A nation of whingers

yeh, we've blown all the money on stupid programs and now need to tax the bejeesus out of ya, whilst handing control over to the banks - shut up and take it you whinger. kids in africa are starving you know.

strewth - let them eat cake.

i really hate to say it but i do agree with evan here

it is also not remotely a left/right thing, it has nothing to do with politics imo. we do whinge en extraordinary amount, there is often a distinct lack of perspective imo

yeh, we've blown all the money on stupid programs and now need to tax the bejeesus out of ya, whilst handing control over to the banks - shut up and take it you whinger. kids in africa are starving you know.

strewth - let them eat cake.

im not referring to complaints or discussions on topics like that, more everyday stuff

im sure im not the only one who notices it

I'd like to cast stones at whingers, but I can't. I'm very much an Australian.

Sometimes I find myself whinging about the state of our public transport system or the price of microwavable pizza and *I* want to murder me. How unbearable must others find me?

Then I realise everyone else is too absorbed in their own whinging to notice.

How about " A woman in comfortable shoes"?

like_share.jpg

I say embrace the whinge, being stoic is over rated, where did stoic get Socrates and Seneca? Dead that's where.

Sure I feel bad for all the downtrodden of the world, but what happens when I don't have a whinge about getting served a terrible latte Sunday morning? Australians will be stuck with terrible coffee like they get served everywhere else in the world and a world with terrible baristas is a world I don't want to live in.

Not surprisingly, I don't agree with the thrust of evan's comment.

It's a convenient patch up, deflecting the heat from his mob who are making a dog's breakfast of what they currently control in Canberra.

Yes, the dog's breakfast is far more lavish than what some sub-Saharan refugee or some Thai prostitute has....but really....is that who we really wish to compare ourselves with.

Doing better than that lot - big tick - stop complaining.....I don't think so, Aussies set the bar slightly higher than that.

I feel part of it is that those with the ability, realise the country has so much more potential and fear it being left behind due to poor management.

That's half the trouble Lizzie, those that can see what needs to be done to extract the best value for money, to make maximum use of available resources...is not being done. That's the frustrating bit.

Of course, every argument emanates from the 72 seats a piece hung situation of our House of Reps in Canberra. No major party has a mandate to do anything. This cobbling of rag tags independents together, with a formal alliance / coalition with the Greens has caused the public to bleat and whinge cos they are being dictated to by an 11% Green minority.....and most folks don't like it.

evan on the other hand absolutely loves the direction they have pushed the critically wounded Labor rabble, who don't have a managerial bone in their body. Chants like "up the workers" and former ACTU presidents and PM's singing solidarity songs well into their 80's to try and breath some life back into a dead horse is very desparate indeed.

Bring on the inevitable whitewash of an election, where the majority of the population finally get to have their say....and the whinging will abate - not die off completely...but abate.

The reason you haven't noticed the whinging evan is cos down in your Marrickville, where left leaning Labor and Greens dominant the landscape....you're currently getting everything your way with socialist Julia punishing the wealth builders and distributing it to the wealth takers.....no wonder you haven't noticed.

Fear not though, the band of people who support the wealth creators are coming. When they start making the decisions, then you'll have plenty to whinge about. Get used to it, they'll be there for well over a decade mopping up the $ 150 billion pile of debt your incompetent union hacks have racked up.

We just have more media, social media, blogs, tweets etc which allows what was previously said between people to be broadcast to the wider world!

I recall the Aussie whinging being talked about when I was in school back in the 80s.

I do also recall a relatively (in)famous online ALP political advertisement in the 2007 election about a mother (very much urban professional look) complaining about a number of things that wasn't done throughout the early noughties.... I thought that took the cake for whigning given what was done.

I can't find the link on YouTube. It did generate a number of spoofs and parodies

There is raising concern.

Then there is whingeing.

I don't see it as being party political, because there is more than life to just blindly parroting the latest slogan you heard from Andrew Bolt or Mike Carlton.

It's about dealing with the continual whingeing and moaning about very trivial things.

People do not take any form of responsbility for outcomes any more. It is all about "the government should do this" or "we don't have this". Not "how can we get this".

I see it all the time during community consultation - "they" should be providing a community garden for us. No. They have already provided you with the land. How about you get off the couch and join with your neighbours and actually get a community garden happening. "They" need to provide us with a decent cafe. No. They don't. If there is a market for it, do it yourself.

Those examples came out of a recent project I did - a suburb that claimed to be a real community. They weren't. A couple of old timers were. One of them donated the land for a community hall 50 years ago and built it himself with other residents. He donated the land for a community garden. Is the community prepared to get involved and establish it themselves? No. But they will complain that Council hasn't done something for them.

It is about lack of self reliance and actually doing things that don't just help out yourself. And it is something that has gone from Australian society. We have a culture of entitlement now. We have had such a good run and had so much provided for us, by successive governments of both colours, that we now just expect these things to be continually handed to us.

People need to realise it shouldn't work that way and that there needs to be some initiative shown by the community, and the individual, to achieve outcomes that they want to achieve.

