How tight is this?

At lunch today, I challenged my own belief set in a way I've never done before......No, I didn't go buy a Merc E350 Elegance, French Chateau, or $15,000 Trek road bike with electronic gears.

I went into a Salvos store and bought a 2nd hand jacket and suit!!!!
Never bought used clothes before, ever.....and it is something I've had principles against doing all my adult life. Though when we were grommets, hand made shirts and hand me downs were de rigueur.

So why did I do it? Well, Along with staying up late for several nights a week on the lappy, and spending less time on my feet in clinic this year, I've put on a bit of weight.....and now my wardrobe fits me like Matt Preston's fits him. :(

But I've got a lot of formal commitments coming up and have started watching my diet again.....so couldn't bring myself to pop down to JH Cutler in Sydney and fork out for another two tailored bespoke numbers that won't fit when I burn the fat....

After inspecting a few off the rack retailers and hire places, I wasn't impressed. I think the $200+ tailored hire cost knocked me over. I hadn't hired a suit since the 70s......

That hire cost got me thinking about the Salvos....wouldn't hurt to have a quick squiz. So after reassuring myself the last owner didn't die in the clothes, in I goes....Immediately I am distracted by a deaf bag lady regular bashing the staff's ears about nothing in particular......I walk straight to the suit section trying not to make eye contact with two shadey twitchy guys fondling the ties....there's about 20 odd suits....assorted sizes in no particular order....90% of them are navy blue.....then there's this quite contemporary brown tweed jacket and a silver/grey single breast suit.....I go try them on and am a little put out that they fit pretty much spot on......bugger me.....The jacket was $7 and the suit was $15. :eek: