If you wanted to be a tradie - what job would you do?

Hi yadreamin,
Depreciator isn't the name of a profession, it's the name of our company.
Quantity Surveyors are the people best qualified to estimate construction costs for Tax Depreciation Schedules.
Depreciation is a small part of the average QS job description. Some QSs don't even do depreciation work.
I'd say courses would vary from state to state. Some QSs would do 3-4 years fulltime at Uni or 6 years part time.
Others may do a diploma of building and then switch.
There would be correspondence options.
I've heard that Newcastle uni have one of the best courses because it is more practically orientated.
The AIQS website would tell you more.
It's a tough job, but right now it's paying well.

thefirstbruce said:
I'd be interested in hearing from IT pros as to where all the jobs are and what the pay rates are.... some ppl consider the lad at Harvey Norman selling printers to be in IT. And I hear so often that IT ppl are hard to get....but often that is because employers don't want to pay much....

the jobs are the traditional jobs, development, adminstration, consulting etc. the money is there in all of them, if you are good at what you do, and by good i do not mean average, i mean really good. being average is no crime, you can make a comfortable living as a bog standard developer working for an insurance company or something.

i know sysadmins, developers, consultants, pre sales techs, all of whom are on 6 figure salaries, most of them under 30. they are all really good at what they do, and have a genunine interest in their fields. from what ive seen, the people who do it for the money know enough to do their jobs (in general, anyway), but thats about it. they have only as passing interest in computing, and if they need to learn a new technology their company will pay for them to do training and they'll accquire new skills.

and there is nothing wrong with that. there are a lot of jobs out there that just need a lot of legwork done, and these people are happy and able to do it. they do not pay a lot, but still pay pretty well (maybe around $70k). maybe they have families/mortgages and like the regular hours and security, even though the work may be a little dull at times. and maybe over time they will rise through an organisation to higher pay and more responsibility etc.

then there are peope who end up being really good. IT is a large part of their life, they are constantly keeping up to date with whats going on, many of their friends work in IT as well and its what they talk about when they are at the pub. they spend a lot of extra time and effort learning things to a level of detail far beyond what they need, and as a consequence become very valuable in their companies and their salaries reflect that. they are the ones that get the hard stuff done and can solve the hard problems. they have a genunine and deep understanding of computing, because they are genuinely interested in it. i do not think its anything special to IT either, im sure the top 5% of plumbers would make a reasonable amount, and they get paid that much because they know a hell of a lot about plumbing.

these are massive generalisations though, and its not all like that. sometimes people think they are really good at IT, but in reality they are fairly average (i find this common in slashdot/linux fanactics crowd). like anything in the real world, sometimes some people inexplicably rise to levels they are probably not really suited for, but if they do their job, and the company is happy with their performance, who am i to say whats right or wrong.

i dont really think there is a right or wrong, as everyones needs and desires are different. im a single guy with no dependants, so if i want to stay up till 2am reading kernel source code i can. when im 40 with 2 kids, i probably would just want a job with regular hours, good security and ok pay, so i can spend my time with my family. im hoping though that my hard work now will help me end up somewhere interesting with good terms, but i would also be quite happy just doing a job to provide for my family and spending my time with them.

i see the outsourcing to india as somewhat equivalent to the introduction of robotics to car assembly lines. a lot of people lost their jobs when that happened, and they found work elsewhere. you do not need a degree qualified computer scientist to answer your tech support calls and read through the helpdesk troubleshooting script.

there are things its ok for companies to outsource, and there are things that aren't ok, for some of the reasons -T- pointed out above. some software companies may have 5 or so developers who come up with the design and do the tricky bits, and the bulk gets outsourced as its all fairly straightforward to implement, and cheaper and faster to have done in india. you still see people working in car production plants though.

