Career change time - Job ideas needed

So, I am fed up with IT and need a change. Although I am good at my job, life is too short to do something that doesn't interest me. Of course, in the background my property investment will continue :)

I am looking for something somehow relating to property or construction which can make use of some of my existing skills so hopefully I don't need to start right at the bottom of the chain.

I have about 6 years in IT, currently in a Project Leader role focussing on customer transitions.

I also have 2 years experience in a Real Estate role, where I worked in Sales and Property Mgmt. I also have the Real Estate Diploma to go along with this.

I have a very open mind, but like most people here I also have bills I need to pay, so starting out as an apprentice won't be possible.

Not too keen on going back to work in an agency.

Any ideas? Throw them out there.

Hi BuildingBlocks,

What would you do if money/bills were not an issue? You might not be able to do that particular thing but it might be a good starting point to build on (pardon the pun:eek: )

Hi BuildingBlocks,

What would you do if money/bills were not an issue? You might not be able to do that particular thing but it might be a good starting point to build on (pardon the pun:eek: )

If I were 18 again with no bills then maybe I would do a trade, but not too sure.

My skills are around being highly analytical and highly organised.

I actually read one of your posts the other day that mentioned drafting and gave it a few hours research :)

It could be an option, more so as starting something on the side that I could then build up.

Funnily enough when I was back in Real Estate I had to draw up a few floor plans and quite enjoyed it.

Edit: I found this online CAD tutorial site the other day for anyone interested:
http://www.cadtutor.net/tutorials/autocad/index.php?category_id=1