What do you think of Trinity, Alkimos WA?

Hi all,

I am brand new to the world of investing and to this forum! I have heard great things about this website so have joined and hope you can help me out! :)

I am thinking of buying my very first IP in the Trinity estate in Alkimos WA.

Also, I attended a seminar and they said they can do everything for me - which is very handy as I live interstate.

Any thoughts/opinions?

Thanks.:confused:

If you are looking to buy land on the east side of Marmion Ave in the northern suburbs of Perth, Trinity is probably one of the better options. As I understand it Trinity is a private estate. (No Homeswest). Trinity is close enough to Butler to benefit from the rail expansion (2012) and the new district shopping centre to be built around the new railway station. As there are no houses built in Trinity yet I assume you are looking at a house and land package. Downside to that is it is cheaper to buy an established house in areas such as Butler at the moment than buy land and build. Therefore I don't think you could make much equity from building and may actually have a house worth less than what it has cost. Plus the fact you attended a seminar where they said they can do everything for you means to me that you will be paying a premium so in fact could have a property worth quite a bit less than what it costs you by the time it is built.

not a great place for an IP... these are more churn and burn IMO. better off buying a place in kenwick for example.

I think it comes back to the old argument whether it is better to buy closer to the city or in the outer suburbs for capital growth. Usually when new infrastructure is going in such as train stations and shopping centres this will have a positive impact on property values. That's why I think an IP purchase in the areas in and around Butler is not a bad idea. I just would not be buying new when you can buy older houses below replacement value.