Gambling & Investing...same or different?

Is investing the same as gambling?

• Yes

Votes: 6 9.2%
  • No

Votes: 59 90.8%

• Poll closed .
ummmmmmmmm

prob not

Gambling with rare exception, you have nil influence on the outcome.

Id hazard a guess that with investing in direct investments such as property, you do have some level of control, though not fully.

My view has long been that the difference between the two is simply how much you know, and how much you can control. The instrument; be it property, shares, forex, blackjack or otherwise, is irrelevant.

Being very risk adverse, I don't gamble. Ever.

To me gambling is about betting on the long shot, the unlikely result. Investing (when done corrrectly) on the other hand is aboutweighing up all the odds and making a decision on what is going to be the most LIKELY outcome.

Just to help me understand your view a little better; take a football game, for example. Odds on team suggest 15% chance of winning, and odds on the other suggest 85% chance.

Would you consider it to be gambling, if you bet on the most likely outcome?

My view has long been that the difference between the two is simply how much you know, and how much you can control. The instrument; be it property, shares, forex, blackjack or otherwise, is irrelevant.

I agree. But I wonder if, what most people would classify as an investment, differs in that they usually have various risk mitigation strategies available eg. put/call options, landlord insurance, rate fixing etc.

Good thread, by the way, Fokas :)

When you gamble there is no net increase in money/value created. The house takes it cut and then the money of the gamblers gets re-distributed amongst them.

If you invest in something that has value or increases in value or produces a yield it is completely different. Even with agents and stamp duty and land tax taking a cut there is a net gain occurring in property most of the time.

They are very different to me.

Taking the example of shares and property. A well researched share with good fundamentals and a well located property purchased at the right value will definitely make you money in the long run. You might not get spectacular returns immediately but that should not matter too much. Investing is about having patience.

Gambling on the other hand is about buying any property or share as long as there is a possibility that you will make money immediately. Sure you might make money every now and then but being able to build substantial wealth and also able to keep it for long time is extremely hard because of the very nature of gambling where you can lose money as easily as you can make it.

Just my 2 cents.

Oracle.

They are very different to me.

Taking the example of shares and property. A well researched share with good fundamentals and a well located property purchased at the right value will definitely make you money in the long run. You might not get spectacular returns immediately but that should not matter too much. Investing is about having patience.

Gambling on the other hand is about buying any property or share as long as there is a possibility that you will make money immediately. Sure you might make money every now and then but being able to build substantial wealth and also able to keep it for long time is extremely hard because of the very nature of gambling where you can lose money as easily as you can make it.

Just my 2 cents.

Oracle.

That's probably what most of the people in the US thought 5 yrs ago.

As much as everyone would like to think the two are vastly different, I think you're being a little naive to believe they really are.

It all comes down to due diligence in the end.

That's probably what most of the people in the US thought 5 yrs ago.

As much as everyone would like to think the two are vastly different, I think you're being a little naive to believe they really are.

It all comes down to due diligence in the end.

Can you elaborate on what you mean?

Did I not mention investing is about having patience. Investing is not about making money all the time. Even the Great Warren Buffet (shares investor) and Donald Trump (property investor) have taken a hit on their wealth. Most investors lose money during a recession. But an intelligent investor will be prepared to act and buy quality assets at bargain price. They will bounce back much stronger when the market conditions improve.

A gambler on the other hand would be completely wiped out if market conditions were to change. I bet a lot more people lost entire fortunes gambling when the GFC hit.

Investing is about preservation of capital first and second making money on the capital. Gambling is about making the highest returns at the risk of potentially losing capital.

Oracle.

Just to help me understand your view a little better; take a football game, for example. Odds on team suggest 15% chance of winning, and odds on the other suggest 85% chance.

Would you consider it to be gambling, if you bet on the most likely outcome?

I know, my definition isn't very good - just not sure how to put my thoughts into words.

Betting on the outcome of a football team is gambling, because you don't have any control over the course of events that lead to the outcome. You are relying on hope. So 'control' is definitely a factor.

Take a casino for example. The 'customers' who are putting their money forward in hope of 'winning the big one' do so with very little actual chance of winning. The casino itself on the other hand is making a great investment in others gambling, because the odds are stacked in their favour in a such a way that the returns they receive would more then cover (above and beyond) any large winfall that might occur by a patron. So again control is coming into play.

