New Toy (investment tool)

Originally posted by Jas
Kevin, I reckon in the US, there'd be a company that solf left handed power tools. do you a deal. I'll distrubute them, you be the model :)

Jas

Me a model - haa haa haa - you haven't seen my photo yet have you Jas.

The irish make left handed clocks don't they:D , maybe we should start looking there. I think you are on a good idea but Jas.

Kev

www.nundahrealestate.com.au

Originally posted by Kevin Hockey
I still have all my fingers, that's more than my Dad can say. ;)

I have lost count of broken fingers from my days on tools.

99% of things droped miss your stellcaps by that much :eek:

First aid guys that faint at the sight of blood arn't much use to you.

Bleeding on hospital floors gets you speedier service.

I would choose Makita as well but Boshe make a mean 9 inch angle grinder ;)

bundy

jas, Maybe you could change your name to Ned Flanders :)

Originally posted by Jas
Kevin, I reckon in the US, there'd be a company that solf left handed power tools. do you a deal. I'll distrubute them, you be the model :)

Jas

I tend to not stick to the one brand.
The best thing to do is to go and talk to the sales team at a few good tool stores (Specialists stores not Bunnings).
Ask the blokes there.
i had one of the last black & Decker commercial cordless drills they made b4 being bought out by Dewalt, $200. Lasted 6 years ( I'm a shopfitter/Carpenter) used the thing every day, even had a holster on my tool belt for it. Replaced it with a Metabo $500+ and have had no end of trouble. So you see it doesn't matter who is more expensive or more colourful, each company specialises.
i now have a Panasonic cordless, Absolutley brilliant.

As for the cordless action.
I hear "Lead rage" etc etc. All you have to do is learn to roll your leads properly and get a power board.
i have two 30m leads a power board, and a number of short leads2-5m. Why do i not bother going fully cordless?

Well, have you ever gone to site, with all your cordless gear, only to find out that none of the batteries are charged?
Or start work and you use all the battery power up by smoko?

the truth is that all of these cordless saws etc suck the juice out of your battery very quickly, which then forces you to resort to leads etc, or i'f you don't have power you waste a day.

How do i know this?
have attempted to renovate a house with a full set of cordless Dewalt (Friends set). Wasted so much time it's not funny.

anyway thats my two bits

Gecho

Gecho

As youd know, a tradesman should have cordless and 240v power tools, for every eventuality. Some guys have cordless, 240v and a small 2kva generator if theyre doing a lot of cottage work for builders in new estates.

How many times have i seen all the tradesman on a site with no power asking the exasperated guy with the generator of they can plug their leads in. It ends up with power boards everywhere and a stack of leads runing to the genset.

Hi guys,
Instead of going from your arm to your elbow , try going from your arm to your foot for your metre loop.For holding it together I have a piece of earth wire wraped around the lead at the plug end,100 mm down from the plug.This stays on the lead when pluged in and is used again and again when finished. hope this helps, steve

tell me about it brains,
i used to be that exasperated guy with a 5kva. Why 5kva? Because of all the other tradies wanting to plug in hehe bastards.
Have since sold the gen, there are ways and means to getting power from alternate sources. Also i don't care about other tradies and their leads and boards. only concerned in getting myself organised. How are some other ways of getting power?
neighbours are a good source, carton a week or pay half elec bill.
Still works out a hell of a lot cheaper than hiring a gen, and the bonus is that you can start at 6am and finish at 11pm with no noise pollution coming from a gen that has just desoved $20 worth of fuel for the day.
I'm not against having cordless tools, it's just that the battery life would suit a tinkerer or handyman. When you get serious with them they tend to let you down.

Gecho

Hello
I recently bought a 14.4V Bosch Jigsaw, and it came with a 14.4 v drill that I did not really want (I already have 4 rechargable drills).
I now use this drill for nearly everything, as it is light, well balanced, and powerful enough to do most jobs, the Dewalt 18v hammer drill is built like a tank and has an amazing amount of torque (for a cordless), however I don't have arms like a body builder and it gets heavy very fast, especialy when working overhead.
For the very big jobs I use my AEG ergomax which is pretty nice, and has a detachable handle to get into tight spaces.