Doctors and their Income

Registrars are usually rung before the consultant is rung. It is exceptionally rare to see consultants after hours - they are the seven figure players and need their sleep. It is more cost effective for hospitals to use six figure, younger registrars.

If someone gets called at home it's because it's serious, and why it's the consultant that gets called (they don't come in if they can advise or come in the morning though).

Many nurses have had their backside kicked for not doing so.

I know a 24yo who, with overtime and other payments, earns more than your registrar. He is away from home for long periods of time though.

No study required. There are plenty of options to earn good money.

We had a young lad stay over the other night... earns 180K to 190K driving a dredge in QLD.

His elders tell me he's saving almost everything he earns.

Trained for a month in France on a simulator, paid for by the company.

Just don't ask me what a dredge is or what he actually does :confused:.

@ weg yeah those jobs are out there. theres oil and gas construction jobs in WA which are paying sparkys 200k a year with no responsibility lol.

As someone halfway through a post-grad medical degree, I can say that almost every statement that the OP has made is grossly incorrect. I was tempted to provide corrections to his/her very imaginative fantasies ie. the ones that other posters haven't already poked large holes in, but I'm not convinced that this isn't the work of a very large troll.

Reminds me of a saying I once heard: "Never argue with an idiot. They will just drag you down to their level and beat you with experience." :)

As someone halfway through a post-grad medical degree, I can say that almost every statement that the OP has made is grossly incorrect. I was tempted to provide corrections to his/her very imaginative fantasies ie. the ones that other posters haven't already poked large holes in, but I'm not convinced that this isn't the work of a very large troll.

Reminds me of a saying I once heard: "Never argue with an idiot. They will just drag you down to their level and beat you with experience." :)

Thank you Mokey for being able to speak with some authority. Our neighbour is specialist (who is home well before dinner every night) and his son is studying medicine, and what I know from discussions with them is nothing like the stuff that China is spouting.

And can I just add that I would most certainly NOT want to be treated in a hospital or in private practice by someone who has entered medicine simply for the money :rolleyes:.

I've been looking at this forum for ages but first time poster.

I'm am a doctor so think I can comment on this thread - at least from my experience.
My base salary when I was an intern was just under $25 an hour. At that time some approx 6yrs ago, a graduate teacher earned more per annum. A friend who was 20, no degree, working at ALDI earned more than I did.

I spent one year working in general practice as a registrar. I would doubt there are many GPs outside of the large bulk billing superclinics who see 50 patients a day and earn the figures China is talking about. As a GP unless you are a partner who has sunk a good deal of capital into a practice you work as a contractor. This means you earn a percentage of billings. As a registrar you earn something like 43-50% of billings, depending on seniority. I was pretty much flogged and saw probably around 30 patients in a day (830-6pm, often working through lunch). Many, many GPs will bulk bill kids, elderly and DSP/unemployed on health care cards, so I think that China's figures are highly inflated and not representative of the majority.

I'm now working in a hospital doing a specialty program. Most programs take a minimum of 6-7 years post intern level. That means study and overtime on top of your day job for that many years. The base salaries go up each year till you reach registrar 4 level (NSW anyway) then plateau until you become a consultant - which involves taking multiple costly exams. Overtime varies depending on specialty, hospital rural vs urban. For most specialties you are required to move around hospitals and usually to a rural area for part of your training. You must belong to your specialty college which will have fees and run courses you have to attend. All that coupled with registration, insurance, exam fees etc could add up to 5-10 thousand spent on training out of your own pocket per year. I would guess most of my colleagues at my level earn between 90,000 - 140,000 depending on how much overtime.

In regards to oncall - as a registrar I do plenty of this. Most times I'm on call I have to go in, most times for many hours - often working 18-24 hours in a row with no break. It's rare for a consultant to come in overnight. I usually just ring them if require advice.

When I am finished as a consultant in the public system I can look forward to a salary of around $180,000. (Thats after 5 yrs of med school and 8 yrs of post med school training). In the private sector rates would be higher but you have to build up your practice.

There are easier ways to make a lot of money. Unless you have a dedication and desire to help people and enjoy health then I reckon you are crazy to do medicine. Money certainly wasn't what I did medicine for and that still is the case. I plan to use property and other options to build wealth.

I've a mate working 2 on 2 off drilling. Less than 12mths in, no previous experience, wage+bonus +100k (hates working in nt though)
Another 4 yrs in, deputy in coal mine, 200k+.(lives 15mins from work in lake mac)
Another first yr trainee coal miner 80k 6mths previous u/g exp as tradie (lives 15 mins from work in lake mac)
All under 25.
Not the greatest conditions but good way to build income quickly then build wealth (if your smart about it). Beats studying for 6 yrs

A medical degree is the surest way for a 23 year old to earn a six figure salary. This does include a 60-70 hour working week.
Split it down the middle, 65 x 52 = 3380 hours
$100k / 3380 hours = $29.50 an hour

I've known Maccas managers on a higher hourly rate and if they really wanted to they would be able to pickup work elsewhere part time and achieve around a $100k salary (via same 65-70 hour work week). Personally I prefer a better life/work balance.

I was a shift manager at Maccas within 12 months of starting in the kitchen and had senior responsibilities within another 12 months, so 2 year turn around to a similar rate to a doctor. This was 10 years ago now, but assume progression would be this straight forward for those suited to the role today.

Thank you Mokey for being able to speak with some authority. Our neighbour is specialist (who is home well before dinner every night) and his son is studying medicine, and what I know from discussions with them is nothing like the stuff that China is spouting.

And can I just add that I would most certainly NOT want to be treated in a hospital or in private practice by someone who has entered medicine simply for the money :rolleyes:.