I think there is also a psychological factor, in that anyone who is gambling does so for the thrill, and the huge windfall. If you enter investing with this mindset, then you are indeed gambling - but that doesn't make investing itself gambling, it is the mindset, the control and the ability to mitigate risks which influence this.

Take someone who smokes for example, they are taking a gamble that they won't develop lung cancer and die as a result of their smoking. they cann't really control anything or even accurately predict what will happen - they continue smoking based on 'hope' and imediate gratification, they block out or justify their actions against any information that might be contradictory to this action and belief that 'it won't happen to them'. Someone who 'invests' in the health would not take that risk - they would look at all the factors, statistics, etc and draw the conclusion that the problems caused by smoking are far too likely and commonplace and very often severe to risk the asset they are protecting (their health).

You can gamble with anything in life.
FWIW - I have a BIL who would disagree with me, he 'claims' to make alot of money out of gambling (poker, etc), indeed he has been on a winning streak lately. I think that if you went back over the course of his life and added up all the money he has lost and all the money he has won, he still wouldn't have recouped his losses. If someone was 'investing' with these same statistics, I would question if they had done any homework or DD, or just throwing their money away wildly hoping to catch something that will pay off.

It is hard to give accurate definitions, as 'investing' means different things to different people. It is such an abstract concept. To me, gambling is like running across the road blindfolded, with nothing more then a blind hope / faith that you will make it to the other side in one piece. Investing is like going up to the pedestrian crossing, pressing the button waiting for the little green man to signal it is safe to cross and still keep an eye out for drivers who might not pay attention. Either way it is possible to get hit, but if you run across the road blindfolded you have no control, no real knowledge of the risks, and the odds are stack in favour of you getting hit.

gambling, quick in, quick out. fast..
investing, taking a longer time..

investing-waiting game... :p
gambling-hoping game.. :cool:

so which game would you wanna play?
well, i reckon at the end everything is a gamble.. even if you have done your research etc, when it doesnt go on your favour, you still hope...except it is a longer process thats all.. so ... hard to say... does it really matter after all ?

gambling, quick in, quick out. fast..
investing, taking a longer time..

investing-waiting game... :p
gambling-hoping game.. :cool:
What about flipping?

What about gamblers who watch the life/growth/race results of a horse/athlete as it matures?

It is hard to give accurate definitions, as 'investing' means different things to different people. It is such an abstract concept. To me, gambling is like running across the road blindfolded, with nothing more then a blind hope / faith that you will make it to the other side in one piece. Investing is like going up to the pedestrian crossing, pressing the button waiting for the little green man to signal it is safe to cross and still keep an eye out for drivers who might not pay attention. Either way it is possible to get hit, but if you run across the road blindfolded you have no control, no real knowledge of the risks, and the odds are stack in favour of you getting hit.

This spells it out to me perfectly.

Different.

Gambling = gambling at odds given to you (and these are usually against you)

Investing = finding odds you want to 'gamble' at and 'gambling' at those odds (finding these odds are found based on your value add, research, bidding strategy etc)

Because of that, I find poker to be a form of investing because you gamble at your own odds. But playing roulette or pokies, the odds are always the same.

Completely agree with ROFL LATHAM and GG JAMES (GG MATE). The difference is you influence the outcome in investing. Even in shares, you influence the outcome by deciding your entry price, market movements etc. But in roulette, the odds are fixed. Great minds think alike indeed.

Gambling,

Me playing blackjack at the casino.

Investing,

Me learning to count cards accurately until the odds are in my favour, finding a casino that uses most of the decks, then playing blackjack using what I have learned with money management techniques.

Being very risk adverse, I don't gamble. Ever.

To me gambling is about betting on the long shot
, the unlikely result. Investing (when done corrrectly) on the other hand is aboutweighing up all the odds and making a decision on what is going to be the most LIKELY outcome.

Betting on the favourite is also gambling. Betting on the 250lb olympian boxer against the 5ft 100lb guy who hs never fought in his life is still gambling. Gamblers decide which is the most likely outcome all the time, that's how they choose what to bet on / what not to.

Not saying by any means I think what you're do is gambling, but your defintion of gambling seems very narrow.