i guess with outsourcing, you get what you pay for, and theres always going to be cases where "good enough" is good enough. outsourcing cuts both ways too. theres plenty of non-IT companies who outsource their IT stuff. theres the obvious huge support/contracting companies like EDS, but smaller businesses like real estate agents or other small companies might have an "IT guy" who looks after their server once a week and does their tech support. you can make a decent (6 figure) living doing this, as long as you have the customers, but its the sort of work you'll only really get through word of mouth.

as for training, i do not really agree with how degrees are treated in computing, an apprenticeship type of training might be better, or something akin to the college of law. to be a lawyer you do your theoretical law degree, then spend 6 months at the college of law learning the actual ins and outs of lawyer'ing. experience is all that matters really in IT, but if everyone else has a degree, the reality is you need one to be able to compete for jobs. i started out and did ok without a degree but saw the writing on the wall so went back to uni to finish up. its made it a lot easier to sell myself. and noone has ever asked me where i got my degree from or what my marks were like, its just not relevant as its an academic qualification that really just means i am motivated enough to work unattended and meet deadlines.

certs come and go, trends come and go, you cant just do a cert and make a lifelong career out of it. though if you are really motivated and canny, you probably can through networking and contacts, etc. certs are products for sale, the people who offer them make a lot of money out of both the courses and the course materials. like any product or trend they can be "hot" and can also fall out of favour. they can be a good foot in the door though. also, sometimes like degrees, if everyone in a certain field has a specific cert, you ended up needing to have it, otherwise people think theres something wrong with you.

anyway, thats quite a long ramble, im happy to expand on any of the points, and i hope i havent offended anyone, it is my honest opinion of how things seem to be in IT. IT is everywhere, show me a modern business that does not use computers. hmm, i dont think my local fish and chip shop does, but from the real easte agent in the corner store down the street to the biggest investment bank in the world, it is everywhere now and there is always demand for good people.

i guess from this i could summarise by saying: instead of chasing the money, find something you really like, and are really passionate about, and let it consume you, be it programming, plumbing or lawyering. things will always change and progress, and maybe your skills become obsolete, if you have a genunine interest in the area, you'll have the motivation to move along with the industry. im sure theres experts on slide rulers who made a good living working on calculators ;) and theres probably some that could never let go and got left behind. if you find something you personally like, and work hard at being on of the best at it, in the end you'll be a lot happier, and the money side will probably work itself out. and if it doesn't you'll have the motivation and courage to find a way to make the money side work out, because of your inherent passion for it.

Great post Pete, im in IT and I agree 100% with you sentiments.
I guess i sit between interest in the subject and the $$$
pieman

most poeple wouldnt stick there finger in a power socket!
Fortunatly that's one of the first things they taught us at TAFE in first year :D

I was a sparky for 18 yrs before taking redundancy and changing occupations to photography. I was employed by the NSW Govt in a fairly cushy maintenance roll. When redundancy was offered. I was studying photography as an interest and doing a little bit of photography work. I was put in a position where I had to decide to stay or leave with redundancy. I decided the latter. I have rewired houses, wired new houses and done other domestic installations on the side, which I never really enjoyed. I decided when i left the electrical game that I would avoid it as much as I could. ( i still had to earn a living while establishing my photography career) Ironically one of the very first photography jobs I did was a small job for Telstra where I had to photograph their technicians in a domestic ceiling space showing best OH&S practices. Here I was crawling around in a roof with a camera instead of a pair of pliers :D These days my photography pays me up to 3 times that of a sparky which is great although the work isn't as consistent.

Every year I make sure I renew my electrical contractors licence, just as a bit of insurance. It will obviously come in handy when I start my renos as much as I hate eating dirt & dust in ceilings and under floors :mad:

. Since this a property forum I would become a carpenter with a view to becoming a builder, you could do all your own renos and knockdown rebuilds. You would have access to other tradies at a discounted price. What better way to make money

Greg

Grego said:
. Since this a property forum I would become a carpenter with a view to becoming a builder, you could do all your own renos and knockdown rebuilds. You would have access to other tradies at a discounted price. What better way to make money

Greg

Delegate all the work and just control the process .... leverage your time and that of others to the max.

