Purchase Mothers Unit

Hi all, hope this is the correct forum for this Q. I am looking for a strategy to buy my mothers home without affecting her pension but release the capital to her.

I want to purchase the unit, she wants to sell it to me :) I thought to put it into a HDT. She needs to remain living in the unit and is happy for me to "buy it from her and just make payments on a monthly basis" I guess it is like vendor finance.

I don't want to charge her rent while I am getting this interest free deal, and want her to continue living in the unit for as long as she wants.

So does anyone have any suggestions on how to structure this purchase to ensure no impact on her, try and ensure that I can still get deductions for any future costs, ie rates (council/water), maintenance etc.

thanks

Norman

I’m no expert on Lease Option but one thing you may not have considered and worth doing so is, if your Mum is on a pension, as a tenant she will receive around $70 (I think) fortnight rent assistance, if she is paying say $100 a week rent. Getting 1 third for free is not too bad a deal. Must have formal rental agreement.

Peter 147.

However I think there is a limit of how much cash she can have in the bank (if sells it to you). Also interest she earns (or notionally earned) reduces her pension after a certain level. She also cannot gift large sums of money to you. Also I guess she cannot transfer the property now to a trust (I bet there are rules about that otherwise everyone would do it). Depending on the value what about she sell it to your HDT for a cheap but "reasonable" price, she also buys a new car and lets you use it (even park it in your driveway), she pays rent to the HDT at reasonable market value. Anyway distribute the money as much as possible around to avoid the income and asset limits. ( Remember you can always give some cash to her each month to help your monther with costs....nothing wrong with a good son helping his monther).