Thankyou Craig Thomson

He hasnt been found guilty.
He wasnt a member of Parliament when it happened.
There is no criminal investigation.

All 3 have been in the positive for Mary Jo Fisher.

Hi Evand

Could you tell me why as he wasn't a member of parliment, he was employed by a Trade Union, the NSW Labor Party pay for his failed defamation case?

Is it normal for state Labor Parties to pay for court cases instigated by a party member when the case has nothing to do with the party?

Pete

Hi Evand

Could you tell me why as he wasn't a member of parliment, he was employed by a Trade Union, the NSW Labor Party pay for his failed defamation case?

Is it normal for state Labor Parties to pay for court cases instigated by a party member when the case has nothing to do with the party?

Pete

It's so he wouldn't go bankrupt and therefore lose his federal seat

sounds as if mr thomson could use a good financial planner? apart from other things.

is it compulsory for particular workers to join the health services union?

it it was not if i was one of those workers i think i would resign. no chance of a refund on fees paid?

unions are big business lots of money involved, who really benefits especially when huge sums simply disappear, and it seems those in charge do not take immediate action.

lots of questions that go way beyond mr thomson and his issues.

mary jo case has not yet been settled. there is another politican in sa charged with a much more serious matter but he cannot be named, despite it being common knowledge.
that will be of interest at another time.

Not desperate mate, but the truth of what Abbott is doing to get Liberal into power. Its not politics anymore.

Because he is listening to what the public want (or the majority) - and they want Gillard and Labor OUT OF GOVERNMENT! So, he will pursue this because that is what the majority of people want.

p.s. what has religion got to do with anything?

how many ex or current union bosses/stalwarts are involved/members the liberal party...?

How many end up in the labour party...?

how accountable is the unions these days...especially in light of this latest fiasco...?

How accountable is now Gillard government....?

No doubt there'll be a review of the recruitment process for union officials... to make sure they weed out the Ms Jacksons that is :D.

Evan, I hate to say it, but CJ has cast such a toxic cloud of disrepute over the Labor governmental cause that it is only appropriate that he now go, and, in proper consequence, that a new federal government be formed. This is said in the national interest.

I do agree with you that there is very little - indeed probably miniscule - hope for better government under the current Coalition line-up, but that, I'd contend, is democracy: As Churchill (Belbo who?) heroically stated and unquestionably proved, democracy is very simply the least worst of all possible systems of government.

Why? Because democracy permits the regular - but invariably peaceful - transfer of power between rival political ruling agendas within a basically united society. And at times of complex uncertainly - such a now - societal unity is key.

So, Evan, will we care 20 yrs from now if the Coalition ruled badly for a few years henceforth?

Very unlikely, I'd suggest. The worst backlog we face nationally is infrastructure investment (yes, I know, that's where the Howard tax handouts should have gone), but where it matters most - in mining - private industry will take up all the heavy lifting itself from here anyway (in return for less taxation, of course), to make wonderful profits but while nonetheless paying terrific wages. Nothing bad there, surely?

Will there be 'class' revenge? Undoubtedly too. You know as well as I do that this is a given, just as benefits will flow amply to those who need them least, always in the interests of stimulating 'jobs growth', of course (as if the recipients ever gave a damn for anyone but themselves)!

But will it ruin our country? Not as fast as moral decay, or its political outcomes (a 'legitimation crisis', in the parlance of Europe-observing political sociologists). As we've seen, when regular people lose respect for the 'system', things can get very bad very quickly.

Evan, I hate to say it, but CJ has cast such a toxic cloud of disrepute over the Labor governmental cause

But will it ruin our country? Not as fast as moral decay, or its political outcomes (a 'legitimation crisis', in the parlance of Europe-observing political sociologists). As we've seen, when regular people lose respect for the 'system', things can get very bad very quickly.

CJ? good on ya belbo...have another session at the swill bucket.

the only people causing crises (plural) around here are the dills who were bred to believe you could get something for nothing, not even a prayer.

now back to the bottom of ye bottle.

Im in Frankfurt Germany at present and wont be back in OZ until mid Oct
Looks like I will maybe see an election by the time I get back
I am hoping this happens
Germany is a interesting place to visit Trains run on time No nanny state you can even drink beer in the streets

No early election, if at all.

Whatever your position on the behaviour and allegations, this much is assured. It is unlikely unless there is a significant turn or catalyst to make CT resign from parliament, then there will be no early election for some time if at all.

Now we have records going missing here

Police investigations will take some time to finalise and even if there is a case to answer any trial will be some time away. Not withstanding adjournments and legal posturing, we could very easily have this hanging around for at least another 12-18 months. And then the charges need to be proved beyond all reasonable doubt. Its easy for us to assume he has done it, its another to have them proved in a court of law.

Politically the current government is on track for an electoral drubbing. This won't change the political landscape, aside from the hardening the vitriol that is clearly evident against this government

You could ask CT to resign from the party and he could sit on the cross benches and support the government on supply matters. Would add to the colourful mix of independents sitting in the House of Reps no doubt. Might be a circuit breaker for the Fed government. Doubt union solidarity within the ALP and the presumption of innocence line being run by the government would make them do this.

Huh? Mary Jo Fisher was found guilty, Thomson has not been yet.

The law is theer to prove whether someone is guilty or not. Thats all.

And who said what he dis was right? I'm just saying dont get too excited as he hasnt been found guilty of anything yet, and its not even a criminal investigation.

So, to use your own strange reasoning, what Mary Jo Fisher did was ok because she owned up to it? How do you know she did anyway?

MJF is to stand trial in September 1 (currently) in the Adelaide Magistrates court. So if we trot out the line of the presumption of innocence for CT, then its reasonable to have the same stance for MJF.

She is alleged to have taken $92 worth of foodstuffs and then assaulted a female security guard in the carpark.

Now the posturing and politicking by the Opposition is trying to be misrepresented by the Fed gov to defend their man. Fair enough. The Opposition is playing hardball and attack dog, and without a doubt, have a different approach and commentary to that of MJF. However is that really a surprise? We are not playing canasta at the local retirement home here, this is for government.

The nature of the charges, the combatants, the state of the government, the role of the NSW Right (they are still poison to their own brand are they not?), sex, infidelity, missing money and a minority government in the balance. This is a far more volatile mix than $92 worth of stolen food from Foodland in Fewville Adelaide.

Interestingly, very little is being commented (and maybe quite rightly), that CT has a pregnant wife. I suspect some interesting conversations in that household.

The other significant difference in all this, is that government is formed in the House of Reps, not the Senate. A conviction against MJF and her departure from the Senate would have no impact on the government or the balance of power in the Senate. The impact could be far more significant with CT's departure.

This is another self inflicted wound for the Fed Govt. If the Libs are good at one thing, when they release the political hounds to attack, they often get their man/women.

Dont get excited, he didnt murder anyone.

So if he committed murder, but wasn't a member of parliament at the time, and it was covered up nice and neat by both this Labor Union AND Labor Party members (hence stopping an investigation) I take it that would also be OK :rolleyes:.

What planet are you on evand?

Mate, im not a Chardonnay socialist, im from a working class left voting background. I'm an ex sparkie.

And fair enough, if its time for Julia to go, every politician and party has their time. Its just the way Tony and the Liberals are going about it.

Its the politics of fear, hate and attack. Nothing positive at all, no policy, no ideals.Just hatred and attack, attack.....whats the bet when this Thompson affair blows over, he'll start on something else.

I am absolutely shocked how dumb the electorate is, especially the Liberal voting electorate.

Oh....and here is some more Liberal rorting:

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/ne...referred-to-icac/story-e6freuzi-1226123200275

If it upsets the moral highground chardonnay elites, next time vote in a govt that doesn't stumble from crisis to crisis lying and bullying its way while it p*$#es working class tax money up against the wall.

If a Coalition politician was accused of spending money on hookers, running shoes, and keeping himself from bankruptcy, I'd be the first to jump up and say get to the bottom of it NOW.

Oh no but not your Julia. She has FULL CONFIDENCE...and why is that? was Craig at her place on the nights calls were made from his motel room to the escort agencies? :rolleyes:

What Silly Julia doesn't get is that NO ONE will have confidence in her judgment once Thomson is forced to account.

Julia has so little wisdom and so much ambition, that now she is flea infested by the dog she chose to lay down with.

How politically naive she is. Time to go.

Thats all they do, thats why their good at it. Wheres anything to do with policy?

They are turning this country into a negative, hating, blaming, lying....sad, sad, sad,

This is another self inflicted wound for the Fed Govt. If the Libs are good at one thing, when they release the political hounds to attack, they often get their man/women.

Apparently if Thomson loses his seat, Labor will release info on some serious Lib rorting of expenses in...no less..."areas of vice".

And it wont be an automatic Lib FED win if there is a by election in Dobell.

Get this:

The context was Phil Coorey’s story in today’s Herald revealing that in the event of a Liberal victory in a Dobell by-election caused by Thomson’s resignation over brothel expenses, ALP strategists might shift speaker Harry Jenkins to the backbench to preserve its House of Reps majority.

According to Coorey, current deputy speaker Peter Slipper would then ‘do a Colston’ and assume the speakership with Labor support. The Fisher MP already has form on the ratting front, having famously brokered a deal with Anthony Albanese to pocket an extra $30,000 as deputy speaker last year against Tony Abbott’s wishes.

Under the massively-unstable new paradigm, the Labor government would retain 75 seats (including Andrew Wilkie, Rob Oakeshott, Tony Windsor and Adam Bandt) with the Coalition on 74 (including Bob Katter and Tony Crook).

But here’s where it gets interesting. Crikey understands that the MP referred to by Grattan is none other than Slipper, or “Slippery Pete” as he is widely known on Capital Hill. He would presumably be assisted in his decision-making by an implicit Labor threat to detonate a dirty bomb if he failed to cross the floor.

Slipper’s document is said to be bulging.

For what seems like every second week for over the last two years the PANPA-award winning Sunshine Coast Daily, and News Limited’s Steve Lewis, have been writing about the very religious MP’s lavish travel expense claims.

In February, the Daily revealed that Slipper had spent long nights meandering in his Comcar to the vice hubs of Fortitude Valley and Kings Cross. In a six-month period last year the former Queensland Young Nationals president spent $31,805 on family travel and in has previously paid back $20,000 in wrongly-claimed entitlements.

http://www.crikey.com.au/2011/08/22/whos-the-mystery-mp-that-grattan-referred-to-this-morning/

http://www.sunshinecoastdaily.com.au/search/?keywords=slipper

Its so funny watching you Liberal guys, frothing at the mouth, typically going in for the kill, and then.............nothing. Always nothing.