Think 'guru' seminar presenter..... 300 persons $50 per head for a 2 hr seminar = $7,500 per hour...

kp

yes good idea kp, al la Reno kings or peter spann.

Would probably need a picture of oneself leaning on a red ferrari and another one on a tropical island sipping cocktails at sunset for the marketing brochures.Just to give it a bit of credence

I would be just the guy to hire for the photography of course :D :D

Greg

natmarie73 said:
My sister is also qualified as an electrician, but works with lifts and seems to have no shortage of money. Plenty of areas in this industry to branch out as well.

So your sister is definitely rising up in the world.

Thanks for your replies guys, I have a bit more to think about:)
This is actually "plan d" , but I like to plan ahead just in case.
If you are wondering what the other plans are, well...
Plan A/Stay in same place - learn more different jobs in here and have even more skills. The boss (fortunately) rates me amongst the best on the shift however I get paid more than most here so that may count against me. Also 2 of the jobs I know best are moving to China or India soon .
Invest a bit more money into income producing managed funds...(do that with all options actually)
Plan B/Find another job on day shift within this company (hopefully somewhere close to home - not in the cbd) - pay drop but we could have 1 car instead of 2, my wife could do a little part time work and we could probably go without a few things (no ski holidays :eek: ).
Plan C/ Find similar job elsewhere in another company - would be getting paid a lot less I think...and if all of these fail - go to Plan D.
Plan E would be to move to Brissie and do reno's for a living .....

At least we have no bad debt and some equity to play with, which is prob better than a lot of people here.

pete_w said:
the jobs are the traditional jobs, development, adminstration, consulting etc. the money is there in all of them, if you are good at what you do, and by good i do not mean average, i mean really good. being average is no crime, you can make a comfortable living as a bog standard developer working for an insurance company or something.

i guess from this i could summarise by saying: instead of chasing the money, find something you really like, and are really passionate about, and let it consume you, .

I've been in IT for >10 years in the Business Analysis / Testing space. I am currently looking to get out because I'm bored and because I am over working for organisations - I'd like to control my own destiny. I blame it all on property investment- earning income from NOT getting up and going to work was are real light bulb moment for me - you dont have to work hard - you have to work smart. I got into IT because it paid well and Ididnt have to go bush to get a job (I used to be a geologist). I have been careful to keep my skills broad so I continue to be in demand. I now contract, theres heaps of work, and I earn 6 figures - which is bloody good going in NZ! I have passions but they involve things like ballroom dancing and travel - yes I could scrap a living (maybe) from them - but I might spoil my passion. This way I work an 8 hour day - get paid for any overtime (which I dont do very often) and the bank loves to lend us money to build the property empire.

The OP talks about shiftwork - I suspect you are an operator or on a helpdesk - and yes these functions are vulnerable to outsourcing. I think you quite a few options - if your current employer loves you - then talk to them = what are there options - rather than loosing $100,000's retraining (not the costs but the loss of salary ) why not get them to pay - the hardest thing in IT is changing roles - most hiring manager are stupid (and all recruitment firms) and think you can only do what you have done previously - your current employer is the one who will see retaining you in a different role as lower risk than loosing you entirely.

But I think the key thing is dont just follow your passion for a JOB follow your passion for life - my passion is to own my own time - to be able to travel when I want , to be able to do what I want - aka retirement. Therefore next year I am looking at "retiring" at 45 . If the figures I can always go back contracting , but I expect to be able to earn part-time income from trading shares and from our property investments. Neither shares or properties are a passion - they are means to an end - freedom not to work. Your end may be different - you may want to work - many do - just make sure you have worked out what your absolute ideal lifesyle is - and work back from there . If you do want early retirement IT is not bad place to be, and you probably dont want to waste time retraining.

