre left) have joined up with the Conservatives (centre right) to run the show in the UK. What seems to have happened is that the extreme right wing of the Tories and left wing of the Lib Dems have been disenfranchised, so sensible policies are being produced, rather than having to appease the fanatics.

That said, it doesn't look like the arithmetic will give such a nice result in Oz.

There are two things that might affect the housing market.

The first is that the Liberals are keen on reducing the number of incoming migrants, though it sounds like the cuts might be on the family side rather than skilled migration. That would have a knock-on effect on housing demand (fewer people), and possible ease upward pressure on prices.

The second is that the Liberals are more likely to engage in an austerity programme than Labor, and seek to cut back the government deficit. If so then there'll be cutbacks in the public sector, and likely less money sloshing round in the system.

From what I saw, sounds like you wouldn't want to mention Barnaby's name to him.

There is some real friction there. Not sure what bought this on against Barnaby? I was surprised when I heard Windsor say that.

Bob Katter says some extreme things at times. It sounds like he'd want to bring in protectionism, tarrifs and similar to protect Aussie industries. Banning banana imports? Farm subsidies also. Most farmers don't want subsidies that's for sure. That's probably going backwards, and the ramifications of all that could be bad.

push the cash into the bush
not with interent but low cost funding
fund some of the things that will open up the bush
fund projects that will bring business into the bush
tax the companies that are buying the farms
do like the swedes get a tax break at the start but after the 5 yeras overseas are taxed at a higher rate.
have a look at the banks and how they have reduced the 6 banks to 4
and how is there tax looking
abbott or gillard should look within their own party for the answers
we need to work smarter not harder

I like these bits.

Now that I've got used to reading your posts it's like stumbling across little nuggets of wisdom.

Well, it's wisdom because I agree with it. LOL.