Victorian Police Force as a career

I have been thinking about joining up. I'm 43 yo which isn't a problem and i'm fit.

My biggest hurdle would be my self belief or lack of it :rolleyes: that I could get thru all the exams and training.

Its something I have always wanted to do but have be stopped by this lack of confidence.

Any thoughts???

GG

Hi GG,

My only concerns would be:
(a) the hours & working NYE, XMas, weekends shift work etc.
(b) police corruption...& possibly having to 'grass'' on someone you work with if you saw/knew something bad was going on

Otherwise, you appear to be smart, you have life experience that a lot of the younger ones wouldn't have & you may progress a lot faster through the ranks.

Can I ask what work you do now I why you want a change?

Do you think a change will be the answer as you've already tried various things and not stuck them out.

Generally, I sense a lot of discontent in your posts.

The reason I raise this point is because it could be that you're depressed and are unaware.

If you think this may be the case then it's best dealing with the problem by visiting your Dr.

It's just an aweful shame when this is the case and people don't seek help.

Just on another note, re your confidence, when I am feeling that way (self doubt etc), I tell myself, have a look at some of the nincompoops/incompetants doing that job now...compared to them, of course I could do that!

after watching that woeful recruits show on tv recently im convinced any mug can become a copper.

its what you do after you become a copper that really counts.

i have several friends who are coppers and i dont particularly rate some stuff that goes on behind the scenes that they skite about often.

each to their own but i think a more personal reward would be ambulance paramedic...

way too many temptations being a copper these days and the public generally has little respect for them because of the minority that do corrupt.

will open your eyes up to the real world though

after watching that woeful recruits show on tv recently im convinced any mug can become a copper.

its what you do after you become a copper that really counts.

i have several friends who are coppers and i dont particularly rate some stuff that goes on behind the scenes that they skite about often.

each to their own but i think a more personal reward would be ambulance paramedic...

way too many temptations being a copper these days and the public generally has little respect for them because of the minority that do corrupt.

will open your eyes up to the real world though

Hmmm tough decision

Cop attending mostly volitile domestic disputes or an ambo attending 70% drug overdoses.

Why a cop? and at you age??

Can I ask what work you do now I why you want a change?

Do you think a change will be the answer as you've already tried various things and not stuck them out.

Generally, I sense a lot of discontent in your posts.

The reason I raise this point is because it could be that you're depressed and are unaware.

If you think this may be the case then it's best dealing with the problem by visiting your Dr.

It's just an aweful shame when this is the case and people don't seek help.

Thanks for you response.

I have been in the same industry for all of my working life and its time for a change.

Yes, there has been a few things i haven't continued with (with good reasons)

As a 40 something old male, I have had a full lube and oil change in the last 12 months and at that time, I also questioned depression.....I have come thru with a clean bill of health.

Call it a mid life crisis.........I just need a change.

And why the police force at my age................because I have a lot to offer.

GG

Your name says "Gordon Gekko - Man of Action" so what are you waiting for? Get out there and have a go before you really are too old.
Leave it just a few more years and it will be too late and you will always be plagued forever with the What if I had........., Why didn't I ............, I should have........... I could have been **** by now if I'd..........

Maybe working out the actual need you're trying to fulfill will help you decide. Is the actual need you are trying to fulfill a personal one like Job security? Better pay? A new challenge? Being part of a group?

When you've worked that out then ask yourself if fulfilling your personal need will impact on those around you that you care about and then ask yourself what's more important.

Is it a dream or a calling? Sometimes it works out that some things were better left as dreams, other times dreams become reality and turn out to be amazing. Only you know the answers to these things.

I'm sure you'll do your DD and find out all the facts, as well as talk to a few actual coppers, but after that if you still want to give it a go and you have the support of the family - why not!

Well I say go for it, age is no barrier, it is never to late.

My girlfriend changed her career a few years ago to a police officer, would never have picked her as a cop. She absolutely loves the job.

My feeling is that you know that you want a change, but you're not quite sure what that change should be. I think its fine to pursue some different opportunities and see what pans out.
I did a real estate qualification a couple of years ago, when i was in btw jobs. But when I got offered a job and saw the salary, and how difficult it would be to get the commissions, I ended up back in the industry I had come from, where my hourly rate was higher than the daily rate I'd be paid in RE. But I did manage to find a new job within the industry soon after which turned out to be absolutely perfect for me.
Sometimes, you just need to knock on the doors and see what opens up... it may be different to what you expect, but sometimes when you are trying to get from point a to point b, you have to go through point c first!

cheers Pen

Thanks for you response.

I have been in the same industry for all of my working life and its time for a change.

Yes, there has been a few things i haven't continued with (with good reasons)

As a 40 something old male, I have had a full lube and oil change in the last 12 months and at that time, I also questioned depression.....I have come thru with a clean bill of health.

Call it a mid life crisis.........I just need a change.

And why the police force at my age................because I have a lot to offer.

GG

That's good to hear.

As for joining the police force, I say go for it.

What have you got to lose?

I think you lose far more not giving something you'd like to do a go.

Sounds fun GG!

Been a few folks around here done the same thing, one guy just got some life experiences under his belt, working in different jobs, another around the same age as yourself, had been a mechanic, then farmhand, and another, her kids grown, she had always wanted to join....all of them did this pre warm up thing, now I don't know specifically if this was the 'exact' pre coach' but at least you get the gist of that there is some assistance, the mechanic guy was not real strong literate wise, but he took his time and worked at it, did well, really appreciated the extra tuition:

http://www.vu.edu.au/courses/preparation-for-the-police-entrance-examination

another:

http://www.primemotionfitness.com.au/home.html

http://www.nmit.edu.au/studyareas/police_preparation

They are just some examples of the 'pre' course-I know nothing about them, if you want specifics I can track them down? Find out which one he used.

ambo attending 70% drug overdoses.

i'd be no good as an ambo - "drug overdose? lets stop for coffee on the way?"

as for police - i too wanted to be a police officer all my teen years, but was talked out of it by my parents. is something i do regret, however now with a young family, having to be away for 6 months training and the odd working hours i think i'll give it a miss.

if i didn't have family i'd be in like a shot.

are there any jobs in the control room? - i have a friend who works on the "000" phone centre for the police force, 3 x 12hr nights, as a police civilian.

alternatively - i have a brother in law that works in IT for the federal police. he is often involved in raids and processing seized equipment. he really enjoys his job but some of the tales he can tell (which aren't many) are fascinating and hair raising without being life threatening.

I have been thinking about joining up. I'm 43 yo which isn't a problem and i'm fit.

My biggest hurdle would be my self belief or lack of it :rolleyes: that I could get thru all the exams and training.

Its something I have always wanted to do but have be stopped by this lack of confidence.

Any thoughts???

GG

G'day Gordon Gekko,

I can only give you a QLD gov employee perspective but here goes.

I'm sure that you have the knowledge and life experience. Some officers are talented at microsoft excel documents and others are great at talking to violent people. Not many people are good at both. You just need to be competent at each task.

Forget confidence, it will come with experience. Fitness is not required. Those days have changed. Police drive cars and spend their days typing.

The problem with the current recruiting process is that they pursue education rather than physical attributes. This improves the IQ of the service, but not many people with double degrees want to be spat on for 20 something dollars an hour. More and more officers are trying to find a non confrontational role. I don't blame them.

The pay rate is low, but very secure. If you like to learn, then the Policing process is a never ending learning task.

Corruption is nonexistent as a general rule. But humans will be humans. A recent corruption investigation identified that Police receive half price maccas whilst working. How times have changed. That's a pretty good review. A lot of other industries could not withstand this scrutiny.

I am working Christmas Eve, Christmas day, boxing day, new years eve. Are you willing to make this sacrifice?

If you want to see what happens at night when others sleep, I recommend you have a go at the job. However, don't take it personally when people lie to you. It's human nature. If you want to see the full range of human emotion, give the job a go. Some things you can forget. Others you cannot.

As a general rule, coppers get great superannuation, but the trade off is that you have a mandatory retirement age.

There are times that you’ll be frustrated at the lack of resources and funding. There will be other times that you can help someone by just listening.

Give it a go mate, and see what you think.

The other reason why the public (criminals) have so little respect for the cops is because they know the cops are virtually powerless these days.

A number of years ago, if a group of young blokes (and girls) started mouthing off to cops and being disrespectful, swearing at them, throwing things at them and worse; attacking them physically, the cops would single out the leader and give him a deserved hiding in front of his idiot mates, and tell them to go home and don't cross their paths again.

That'd be the end of it pretty much, and the kids would rethink their behaviour a bit. A bit of community justice.

Now, a cop is pretty much out of a job for even rough-housing a crim as they are escorted to the divvy van. The lawyers are called in immediately to uphold the "victim's" rights.

And, god forbid that the cop has to protect himself and injure or kill someone who has been warned several times; jeeezus does the media love it and make it out to be a cop bashing.

Occasionally the cops aren't perfect, and instead of maybe a smack across the ears and a bit of a talking to, they tazer the fool, but ya's know what I mean.

These reality shows where they travel around filming the cops doing their work only glamourise and encourage people to be disrespectful and belligerent. People watch these shows, and the cops have to be as nice as pie to some rude worm, because the cameras are on them.

It's a double-edged sword; the cops have to be on their best behavior, while the perps can act out as much as they like, knowing the cops won't do too much.

Thank you everybody for all the feedback.

I have a yearning to make a difference, I enjoy helping people. I have been in retail for 20 years, I know the "general public", i know how nice they can be and how horrible some people can be.

My biggest fear is the academic side of things, it's been a long time since i have written a 2 page essay :eek:

As suggested by OO, there are a lot of courses out there to do before hand.

GG

GG

Ask yourself this double pronged question....

"Are prepared to work every public holiday as a policeman on duty and not be able to take holidays with your family in the school holidays for the next 10 years or so?"

In other words your wife will have to manage all your kids through the holidays for the next 10 years and you will have to take the kids out of school for a family holiday because there will be no long weekends away together.

If you answer Yes then join up.