Just by 2c

Aceyducey said:
So your sister is definitely rising up in the world.

Yes, but the jobs seems to have it's ups and downs :D

I agree with those who say you should find your passion and the money will follow. My passion is trading, and finally I am starting to make some pocket money from it. It is the light at the end of my tunnel!

Nat:)

I am an Instrument Technician

Im probably about the poorest paid one in Australia, this financial year i will gross $69,000.00. I could earn a lot more working in North West Australia around $120,000.00 , but i prefer to live in Melbourne. They only way i could earn more in Melbourne is if someone in the trade retires or dies or wins powerball. Im kind of hoping to be retired within 10 years or 15years absolute max. currently 38.

Good Responses Everyone.

Having IT skills I also lean towards to the electrical trade. Specialists include security tecnicians as this involves being able to program the security system. Everyone needs a security system nowadays.

Avoid fields that are controlled by majors Otis Tyco, Chubb, etc.. such as fire systems , lifts as they pay peanuts and very unionised and a lot paper work.

The trade game involves a lot of paperworks with induction traning, OH&S , safe works method statements, materisal safety data sheets, ongoing training, confined spaces permits, harnesses, etc........I could go on.

Think about the paperwork in your selection.

Peter 147

I've been in IT for >10 years in the Business Analysis / Testing space. I am currently looking to get out because I'm bored and because I am over working for organisations - I'd like to control my own destiny. I blame it all on property investment- earning income from NOT getting up and going to work was are real light bulb moment for me - you dont have to work hard - you have to work smart. I got into IT because it paid well and Ididnt have to go bush to get a job (I used to be a geologist). I have been careful to keep my skills broad so I continue to be in demand. I now contract, theres heaps of work, and I earn 6 figures - which is bloody good going in NZ! I have passions but they involve things like ballroom dancing and travel - yes I could scrap a living (maybe) from them - but I might spoil my passion. This way I work an 8 hour day - get paid for any overtime (which I dont do very often) and the bank loves to lend us money to build the property empire.

The OP talks about shiftwork - I suspect you are an operator or on a helpdesk - and yes these functions are vulnerable to outsourcing. I think you quite a few options - if your current employer loves you - then talk to them = what are there options - rather than loosing $100,000's retraining (not the costs but the loss of salary ) why not get them to pay - the hardest thing in IT is changing roles - most hiring manager are stupid (and all recruitment firms) and think you can only do what you have done previously - your current employer is the one who will see retaining you in a different role as lower risk than loosing you entirely.

But I think the key thing is dont just follow your passion for a JOB follow your passion for life - my passion is to own my own time - to be able to travel when I want , to be able to do what I want - aka retirement. Therefore next year I am looking at "retiring" at 45 . If the figures I can always go back contracting , but I expect to be able to earn part-time income from trading shares and from our property investments. Neither shares or properties are a passion - they are means to an end - freedom not to work. Your end may be different - you may want to work - many do - just make sure you have worked out what your absolute ideal lifesyle is - and work back from there . If you do want early retirement IT is not bad place to be, and you probably dont want to waste time retraining.

Just by 2c

ROTFL - just logged in for the first time in ages and noted this thread was flagged on my CP. Have to laugh because currently Iam trying to use my passion for travel as a way to earn money on the internet. Got paid US$25 for the article in my sig line! Its not exactly paying the rent yet but for the first time in years I am spending hours working because I want to - now if I can just up the pay rate a bit!

The money you can potentially make online is massive... I know people who laugh in the face of investing in property or shares due to the fact that they can invest their money in online advertising and get a 50%+ ROI within days or weeks. Personally I'd like to do both and Im working at it ;)

$25 for an article is awesome, maybe I should start commanding that much :D

On the topic of tradies, my other half recently got accepted into Energy Australia as an apprentice. Their salaries seem to be way above average though every tradie I know earns damn good money, besides mechanics!

