Not the time to buy yet in Melbourne?

Hi all,
I'm fairly new to the property investment market and I've been asking around alot in terms of when and where to buy as a first time home buyer.
Firstly, where -
I don't really mind where I buy my property, it may be a long term investment for either me to live in for the first 6 months, then be turned into an investment property or just me living in there permanently (until I upgrade of course)
I've looked at and researched a few places that could experience growth later on through the years and they include flats in Box Hill (high return on rent) and also one bedder flats very close to the CBD (Brunswick, Fitzroy, St Kilda, Preston, Thornbury, Murrumbeena and Carnegie) You can't really get much bang for your buck in these suburbs as the price range that I'm looking for (max 250k) can only get you flats in these suburbs.
I've also looked at 2 and 3 bedroom units/houses further out from the CBD (no more than 20km) from all sides of Melbourne including Broadmeadows, Thomastown, Epping, Glenroy, Noble Park and Reservoir.
So here's the decision - should I choose a smaller house closer to the city or a larger house further from the city. Taking both aspects of living or investing to account. I'm not sure if this is correct but I'm assuming I could probably expect that same rental returns for some of the one bedroom flats I've been looking at as the larger places in the cheaper suburbs. $250-260 seems the norm for one bedroom flats in the above mentioned suburbs close to the CBD.