Carrying Cash

Does anyone here object to carrying around over $1000? If not what is the most you would not carry in cash? $10,000, $100,000?

What are your reasons for being comfortable with money or uncomfortable with it? Do not trust society - could get mugged? Fear you could spend/lose it? Other?

For those that can carry cash anywhere with no worries, was it learned or did you just have this ability?

I just treat it like an object,because I don't think about it and my life is not run by it,

I once found $7000 in my glove-box that was placed in there a month before from a job :D

I don't mind carrying around a few thousand ...comes from a LOOOOOOONG time in retail carrying banking.

funny story though...my Mother(the aged 50+ ) had $5k (odd) in term deposit and she would have it invested is whatever bank offered the best rate. Now our local shopping centre had branches off all the majors plus a good handful of building societies and credit unions. When Mum wanted to move money she would enlist one of the young constables from the local police beat to "escort"her from one end of the centre to the other. To their credit they never refused her.

was walking around with $20k last week and i was a bit nervous with it - wasn't relaxed enough to stick it in my pocket so i just held it in one hand. cash is surprisingly bulky

Must be hard going around collecting the rent in person....:)

I just treat it like an object,because I don't think about it and my life is not run by it,

I once found $7000 in my glove-box that was placed in there a month before from a job :D

LOL Pa1nter!!! you sound like my hubby...MANY times I have said "did such and such pay yet?" (answer) Oh yeah i have that in my wallet. (usually cheques...but often $1000's of $$ one time though $25K)

A few months ago I had $4000 in my purse. I could barely close my purse. We did a bit of shopping and I just felt sick. About 15 years ago I pulled $10000 out of a bank and walked across the road to another bank to bank it. I remember feeling the same. In between those episodes I've woken up to an intruder in my house and almost got car-jacked and both times got out of the situation well. So I guess I'm on high alert of crimes and like to minimise my chances of becoming a victim.

Must be hard going around collecting the rent in person....:)

Many of our tenants want to pay in cash, but we discourage it, opting for cheques whenever possible.
We don't want to put our supers in jeapardy carrying or having at their premise, before depositing.

We generally never have more than $300-$500 cash on us at any time.
There is no reason to carry too much cash.
It's not safe nor smart.

max $200 and then i still feel nervous. with so many safe ways to pay and spend i don't like carrying cash.

i did have one guy pay me $17k in cash to buy our car. took it immediately down to the bank - holding very hard onto my bag. the girl at the counter was counting it when a recent customer into the bank came up, showed me his police ID and asked if i'd like an escort to my car.

who says chivalry is dead? :D

My husband had about $400 in bunnings vouchers and $400 cash stolen out of his car while he unloaded a couple of things out of his ute about a year ago. My husband is a bit careless, and there is always opportunists around. I have found out since that if you make a note of bunnings gift vouchers you can cancel them if they are stolen. ;)

max $200 and then i still feel nervous. with so many safe ways to pay and spend i don't like carrying cash.

i did have one guy pay me $17k in cash to buy our car. took it immediately down to the bank - holding very hard onto my bag. the girl at the counter was counting it when a recent customer into the bank came up, showed me his police ID and asked if i'd like an escort to my car.

who says chivalry is dead? :D

?? Don't quite get this lizzie?? You were depositing cash?? Did the cop think you may have more cash on you??

Your brain goes in to overdrive thinking of all the ways you could lose the money. I wouldn't carry more than $500 "just on me" going out and about and $1000 bucks is treated like the holy grail.

But I rarely have $2 on me at the best of times :p

It makes sense to not carry over the amount that would upset you if it were to be stolen or lost, or if you constantly give yourself a fright and think 'shoot, where did I put my bag/purse'.

Just practical simple stuff, with no real psychology behind it, sorry.

My Brazilian boss used to carry two wallets when in Sao Paolo because the chance of muggings was so high.

He'd have his normal wallet with cash and licence and credit cards etc and in the other pocket would be an el cheapo wallet with $ 50 or whatever the Brazilian equivalent was in it that was ready to hand over to whomever shoved a gun in his face.

He said he'd been forced to use it twice.

I'm finding this conversation really surprising as I thought we're heading into a mainly cashless society.

I'm lucky to have $10 on me at any point in time, not because I'm uncomfortable carrying more but for the pure reason that I find using a card so much easier, and I get points for money I'm spending anyway.

i usually withdraw $30-50 and would take a couple of weeks to use that, because I use eftpos mainly.
When I'm travelling, I would have more, because often taxis only take cash. But I rarely carry more than $100 at a time.

So, are you trying to work out which of us are best to rob!!

$300 to $500 and half the time hubby carries half eg $150 or $250 each.

A close friend always carries a roll of money, I would say 8-10K on him and he usually has another roll in his car. About 20 years ago he nearly went bankrupt and he doesn't feel comfortable unless he carries a roll of money.