Just depends how far outside your comfort zone you are prepared to go. I am an Industrial Electrician (Cert 4 Engineering Electrical ) and do heaps of PLC programming, big installation work, automation type stuff. But for the huge dollars, you gotta be prepared for remoteness, long periods away from loved ones etc. These ARE the reasons that the big biccies are on offer. Also, you can be on an industrial site with >300 people on-site, you are the only sparkie and you are expected to get the plant going again if there is an electrical breakdown. This is why firms value good fault-finding skills. This isn't learnt at Tafe, its learnt from time and knowledge.

JIM

Hmmm, quantity surveying doesn't sound too bad.

Re accounting, the study is excessively boring. And a lot of the jobs are too. But it's very portable ;)

A friend of my folks is a glazier and he makes a mint (runs his own business though, and has a contract replacing broken windows at State run schools in Brisbane ...) - you always have cuts though.

DJ

I'd be interested in hearing from IT pros as to where all the jobs are and what the pay rates are.... some ppl consider the lad at Harvey Norman selling printers to be in IT. And I hear so often that IT ppl are hard to get....but often that is because employers don't want to pay much....

I remember a Welsh programmer guy I met back in 1995 came out here on holidays from working with Boeing in Seattle....he liked the place a lot and decided to register witha couple of employment consultants. Within a week, he had been offered 5 jobs. Incidentally, he said Boeing were inefficient and hopeless to work for. He had been working under some clutz on a project that everyone knew was not going to be used...very demoralizing...

He ended up taking one in Melbourne, where the consultant had been so accomodating, that she put him up in her house for free for a month, and had a relationship with him for about 6..... :) When I caught up with him 4 months after taking the job, he told me he was on $400 an hour on a 6 month full time contract.... But management had just offered him a permanent position on $500 an hour.... As a scuba diving nut, he had also in that time bought a LandCruiser, a 28 foot speed boat, and an apartment.....When I told him bugger, how do I get a bit of that, he informed me his only quals were a 12 month tech course certificate from a Welsh tech college.... And he wasn't outstandingly bright, but reasonably so....he said programming is just getting your head into a logical process of reaching goals. and it is quite undemanding after a few months...boring even.... and this is a true story...I kid you not....

I've been in IT for almost 20 years (7 of which were with Big Blue) and have ridden many ups and downs of the industry. There have been some scary times, especially after the dot.com collapse and massive resulting job cuts a few years ago, but now things have found a happy medium and people with good tech and people facing skills have a relatively assured sense of security.

Regarding remuneration, well as a senior consultant and project leader I can tell you have your friends figures confused. $500 per DAY is quite normal for what we (and the rest of the industry) will pay a qualified experienced locally-based programmer, whereas $500 an HOUR is what the CEO of the company might make (work it out: $500ph x 8hrs x 5days x 52weeks is over a million bucks p.a!!!!). In regard to my own position; I would consider my self near the top of the consultant pecking-order and it's only just in the last year or so that I finally broke through the 1K-a-day barrier - If I could go back to the relative ease of just programming for four times that rate then I, and every other IT specialist in Melbourne, would be forming a great big line outside the HR dept of your mates company.

As for outsourcing, well we do send a lot of our mundane functions (pre-spec development, Net admin, operations) over to India and do get a number of the buggers to come here. I will say they are good workers BUT only if you micro-manage their work, otherwise there is very little initiative. They also have just plain awful customer facing skill (no matter how good their English is) so we avoid direct customer interaction with them. Basically that means if you want to work or are developing yourself in the IT industry you need to make sure that you not only have an excellent (and constantly updated) technical skill set, but also have a unique and comfortable way to deal with the customers your consultancy firm sends you to deal with - If you can balance that combination you will have a very fruitful career in IT for some time yet.

Being a qualified electrician myself, what more can I say other than -

More 'power' to the Sparkies! (pardon the pun);) :eek: