Lower back issues

This is a bad idea - I genuinely believe it was the cause of my problems.
I was sitting on one, it burst, i was on my butt before I knew what had happened, pain shot down my leg.
I thought nothing of it apart from the bruise on my cheek, but my posture and the nerve pain got worse and worse for months before I realised it wasn't going to get better on it's own.

Ouch! Was it over blown? Strained by too much weight? Not being funny here. Just asking because I often wonder what the right inflation is for the ball and my weight and whether it could burst - without being pierced. On the one hand I think mine needs more air and on the other I'm afraid of over inflating it for my weight and straining it!

There will always be good and bad in each profession, but I have seen, heard and experienced myself that the majority of chiros are not worth it.

My husband insisted on going to one once for a back spasm (he's had it twice now and gets it after doing physical exercise after a period of being inactive - painful but shortlived).

Initial visit was a scant visual diagnosis. Without getting him to lie down or pull up his shirt or asking questions, the chiro stated within seconds of him coming in that he could see his problem of a badly aligned spine and mild scoliosis :confused:.

Told him he needed to see him 3 times a week for a few weeks, and then reduce slowly till he got to 'maintenence' which was once a month I think.

Husband stopped after a week because it was a nuisance going so often and because he trusted me that it would go on it's own, which it did.

Same chiro was trying to treat my friends very sick, newly crohn's diagnosed son with spine cracking, and had his dietician (who had proper qualifications because I checked :eek:) see him who put him on an food elimination diet.

The poor child went from underweight to anorexic in no time :rolleyes:.

I was godsmacked when i heard and saw him, and from what i heard his specialist was too.

I agree with Skater. I have worked in the Gym and Elite sports industries for a long time, so have seen 100's of people seek and get treatment from various services.

In the vast majority of cases it is exactly as Skater says - Chiros always want you back on a regular basis, good Sports physio tries to fix and stop it happenning again.

There will always be good and bad in each profession, but I have seen, heard and experienced myself that the majority of chiros are not worth it.

I agree withy skater too. even an ordinary massuer would be better than most good chiropractors if you could find one. Been to chiros they keep telling you to come back and dont fix the problem . When a massuer can fix it in one or three visits. If chiros were any good why do people have to keep going bacK? Only see a chiro as a last resort.

90% of back pain resolves itself within a month or two, so whoever you see the chances are it'll work.
I went with this opinion and waited a month before seeing my physio for back pain... turned out I have a bulging disc and was making it worse over the month before I figured out what my problem was and how to aid in it. Weeks later I still can't even carry my grocery shopping or my nephews without a lot of pain.
My 2c's: Don't ignore pain and try to work through it if you're not sure on what kind of pain it is.

I was referring to pain that starts resolving reasonably early and has improved significantly by that timeframe, or pain which responds to better footwear, or to stretching, etc. not pain that doesn't diminish and is as acute as ever a week or two later.

Naturally if the pain is significant or unusual, or it hasn't subsided at all, or you suspect something serious (don't have any idea to the cause like the common causes I mentioned), or are worried, you'd see your doctor or a physio.

Anyway my point in the piece you highlighted was that because most pain will get better regardless of treatment, therapists like chiros appear to have successfully treated and healed you, when infact it's just your body healing itself.

Just wondering who is best to see for lower back pain and stiffness. Would you use an Osteo or a Chiro? Normally any back problems I have will come and go pretty quickly with some remedial massage but this time the stiffness is lingering for much longer so I may need some cracking to rectify the problem.
Without knowing anyone's circumstances and lifestyle I can offer you all a possibility to consider;

I've been very active physically with sport etc my whole life, and never had much trouble with injuries etc - just the odd muscle strain and rolled ankles, a few days later back to normal.

When I started teaching golf, the "bad back" issue came up very often with pupils who wanted to learn golf.

In almost every case I can think of, their lifestyle was a bit "sedentry".....office workers, sales people in cars a lot etc. I'd get the odd tradie etc with a bad back from their work, but not many.

Then, when my wife and I moved to the Mornington Peninsula to run our B&B in 1998, I was still commuting an hour each way and more as well, every day back to Box Hill.

As well as this, I was sitting on a ride-on mower for at least 6 hours per week to keep the practice fairway and the laws/nature strips in pristine condition at our B&B property. Our property was 5 acres, on a corner and just the naturestrips alone were about 1400 square metres, plus the practice fairway and other lawns around the house; approx 4 acres or so of grass all up.

After about 6 months of this, I started to get a very sore back which never seemed to go away.

We eventually sold the B&B, moved, got back to being more active and got away from all the sitting in a car and on a mower, it went away.

Compare that period to now, where most of my week involves standing up most of the day in workboots on concrete floors, bending over to take tyres off cars, lift them on, running around - basically very active and physical, and so on and so on - no bad backs and fitter now at 52 than at the B&B as a 37 year old.

So; in m experience it is definitely a factor to be considered that a bad back may be influenced by lifestyle.

Probably a regular exercise and stretching routine would make a world of difference in this regard.

Of course; things like "slipped" discs or herniated discs etc are a different problem altogether, but most of the bad backs I've seen are basically lack of conditioning and exercise, and a lot of sitting down at steering wheels and/or desks.

Don't go to a chiro - go to a physio if an active lifestyle doesn't fix it - but allow a good month or more to see real improvement.

My work mate has suffered from back pain for years. He is quite overweight too which is probably adding to his problems.

He ordered a "True Back" from the TV ad and started using it. Says he's never felt better. Hasn't slept so well in 30 years. I've also heard this from a few others too.

I suffer from a bad lower back periodically. I've been meaning to get one myself but its not a priority while I'm not in pain.

I'll stand up for my fantastic chiropractor. She has done me more good than several physios I've seen for a couple of problems. She knows bodies better than any doctor and as well as any physio.

She continued to work on finding a solution to my hip issue long past the time my doctor, physio(s) had given up.

I do see her about once every month, more often if I do something like paint a house :D. It costs me $12 per visit from my own pocket. The way I think of it is that I have had 52 years of sitting and standing, walking like I do. My muscles do what they have always done, and are always pulling my spine into the same bad patterns and bad posture that I can not or will not change.

When I think of the failed backflips, falls off skateboards and bikes and general wear and tear I had from 15 years of ballet and gymnastics (and being a kid), I wish my parents had taken me to a chiro long ago (but these "alternative" practices were not really on every corner back then).

I believe in what my chiro does for me, can feel the difference when I've been there. To those who think chiros don't fix you but suck you in to continue going, back... I think it is like saying you only have to get your hair cut once and it should stay in that style :D.

I can be standing for four days (last week) in my job and the next two days I have an aching hip and leg. I need rest. If I fall off a ladder or have spent days on end painting with one arm, it is natural that my muscles have been doing something lopsided, and it makes sense to me that I need to rest, and may need to be adjusted if I have gone too hard at this, and if I am aching. Maybe I just need rest.

I spent Friday straddling a double bay window ledge, one leg inside and one leg outside, my outside foot pushing against the outside wall of the house balancing six very heavy silky oak and leadlight windows (one at a time) against the top of my leg whilst hubby attached them to the mullions. I did that for more than an hour, taking them off to plane then, putting them back on. I'm aching now, mostly one leg and my ligaments (old skiing injury). Things like that are not "natural" especially when doing something on mostly one side of the body. I'm paying for it now. Time will help, but a massage will help too.

So, ultimately, whatever works for you works for you.

Ouch! Was it over blown? Strained by too much weight? Not being funny here. Just asking because I often wonder what the right inflation is for the ball and my weight and whether it could burst - without being pierced. On the one hand I think mine needs more air and on the other I'm afraid of over inflating it for my weight and straining it!

I'm a pretty solid guy. Was probably about 90kg at the time. I reckon it should have been able to handle that.

A smart man brought up a good point to me, you go to a physio with an issue and they fix it, then you're done. However, you go to a chiro and you have to keep going back or it gets worse.

See I don't agree with this at all. Physio never fixed mine, nor did an osteo or a chiro!

I think the osteo was most beneficial, but only one particular osteo. Then he left, and the others were useless for me. After that, next best was my chiro. He wasn't a 'cracking' type though. He would only crack the parts that I wanted cracked, as it is often the only thing that brings relief.

Just with the idea of you tubing exercises etc, just be careful with that as depending on what is causing the pain, some kinds of exercise can just make it worse. For appropriate exercises I would definitely recommend physio.

I have friends who seem to 'need' to see their Chiro and/or Osteo every month as well, one who has been going to one for years on end. This person will swear that they are the best thing since sliced bread. Surely they should be working towards fixing the problem, not just a bandaid that has someone in pain again if they don't re-attend within a month.

Some things just can't be fixed, and require a bit of regular maintenace to keep them running smoothly

My husband insisted on going to one once for a back spasm (he's had it twice now and gets it after doing physical exercise after a period of being inactive - painful but shortlived).

Initial visit was a scant visual diagnosis. Without getting him to lie down or pull up his shirt or asking questions, the chiro stated within seconds of him coming in that he could see his problem of a badly aligned spine and mild scoliosis :confused:.

Told him he needed to see him 3 times a week for a few weeks, and then reduce slowly till he got to 'maintenence' which was once a month I think.

Husband stopped after a week because it was a nuisance going so often and because he trusted me that it would go on it's own, which it did.

Same chiro was trying to treat my friends very sick, newly crohn's diagnosed son with spine cracking, and had his dietician (who had proper qualifications because I checked :eek:) see him who put him on an food elimination diet.

The poor child went from underweight to anorexic in no time :rolleyes:.

I was godsmacked when i heard and saw him, and from what i heard his specialist was too.

Again, some good, some bad. I took my daughter to a chiro recently and we had the initial appointment and then a follow up. Ended with a 'She's all good, just bring her back if you have any more problems in the future'

We haven't needed to go back.

i had a car accident 8 years ago and was suffering occasional spasms on my right shoulder.
after seeing many chiros and trying out several physio.
finally found a physio who provided some relief..but after couple of visits,i was surprised when he suggested not to come back to him.. as he thinks for my condition ..regular swimming would resolve this spasms.

And it did ! since swimming 2'ise a week ..i have had no issues :)

I've previously had work place injuries and had treatment through the company contracted physio. Very happy with the results, clearly resolved the issues with the treatment provided.

That was for joint and muscular strains however. Spinal, urgh...

See your GP and get an Xray for starters, you may be throwing money down the drain if you have a physical problem.

I was 35 when my back started playing up and it did show up on the xray, I wasted about 3 months paying physio & chiro bills.