What's happening in Eagleby QLD

Soemthing interesting popped up and am considering purchasing. Was hoping anyone could share their expereince of this suburb, is it a still a rough place or is it slowly converting as the new development starts to ease in?
Are their any new businesses moving into the area, e.g. Bunnings, Coles etc.
What's the overall feeling of the place?
Anything at all about the area would help.

Thanks again to this forum.

Funnily enough - I was speaking to someone yesterday who is mad keen on Eagleby and was looking at buying a house and land package as an investment.

I don't know any more than that, but it's always nice to know that someone else is contemplating doing the same as you!!!!

Mal.

hello, I was thinking of buying my first investment there but optted for edens landing. As for eagleby there are some rougher housing com homes close to the highway but there are some really nice homes on big blocks there too. the further you get away from the h/way you get into some newer homes on small blocks with narrow streets (like complex) before you get to the newest homes on resonable blocks. I too am thinking of buying here, girlfriends mum lives there. As for the big companies- coles, big w, mitre 10 mega, woolies, A-mart are all in Beenleigh. this is more the hub and appears to be getting a bit flasher in main st with a nice cafe. with all the new industry happening at yatala and being 1/2 way between brisbane and gold coast I am keeping an eye on it.

Thanks for your response guys.
Yeah it is nice when people are thinking alike.
I've also noticed that the growth in Eagleby has exceeded that of Beenleigh by more than double. That always helps!

Hi preacher naric,

Eagleby has in the past been tarnished by its reputation, but currently looks like being one of those sleeper/uglyduckling suburbs that has potential for revitalisation and development.

Eagleby is located between the Albert and Logan rivers so you might want to do a flood check before any purchases. A positive though is that Logan river does have some lovely parks on its banks.

Eagleby does have its own shopping center but am not sure who the main anchor tenants are. As Skipster mentioned Ealelby is 5 minutes across the highway from Beenleigh which has an extensive range of shops and services with major redevelopment planned for the CBD. There is a huge roundabout under the highway for car and pedestrian access between both suburbs.
Beenleigh is also on the train line allowing for easy commute north to Brisbane (including airport) and south to Gold Coast for sun and surf.

Another way to find out more information for any proposed infrastructure and development in Eagleby is to check out the Gold Coast City Council website below:

http://www.goldcoast.qld.gov.au/default.aspx

Hope this helps.

AnneDe

Thanks for that AnneDe.
Would I be right in saying that Eagleby would be a suburb that might experience short term growth, shorter than say Beenleigh since Beenleigh would act as the hub for both those suburbs. i.e. I would expect Beenleigh to sustain a longer growth than Eagleby because of it's larger business infrastructure?

I still think Eagleby qualifies as an 'ugly duckling' suburb, or to put it less nicely a 'hole'. I have visited there periodically over the last 2 years checking up on it. It is developing though not at what I would call a fast rate.

Geographically it's a star in the making, poorer cousin of Beenleigh, smack back in the middle of the Bris-GC growth corridor, government mandated development restrictions on the canefields around. Plus a few other things going for it.

The question in my mind is how long will it take to transform from ugly duckling into swan? Personally I think it's still a long way away. There is no way I would want to live here for any length of time, but like any area there is no doubt good money to be made with the use of specialist local knowledge.

Thanks for that AnneDe.
Would I be right in saying that Eagleby would be a suburb that might experience short term growth, shorter than say Beenleigh since Beenleigh would act as the hub for both those suburbs. i.e. I would expect Beenleigh to sustain a longer growth than Eagleby because of it's larger business infrastructure?

Hi preacher_naric,

Here is a link to South East Queensland Regional Plan - Part F.

http://www.oum.qld.gov.au/?id=478

In map 9, 'Principal Activity Centres' (the red dots) have been identified as the key nodes in each of the local governement areas of Sth East QLD. More details are explained in document link if you have time to read it. As can be seen Beenleigh is identifed as one of these key business/retail/services hubs.

With regards to short or long term growth in Eagelby, I'm no expert but can only go by observations that Eagelby is currently cheaper in comparision to the other side of the M1 motorway.

AnneDe

G'day AnneDe and others,

Good (and interesting) comment.
AnneDe said:
With regards to short or long term growth in Eagelby, I'm no expert but can only go by observations that Eagleby is currently cheaper in comparision to the other side of the M1 motorway.
One thing that has confounded me for years is that Tanah Merah has a similar "cheaper in comparision to the other side of the M1 motorway". I really like Tanah Merah, but it is on the West of the F1. And Shailer Park, et al (on the Eastern side), continue to have more favourable prices than Tanah Merah. Using words of others, "it just is". And I guess I need to get over it.

Then, less than 2Km South, in the case of Eagleby, it is exactly opposite - it is on the East of the F1, and Beenleigh is on the West. But Beenleigh has been operating far longer than Eagleby. Going back a mere 12 or so years, Eagleby was where those would go who couldn't afford to buy in Woodridge !! :eek:

What is Eagleby like now? I can't say, as I NEVER have reason to visit Eagleby, whereas I often visit Beenleigh. Is that MY short-sightedness? Or is this part of "it just is".

It's an interesting conundrum. I might have to force myself to visit Eagleby - it must be at least 10 years since I've been there. Watch this space - I may well learn something..... :D

Hi Les,

Have been thinking along the same lines. Am also wondering why southern suburbs generally east of the M1 motorway except for Eagleby are more expensive than west side of M1.

Geographically speaking, Eagleby is in a good easterly position with 2 river frontages providing direct access to Moreton Bay. It also has lots of open green space (went there for a drive a few weeks ago), and is close to major transport links and Yatala industrial Park.

While in Eagleby I observed a mix of housing, with some of a poorer quality (possibly original Housing Com), but also saw new house/townhouse constructions happening.

Just had a quick look at realestate.com. It seems that some of that open space within the boundaries of Eagleby is earmarked for residenital/commerical development.

But according to the SE QLD regional plan the area extending between Eagleby and Moreton Bay is designated 'Regional Landscape and Rural production Area' in other words can't be developed. Could be an interesting suburb to watch...........:)

AnneDe

Just a thought - does anyone living locally to Eagleby know whether it has a particular 'name' for itself (eg. where the poor people who cannot afford the nice places go)?

The reason that I ask is that there is a fair bit of residential re-development going on in Queanbeyan (just across the border from Canberra in NSW) but most Canberra people would still not consider buying there because of its "strugle town" reputation. I live in the suburb next-door to Queanbeyan (also in NSW), that was built in the last 10-15 years, and it has attracted wealthy executive-type residents who would not consider living in Queanbeyan but who pay high prices for real-estate 5km from Queanbeyan.

Does Eagleby have any sort of similar reputation that could prevent people from buying perfectly reasonable housing that is close to an attractive suburb?

(PS. I know geoffw lives in Queanbeyan - no offence intended!!! ;) )

Mal.

(PS. I know geoffw lives in Queanbeyan - no offence intended!!! ;) )
While not being able to answer your question, my Jerra property has performed about the same as my Queanbeyan property. And they have both performed nicely. So no offence taken.

And of course, my Queanbeyan "flock of bats" which was bought purely for cashflow has done very well in the capital growth stakes.

I was originally reluctant to buy Queanbeyan units because of the perceived stigma and lack of growth (as I thought). There were times when Queanbeyan units dropped back a lot. But they ended up vastly outperforming my expectations.

But a stigma is built into the price. And a stigma overcome is an opportunity for growth.

I changed my 1BR "losers units" (the cheapest non caravan park accommodation in the Canberra region) into classier furnished units- with the standard of tenants improving drastically.

And I missed out on a great opportunity some years ago, because I turned down my nose at "poor" Narrabundah. People we knew were selling an old fibro on a big block. I didn't want it. That part of Narrabundah had a lot more stigma than Queanbeyan ever did. It probably would have outperformed Queanbeyan.

Be aware of the stigmas. But don't let them stop you.

Thanks for your insight geoffw - you make a good point about Narrabundah (would be quite a nice piece of land to own in today's market).

I shall beware the stigma.

Mal.

Geoff,

You are spot on about Narrabundah. It's amazing how high the UCV of blocks there are! When I 1st came to Canberra in 1995, I soon found out that it was simply known for its H/C and unemployed/lower socio economic population. Wish I had of bought there in 1996 instead of Chisholm!

Mind you I did ok anyway.

jase

You are spot on about Narrabundah. It's amazing how high the UCV of blocks there are! When I 1st came to Canberra in 1995, I soon found out that it was simply known for its H/C and unemployed/lower socio economic population. Wish I had of bought there in 1996 instead of Chisholm!

Mind you I did ok anyway.
Mind you, on the "poor" side of Narrabundah, which I passed through a few days ago for the first time in a long time, it still has a very high hoon/lout element. The older houses are starting to be replaced with newer, but it's not an area I would want to live in just yet.

Hi Jase,

When we moved to Canberra 25 years ago we lived in Narrabundah mainly because it was all we could afford. Even back then it had a bad reputation because of the large amount of housing commission houses and the tenants they tend to attract, and as Geoff said, there are still parts of it I wouldn't want to live in.

We were glad to get out of there and move to Chisholm :D

The good news for you Jase ... well according to the auctioneer doing his pre auction rant at a house in Chisholm the other day is ... That with the 7.5 mill revamp of the Chisholm Centre, Chisholm is bound to become the next Manuka ... I won't be holding my breath :rolleyes:

Phil

Phil,

I ended up selling my Chisholm property around Dec '03 but did ok in making tax free CG of 167% in 7 years :)

Now live all the way over in Giralang with the wife. I'm now very envious of Chisholm shops as ours have all closed down:mad: and I recall zuccini bros having the best pizza in canberra!

jase

Going off topic here

Sorry guys but you seem to be drifting off topic. I know it was a old post .

I have just brought in Eagleby. Paid 215K for it. I need to spend about 10k on paint etc. Similar houses are selling for around the 240 to 270 mark. Rent should be around the 250 to 270 mark.

I think Eagleby does have a way to go, however government housing is down from around 20 percent in the 90`s to about 10 percent now.

I think the low income earners will get pushed out eventually. There is also a lot of retirement villages getting built there. I wouldnt have thought they would put retires where they couldnt feel safe??

My impressions of Eagleby

Hey All,

I checked out Beenleigh and Eaglby only yesterday and have stumbled accross your post.

There is large pockets of the suburb being developed with smaller townhouse and retirement housing. There is also a new parkland and oval aswell as what looks to be a pretty new pub! :)

I found access to the suburb abit restricted only having the one real entry/exit and the areas that were bad were pretty bad!

Also one of the major things I noticed was that there is a water treatment plant down on the river area which is central (although they try to make not) to the town. Back in Perth suburbs that contain a water treatment plant can be very undesirable, and although experiencing growth never seem to lose that stigma. Knowing abit about the plants if they dont have the technology to "scrub" the air then things get pretty stinky :mad:

Beenleigh def does have a good feel to it and after looking at some 4 suburbs around the logan area that have experienced pretty good growth it was a breathe of fresh air!!!

Eagleby might be a little rough in areas but out of all the suburbs I have seen including Ipswich, Darra, Logan suburbs, Roachedale area and Beenleigh area it does have the most happening as far as new development but I couldnt see that the older properties where going through any transition (being renovated) which would make things more appealing to me. But still this might come.

QL