Euthanasia?

One of my best mates passed away last night from motor neuron disease at 51. He battled it, or suffered it really as there's not a thing can be done about it, for 2 years. He had the worst type that effects you from the top and bottom. His first symptoms was that his speech was slurred and he sounded like he was drunk when he spoke. His last days were spent fully alert, but pretty much unable to move almost anything. About 10 of his mates and I spent a few hours with him last week, and drank a few cartons of beer and told funny stories in front of him. Hard to tell if he wanted to be there but we were invited by his wife. I think he enjoyed it.

What was a relief to me though was how he was able to end things. I'm sure he would have lasted another month or two? But I'm no doctor? He knew within a few days when he was going to die. We knew he was going to hospital and it would soon be over. I'm led to believe he was just pumped with more and more morphine until it was over? He had his family with him.

The next few months if he had to live them would have been horrific. I'm told it's one of the worst things to die from?

I'd want to go at the same stage as well if I had what he had. Certainly learnt a few things about end of life care. It's better than I thought it was?

I've always been in favour of euthanasia. But I thought it didn't happen? It is used though, sensibly, and that's a good thing.

See ya's.

I'm sorry for your friend topcropper. It is very hard to watch someone you love fade away. I've done it three times too many these past few years.

I have huge respect for the people who tend patients with terminal illness, especially in palliative care wards. I know I couldn't do it. I spent three months helping feed and care for my mother, every day, most of the day, and the staff looked after me and cared for me almost as much as for my mother.

I just hope that the law is changed to allow those who are suffering to choose their own time.