The election day stat I'm keen to know...

Across the country, how many sausages do you reckon got eaten?

Good Q.

Postal and pre polling votes up this year so most probably sausage nos. down.

I'd say we could see a big decline in coming years if electronic voting is introduced.

Bunnings sausage nos. probably down too if people voted beforehand.

I voted last Monday morning. Happened to walk past a pre-poll place. I loved the fact that I was the only person there, but lamented the absence of a sausage sizzle.

I voted in Willunga in a lovely little country town hall, market stalls over the road, great community vibe, but surprisingly, no sausage sizzle. Now I feel gypped :)

There was a sausage sizzle at the primary school where I voted. Seemed to be doing a good trade in the ten minutes I had to wait in the queue.

Sorry Scott, didn't do an inventory audit and got those numbers.

I was there when the booth opened...sausages were just being cooked...missed out on sausage for brekkie :(

Masses of cakes in plastic bags with the recipes attached...electronic voting would cripple this little primary school's fund raising

haha - yes, i supplied my due dilligence of chocolate and caramel fudge to the school stall. they had a lot of home baked goodies so i hope they sold them all.

the sausage sizzle seemed to be doing good trade, but i'd just had brekky.

Went to 4 polling places and not a single sausage sizzle to be seen at any of them.

Scott, you've just made me crave sausages... damn pregnancy cravings!!

Rocked up about 9.30am, (was I too early?)...no sausage sizzle!!!

What's the world coming to when there's only cakes & plants on offer!?!?!

hee hee to tess85, I admire your dedication to trying to find a sausage!!! :)

Lol! Rest assured I didn't trek from polling booth to polling booth looking for a sausage sizzle - was trying to avoid massive queues. But as for NOW, when I am craving them... let's just say, I've sent hubby out to the shops at midnight for some meat pies...

Quote: 'hee hee to tess85, I admire your dedication to trying to find a sausage!!! '

Given it seems tess85 is pregnant, her sausage locating skills must be well honed.

I'll probably regret writing that.

The P&Cs sell the sausages. Election days can be a big money spinner for a public school.

But the Greens bloke I saw on Saturday did look like he had been eating way too many sausages. I couldn't imagine him on a pushbike, either.

Shouldn't the Greens be selling tofu burgers?

Animals that go into sausages are significant contributors to global warming.

Not to mention the energy and resultant carbon pollution that went into building the BBQ itself in China. Surely they'd prefer you cooking each individual sausage using a cigarette lighter which took a lot less carbon to manufacture. :p

Hee hee, go tess85, I regret I didn't make mat go out for more food at midnight for me...I actually felt sorry for him..silly me!

Not to mention the energy and resultant carbon pollution that went into building the BBQ itself in China. Surely they'd prefer you cooking each individual sausage using a cigarette lighter which took a lot less carbon to manufacture. :p

I reckon Greens voters are hypocrites if they aren't raw food vegans. :)

Believe it or not, I am an old greenie myself....just never in the Marxist Union anti nuclear way of the Greens party and its forerunners....more in the way of John Muir.

Back in the 70s, I hated pollution, loved the environment especially the ocean and SE Qld national parks . I remember my first surf at Manly Beach (after being a Sunshine Coast surfer for years) and seeing unprocessed human excrement in the water....I was totally disgusted authorities thought that was acceptable.

In school I was encouraged by key teachers to go to uni and study environmental impact assessment. It was a new field at the time and I'd won several major State geography awards. I phoned BHP and MIM to enquire about jobs in the field, and came away feelign I'd just be a patsy for the miners. So dropped that line.

I was more a greenie because of my beliefs in Buddhism, which encouraged mindfulness about the consequences of everything one did. I was also an ovo lacto vegetarian, when so many of the green movement I knew were unhygienic heavy drinking anarchic dope fiend carnivores, who'd never heard of tofu and soy milk.

The Greens don't appeal to me. They have a history and too many policies that are an obvious front for Marxism.....and I finished my brief fling with Marxism when 18.

I was also an ovo lacto vegetarian, when so many of the green movement I knew were unhygienic heavy drinking anarchic dope fiend carnivores, who'd never heard of tofu and soy milk.

So Winston, I gather you're pretty hardcore in all that you do? At uni I leant toward the anarchic dope fiend carnivore set, though I dabbled in a few 'isms' because the girls attracted to socialism or whatever tended to be a bit more compliant (or less discerning).

Years ago when I was up at my father-in-law's farm, there was a day spent crutching and castrating sheep - much to the dogs' delight. My young niece watched all this very quietly. She was obviously processing the scent in that way kids do. That night at dinner she said, 'I can't wait till I like vegies so I can become a vegetarian.'

So Winston, I gather you're pretty hardcore in all that you do? At uni I leant toward the anarchic dope fiend carnivore set, though I dabbled in a few 'isms' because the girls attracted to socialism or whatever tended to be a bit more compliant (or less discerning).

Years ago when I was up at my father-in-law's farm, there was a day spent crutching and castrating sheep - much to the dogs' delight. My young niece watched all this very quietly. She was obviously processing the scent in that way kids do. That night at dinner she said, 'I can't wait till I like vegies so I can become a vegetarian.'

I had my beer swilling anarchic dope fiend carnivore phase too, but grew out of it in a matter of months. I was soon amazed how many attractive smart girls appreciated someone who could talk about his emotions and eastern philosophy, cook vegetarian, share a 10km run, and do hatha yoga poses, in addition to a few tantric :)

THe only thing hard core about me was my genuine fascination and respect for the peace and equanimity radiating from Tibetan Buddhist monks I met on a trip in NZ when 17. I remember saying, whatever they have, is worth more than all the money in the world, and I want it.