Not surprisingly i think your post is a total rambling load of BS. What are you on about mate? That's just a complete waste of a post Dazz. You sure have been getting worked up lately. Are you trying to incite a class war :rolleyes:...like the mad Rabbi.

My initial post had nothing to do with politics and either do whingeing Aussies. Most of the are politically informed by Alan Jones, Andrew Bolt et al. They're just clueless people who whinge and complain about every little meaningless thing and understand very little.

Its pretty lame you attempt to turn this thread political and left vs. right debate. Wealth takers and wealth givers? Greens? Marrickville? Are you ok mate?

Not surprisingly, I don't agree with the thrust of evan's comment.

It's a convenient patch up, deflecting the heat from his mob who are making a dog's breakfast of what they currently control in Canberra.

Yes, the dog's breakfast is far more lavish than what some sub-Saharan refugee or some Thai prostitute has....but really....is that who we really wish to compare ourselves with.

Doing better than that lot - big tick - stop complaining.....I don't think so, Aussies set the bar slightly higher than that.

That's half the trouble Lizzie, those that can see what needs to be done to extract the best value for money, to make maximum use of available resources...is not being done. That's the frustrating bit.

Of course, every argument emanates from the 72 seats a piece hung situation of our House of Reps in Canberra. No major party has a mandate to do anything. This cobbling of rag tags independents together, with a formal alliance / coalition with the Greens has caused the public to bleat and whinge cos they are being dictated to by an 11% Green minority.....and most folks don't like it.

evan on the other hand absolutely loves the direction they have pushed the critically wounded Labor rabble, who don't have a managerial bone in their body. Chants like "up the workers" and former ACTU presidents and PM's singing solidarity songs well into their 80's to try and breath some life back into a dead horse is very desparate indeed.

Bring on the inevitable whitewash of an election, where the majority of the population finally get to have their say....and the whinging will abate - not die off completely...but abate.

The reason you haven't noticed the whinging evan is cos down in your Marrickville, where left leaning Labor and Greens dominant the landscape....you're currently getting everything your way with socialist Julia punishing the wealth builders and distributing it to the wealth takers.....no wonder you haven't noticed.

Fear not though, the band of people who support the wealth creators are coming. When they start making the decisions, then you'll have plenty to whinge about. Get used to it, they'll be there for well over a decade mopping up the $ 150 billion pile of debt your incompetent union hacks have racked up.

Not surprisingly i think your post is a total rambling load of BS. What are you on about mate? That's just a complete waste of a post Dazz. You sure have been getting worked up lately. Are you trying to incite a class war :rolleyes:...like the mad Rabbi.

My initial post had nothing to do with politics and either do whingeing Aussies. Most of the are politically informed by Alan Jones, Andrew Bolt et al. They're just clueless people who whinge and complain about every little meaningless thing and understand very little.

Its pretty lame you attempt to turn this thread political and left vs. right debate. Wealth takers and wealth givers? Greens? Marrickville? Are you ok mate?

Evan

The article you based this thread on was from the "Political Opinion"
section of the paper, and was about politics.

How can you ignore politics when it is such a large part of what Aussies whinge about?

Wow! Whingeing and complaining is a way to get what i want? I'll have to try it instead of hard work, study, taking risks, community involvement, thinking of others.....etc ....etc....

Its a new paradigm....and everything thats wrong with this country.

Actually on second thought, why dont you try it and let us know your results?

I want a new Porsche and im gonna complain till i get it. I want an upgraded park in my area and im gonna whinge till it happens. I want a new cafe with good coffee and damn im gonna let all you guys know about it.

So true.

Either you get walked all over or you get what you want.

The article was mostly about the economy and how good we have it. The big business and consumer/business sentiment. There is a minor mention of politics about 2/3 way through the article.

Evan

The article you based this thread on was from the "Political Opinion"
section of the paper, and was about politics.

How can you ignore politics when it is such a large part of what Aussies whinge about?

From my view the average to above average income/education/wealth/health etc people are not really whingers.

They are do-ers; they get on with it even though they might whinge from time to time (like all of us here).

They have their little vent and keep on punchin'.

The real whingers are those who are at the other end of the scale in every way.

They are not do-ers; or if they are, they are the "do-as-little-as-is required" bunch....

And they cop their right whack.

I don't subscribe to the theory of "we've got it good here in Aus, so stop yer whining".

The reason why we do have it so good is because so many are engaged in what goes on (at the Political level) and want things to improve so the high level of "vocal" keeps the Pollies on their toes.

If it weren't for that, I reckon it would be far worse..

I'm glad we live in a Country where it is still free to have your say and not be thrown in jail for it.

Reactions: weg
Its been said many times there is a huge difference between just whingeing and
being 'vocal' or having our say. 2 totally different things.

Maybe thats the problem. That people think complaining is the same as commenting or being vocal or having your say.

BayView said:
;910746
The reason why we do have it so good is because so many are engaged in what goes on (at the Political level) and want things to improve so the high level of "vocal" keeps the Pollies on their toes.

If it weren't for that, I reckon it would be far worse..

I'm glad we live in a Country where it is still free to have your say and not be thrown in jail for it.