Timing of tradies in kitchen reno

Hi Fellow Forumites,

We got a cabinet maker booked in for two days worth of work to remove and install the kitchen cabinets. However, we will have to provide the electrician / plumber / gasfitter for the kitchen appliances. This is our first kitchen reno.

We would like to know, assuming all appliances are ready on site for installation:

Plumber / gasfitter: When does he come in to fix up the sink mixer / gas cooktop? During the installation of the cabinets or after? The plumber will also need to do some minor redirecting of the pipes to install the mixer.

Electrician: Do we need an electrician to install the electric oven, and when does he come in? During the installation of the cabinets or after?

There is a current standalone gas stove in place, and we will be removing that. However, we think we will need to install powerpoints to accommodate the rangehood and electric oven.

Not sure who need to do what else in a kitchen reno, so seeking some thoughts from those who have experienced this before.

Daniel Lee

Hi Daniel

Just ask the cabinet maker about the timing - he/she would be in the best position to advise.

I'd assume the plumber first, then cabinets and oven can be installed at the end.

Jamie

Steps:
1. Plumber comes in to disconnect taps over sink & plug off.
2. Electrician comes in to disconnect existing appliances
3. Carpenter comes in to remove old kitchen
4. Electrician comes back to run in new cabliing if you are moving positions of new appliances & getting extra power points
5. Plumber comes back to rough in new plumbing if you are moving the sink and if you are going to plumb in a new fridge with ice & water delivery system at the front of newer fridges
6. Cabinet maker installs new kitchen.
7. Plumber comes back to attach sink taps (and maybe install sink if cabinet maker has not done so)
8. Tiler comes to tile splashback
9. Electrician comes to wire in appliances and finish off new powerpoints

Enjoy!

Steps:
1. Plumber comes in to disconnect taps over sink & plug off.
2. Electrician comes in to disconnect existing appliances
3. Carpenter comes in to remove old kitchen
4. Electrician comes back to run in new cabliing if you are moving positions of new appliances & getting extra power points
5. Plumber comes back to rough in new plumbing if you are moving the sink and if you are going to plumb in a new fridge with ice & water delivery system at the front of newer fridges
6. Cabinet maker installs new kitchen.
7. Plumber comes back to attach sink taps (and maybe install sink if cabinet maker has not done so)
8. Tiler comes to tile splashback
9. Electrician comes to wire in appliances and finish off new powerpoints

Enjoy!

Alternatively:

1. Carpenter turns up unannounced and then wants to know why the plumber and sparky haven't been yet. Leaves most of cabinetry and some tools in garage and goes home.
2. Plumber turns up but can't get near wall because of cabinetry left lying around and curses sparky for not being there yet. Leaves pipework and associated bits and pieces in driveway and goes to find sparky.
3. Sparky arrives and asks you if you know where plumber is as he has borrowed ladder and can't cable without it. Asks for cup of coffee and Panadol due to big effort the night before with tiler mate of his.
4. Concreter turns up and unloads truck in driveway, damaging pipework left by plumber. Wrong address. Packs up and leaves.
5. Plumber returns to find damaged pipework and accuses sparky of carelessness. Stoush ensues.
6. Cabinet maker returns with remain cabinetry in different colour to previous. Notes fight in progress and returns to work shop.
7 Concrete truck arrives looking for concreter. Blocks street while ringing concreter on mobil phone. Long conversation follows.
8 Tiler arrives but is unable to get to address due to concrete truck blocking street. Tries to get attention of driver but engaged on call. Due to throbbing head ache from previous evening, goes home.
9. Wash.
10. Rinse
11 Repeat

Of course my list was only theoretical. In practice it works more along the lines of what you've said plus throw in a few "the chippie cut the sink hole too big and in the wrong place" type errors.......and the tiler tiled over the phone plug!

I had the same concern. Ended up asking the kitchen person to bundle everything and asked him to organise electrician and plumber. Solved. Probably cost me a little more, but got everything done in a day without delays.

Alternatively:

1. Carpenter turns up unannounced and then wants to know why the plumber and sparky haven't been yet. Leaves most of cabinetry and some tools in garage and goes home.
2. Plumber turns up but can't get near wall because of cabinetry left lying around and curses sparky for not being there yet. Leaves pipework and associated bits and pieces in driveway and goes to find sparky.
3. Sparky arrives and asks you if you know where plumber is as he has borrowed ladder and can't cable without it. Asks for cup of coffee and Panadol due to big effort the night before with tiler mate of his.
4. Concreter turns up and unloads truck in driveway, damaging pipework left by plumber. Wrong address. Packs up and leaves.
5. Plumber returns to find damaged pipework and accuses sparky of carelessness. Stoush ensues.
6. Cabinet maker returns with remain cabinetry in different colour to previous. Notes fight in progress and returns to work shop.
7 Concrete truck arrives looking for concreter. Blocks street while ringing concreter on mobil phone. Long conversation follows.
8 Tiler arrives but is unable to get to address due to concrete truck blocking street. Tries to get attention of driver but engaged on call. Due to throbbing head ache from previous evening, goes home.
9. Wash.
10. Rinse
11 Repeat

What did the painter do?
I can actually relate to this :D:D

Thanks everyone.

Hi everyone,

Didn't know the plumber and electrician would go in first, then the cabinet maker, and then back to the plumber and electrician.

This cabinet maker only does the cabinets, so we had to organise the plumber and electrician overselves.

We will contact the cabinet maker to coordinate with the plumber and electrician.

Daniel Lee

Hi everyone,

Didn't know the plumber and electrician would go in first, then the cabinet maker, and then back to the plumber and electrician.

This cabinet maker only does the cabinets, so we had to organise the plumber and electrician overselves.

We will contact the cabinet maker to coordinate with the plumber and electrician.

Daniel Lee
Very simple,the electrician makes the site safe,the plumber turns off the water supply and strips all the pipework back too the walls floors,the cabinet-makers then refit the sections,while leaving the cut-outlets for plumbing -elect -final fitoff,imho work off the electrician if the site is not safe then someone pays with their life..imho..

Depends on the existing fittings, often you can get away with removing the cabinets yourself as the plumbing and electricity are easy to disconnect. If you do this a few days before the cabinets arrive, then the electrician and plumber can do the majority of their work before the cabinets are even there, then it's just a matter of fitting