Ah, but doctors are taught and certainly, the best doctors develop excellent bed side manner. The best doctors would never come across as being interested in anything as mundane as money. I am not saying that doctors are practising just for the money, just that medicine is one of the surest ways to generate a good income compared to other tertiary education endeavours.

Although i have huge respect for doctors in this day and age your better off leaving school as soon as possible and doing a 4 year apprenticeship.

just that medicine is one of the surest ways to generate a good income compared to other tertiary education endeavours.

I would agree with that.

I would add that many of the more financially succesful medical folk would be so even if they werent in medical and allied work.

I've been looking at this forum for ages but first time poster.

I'm am a doctor so think I can comment on this thread - at least from my experience.
My base salary when I was an intern was just under $25 an hour. At that time some approx 6yrs ago, a graduate teacher earned more per annum. A friend who was 20, no degree, working at ALDI earned more than I did.

I spent one year working in general practice as a registrar. I would doubt there are many GPs outside of the large bulk billing superclinics who see 50 patients a day and earn the figures China is talking about. As a GP unless you are a partner who has sunk a good deal of capital into a practice you work as a contractor. This means you earn a percentage of billings. As a registrar you earn something like 43-50% of billings, depending on seniority. I was pretty much flogged and saw probably around 30 patients in a day (830-6pm, often working through lunch). Many, many GPs will bulk bill kids, elderly and DSP/unemployed on health care cards, so I think that China's figures are highly inflated and not representative of the majority.

I'm now working in a hospital doing a specialty program. Most programs take a minimum of 6-7 years post intern level. That means study and overtime on top of your day job for that many years. The base salaries go up each year till you reach registrar 4 level (NSW anyway) then plateau until you become a consultant - which involves taking multiple costly exams. Overtime varies depending on specialty, hospital rural vs urban. For most specialties you are required to move around hospitals and usually to a rural area for part of your training. You must belong to your specialty college which will have fees and run courses you have to attend. All that coupled with registration, insurance, exam fees etc could add up to 5-10 thousand spent on training out of your own pocket per year. I would guess most of my colleagues at my level earn between 90,000 - 140,000 depending on how much overtime.

In regards to oncall - as a registrar I do plenty of this. Most times I'm on call I have to go in, most times for many hours - often working 18-24 hours in a row with no break. It's rare for a consultant to come in overnight. I usually just ring them if require advice.

When I am finished as a consultant in the public system I can look forward to a salary of around $180,000. (Thats after 5 yrs of med school and 8 yrs of post med school training). In the private sector rates would be higher but you have to build up your practice.

There are easier ways to make a lot of money. Unless you have a dedication and desire to help people and enjoy health then I reckon you are crazy to do medicine. Money certainly wasn't what I did medicine for and that still is the case. I plan to use property and other options to build wealth.

There are also much harder ways to make money and most medical graduates have the opportunity to arrive at 180k as a basic, bare minimum wage a few years after graduating medical school and qualifying as a specialist.

The hardest years are the registrar training years when you perceive your six figure income to be a lot of work for your hours.

You will find that once you qualify as a specialist and do set up in private practice, the earnings will truly amaze you. Registrars in training do not appreciate the gold mine that is at the end of the road as a fully qualified specialist.

It depends on which speciality you practise in but many specialities will provide take home pay of seven figures even if you are only moderately successful in your private practice. You are earning as much as a CEO of some publically listed companies who are responsible for several hundred staff and multi-million budgets.

I've a mate working 2 on 2 off drilling. Less than 12mths in, no previous experience, wage+bonus +100k (hates working in nt though)
Another 4 yrs in, deputy in coal mine, 200k+.(lives 15mins from work in lake mac)
Another first yr trainee coal miner 80k 6mths previous u/g exp as tradie (lives 15 mins from work in lake mac)
All under 25.
Not the greatest conditions but good way to build income quickly then build wealth (if your smart about it). Beats studying for 6 yrs

These guys will never reach much more than that in yearly earnings. Certainly, there is no potential to reach seven figures yearly. And they do not work in airconditioned comfort.

I would agree with that.

I would add that many of the more financially succesful medical folk would be so even if they werent in medical and allied work.

Definitely true. However, if we compared the moderately successful doctor to the moderately successful electrician or engineer, the doctor has a much better guarantee of solid reliable six figure income from day 1 after leaving uni for at least the next 30 or 40 years.

So the medical graduate has the guarantee of income in the top 1% of the population but no guarantee of becoming wealthy as that is due to many other factors.

If someone gets called at home it's because it's serious, and why it's the consultant that gets called (they don't come in if they can advise or come in the morning though).

Many nurses have had their backside kicked for not doing so.

There is a common public misconception that when they go to a public hospital, they will be treated by a specialist. Nothing can be further from the truth. If you go to a public hospital as a public patient, and you need your appendix our or a Cesarean to get your baby out, you will almost be certainly treated by a registrar - a fully qualified doctor but a specialist in training. Now, registrars can come at all levels - some may have never done an appendix before and you may be their first case. The public patient never really knows. Sure, the consultant is available for phone support or may be asked to come in but it is at the discretion of the registrar on that day.

So if you are living in a mansion, have income from 800k of investments and the government not only gives you 30k a year in pension

The govt gives you no where near that amount of pension with 800k of assets outside the home. Not even close China. :eek:

With two doctors now having posted their experience, China still seems to be sticking to his guns :confused:.

One purports to a medical student and the other is a doctor in some form of post-grad training. I don't think that they fully appreciate the earning potential of their profession. Sort of like being a passenger in a jet plane and wanting to fly the plane.

Incredible. At least now they will. :rolleyes: