Asbestos Removal

10m2 is the legal limit for an unlicensed operator here in NSW too.

36m2 in WA? That's generous, but if it's legal, then why not?

My experience with removing fibro, EPA, and fibro removalist specialist - as you guessed there is a story:

I was having an enclosed veranda opened up and returned to original state. I arranged to help carpenter do the work and took an appropriate mask along in case cement sheeting was fibro - installed around mid 80's. Tenant still in house and only marginally affected by being asked not to use veranda during work.

Carpenter looked over cement sheeting and declared not fibro. I did not use mask while helping him pick up sheeting pieces as removed ....which I stacked against side fence out of the way until I got a skip bin the following week for some other rubbish. A**hole tenant not only ignored written advise not to use veranda and even crawled under timber battens over front door preventing access just to show he would do what he liked. He also called EPA who rocked up one day while I was installing new front fence and carried on like I had leaked a million gallons of crude into the ocean. I let him have his say then let him know what the a**hole tenant was like. He eventually accepted that I had good intentions and had relied on carpenters experience to determine if fibro or not. The EPA reckoned the sheeting looked like fibro and took some samples away to be tested. I asked what he wanted me to do as I did not want any trouble - he said he would delay submitting his report for 24 hours which would give me time to get an asbestos removal company to remove from site before the wheels had turned too far.

I rang around and found a company who could do it - $300. I expected to see a truck come out with "Asbestos Removal" written all over it and guys suited up like on TV renovation shows. Two guys in an old unmarked Hilux turned up wearing shorts and green fluro shirts. As most of the sheeting was broken up into smaller pieces they said they would bag it and the couple of smallish sheets remaining would be wrapped. They bagged it all, including the sheets which they just broke in half and in half again, spraying with a small trigger action spray bottle of water. What a joke!

I rang the EPA guy who I had well on side by now and gave the companies details and invoice number to confirm job had been done .....and he asked their asbestos removal number ....which was not shown on invoice which he said was required. Not believing my misfortune of hiring someone who may not be properly licenced the EPA guy took pity and said not to worry and he would contact company. He rang back a couple of days later and said he had been out to my house again just to check on clean up and said their was still fragments found laying on the ground. I advised him that I had made it clear to asbestos removal company that EPA was involved and had to be done to their standard. I had paid them to do it properly. Once again he said not to worry and he would get company to go out again.

As Handy Andy has said ....there must have been heaps of fibres and fragments left all over suburbs after houses were built using asbestos in small or greater quantities. Ridiculous to make an issue out of another 1% which could not be removed short of scraping a layer of soil from the affected areas - and probably exposing old fragments which were left over from original build.

The EPA was also going to have a word in the carpenters ear about educating himself on asbestos identification. EPA tests confirmed high concentration of asbestos in sheeting. I suspect the old carpenter knew it was asbestos but as he was not worried about it he told me and the tenant that it was not to avoid having to take extra care in removing.

In another situation after that a**hole tenant moved out I had to have a section of fibro replaced on the garage wall as the tenant had broken it. The handyman that the agent sent out decided only part of the sheet needed replacing and used his angle grinder to cut the broken section out - no dust mask. I stepped well back from him as he did it! These guys that have been working with asbestos for years have no fear. I am not overly concerned but would still take more precautions than a lot of these guys and wet any area to be drilled and would never use a grinder!

To the extreme, I was having the house painted externally and the young painter would not remove any flaking paint off the fibro gutter other than large pieces that he could pick off with his fingers - not allowed due to regulations. The difference between young and old, the safety conscious and the hardened old boys.

BTW, a friend was telling me a while back that her father died of asbestosis - must have been about 20-30 years ago I am guessing. He worked for JH in making the fibro sheeting. I don't think her fathers illness was clearly identified or the cause determined (we did not discus in detail) but she said when he was too ill to work any more the JH management was very willing to help the family as much as they could - obviously knowing a lot more than was commonly known by the general public at the time and trying to keep people on side and not dig too deep.

This is the problem with so-called asbestos removalists... I found out that half of them in my local newspaper are either advertising fake licence numbers or dont mention a licence number at all. The ones who do have license numbers don't like being questioned when you ask them simple things like "how do you remove the asbestos wall, in one sheet? Do you vacuum afterwards? Should a monitor be used?"

Honestly, they shouldn't call them professionals at all. Having Kev and Barry turn up in shorts and no gear and ripping out asbestos which they happily throw onto the back of a ute makes me cringe.

I can't imagine going to a doctor or dentist or anyone else and agreeing to have a procedure done without knowing what they plan on doing.

I believe if people are going to charge for a service, they should be able to answer a couple of basic questions. If they can't, then they can bugger off.

Sydgal,

I think this is where the confusion lies. As the public, all we see are concerned Professors, and legal counsel testifying to the devastating potential consequences of the risks of fibrosis and other deadly diseases.....so that's what is swimming around our head when we come across asbestos on our property and simply want it removed cleanly.

The shock is when we meet the Kev's and Barry's of the world, who make a very handsome living indeed charging you an arm and a leg to simply make the problem "go away".

Rather than your scrutiny, probing and interrogation, they'd very much prefer if you simply went away for 2 days, came back and they could say "tada - she's all done....now where is our big fat cheque"

The reality is, especially with fencing sheets, the job is an absolute doddle if you can swing a shovel and are prepared to use commonsense and a bit of elbow grease. Roofing sheets are a lot harder to remove without creating dust everywhere I grant you.

Sydgal,
The shock is when we meet the Kev's and Barry's of the world, who make a very handsome living indeed charging you an arm and a leg to simply make the problem "go away".

Rather than your scrutiny, probing and interrogation, they'd very much prefer if you simply went away for 2 days, came back and they could say "tada - she's all done....now where is our big fat cheque"

Agreed.

Problem is I'm not able to remove this stuff on my own without help.
So it's either risk a Barry and Kev doing it, and hope that when they do it they do it properly. Or decide not to strip out the bathroom, just tile over it all, and pretend it's not there.... what to do i dont know......

http://smh.domain.com.au/blogs/talk...ent-time-bomb-20111004-1l69l.html?comments=42

This article is very important, and i hope all renovators take note of the dangers of asbestos removal.

I experienced a dozen tradies failing to identify asbestos in my home prior to renovations, plus the pre-purchase inspection report by a builder failed to identify 3 rooms containing asbestos fibro. It was only through asbestos testing that confirmed it's presence.

It has cost me a small fortune to have it professionally removed. But i'd rather that than the "she'll be right" attitude of tradies who do not give a crap about their own health or the health of their customers. Yes, they wanted to sand, drill, break away the fibro, with no precautions even when i told them i thought it was absestos fibro.

Better education is needed amongst home owners and tradies. if your gut tells you not to trust them, then don't.

A better licensing system is also needed amongst removalists.

The Cost of Asbestos Removal - A Break Down

My company holds unrestricted asbestos licence (WA168) in Perth, Western Australia - This can be verified through the Department of Commerce - WORKSAFE. The licence permits us to remove both friable and bonded asbestos materials in Western Australia.

I myself have worked in Australia as an asbestos consultant (competent person) for more than 20 years and have worked throughout Australia in this capacity. I decided to form an asbestos removal company because I believe the bar for asbestos removal in Australia needs to be raised higher than it is currently set.

Perhaps, I can shed some light on the cost of asbestos removal and why there is such variation in the quotations that you are getting:

Firstly, to obtain a restricted or bonded licence in Australia (allows you to remove asbestos sheeting, asbestos vinyl sheeting/tiles, insulative power boards) all you need to do is sit through an approved 4 hour training course, pay your fee, sit a basic test and then you can legally remove asbestos bonded materials. The fee for an unrestricted licence by comparison is thousands of dollars not hundreds, one must produce an asbestos removal procedures manual and an asbestos removal training manual and have these assessed by WORKSAFE - then the licence holder must sit an examination set by WORKSAFE.

The next thing incorporated into the quote is the cost of insurance. You need to make sure that the removalist you use is fully insured to undertake asbestos removal work. That is, they should have no asbestos exclusion in their public liability policy - To get this is costly and so the cost will be passed on to you the client.

Sadly there are asbestos removalists working out there without a no asbestos exclusion on their insurance. This means they are an insured business but they are not insured to remove asbestos. The removalist should also have in place workers compensation insurance should any of their employees ever get hurt on the job. Ask to see copies - which should be freely available for your viewing.

You should also be asking for a Control Plan for the asbestos removal which details how the asbestos will be removed step-by-step, any decontamination requirements and where the asbestos is to be disposed. For example, where asbestos sheeting has been affixed to stud work, each nail or screw hole should be cleaned out with a drill, the timber work HEPA vacuumed and wet wiped before then being sealed with PVA glue. The removalist should as a minimum provide you with a copy of the tip receipt for disposal of your asbestos waste. The landfill is also meant to provide the removalist with a certificate of disposal (See the Code of Practice). This is your verification that your asbestos has been correctly disposed to an approved landfill and not fly tipped.

Part of the quoted cost covers the mandated training and on-going training of the persons who remove your asbestos. Ask to see the training records of those persons who will be performing the removal of your asbestos.

My employees sit through an in-house WORKSAFE approved training course that runs for a week , they take written and hands on practical tests to confirm their understanding of the theory and only then are they placed with a experienced operative to begin their on-site training. In addition, my employees revieve external training from RTOs for things such as working in confined spaces, working at heights, mobile work platforms etc.

Also make sure you ask to see respirator fit test records for each person - this is confirmation that the respirator worn by the employee is capable of providing them the protection needed and is correct for their facial features - one size or type of mask does not fit all. There should also be an inspection and maintenance record for each respirator used.

Some of the cost of the quote covers the equipment and consumables used and any special requirements (e.g. cutting concrete to remove an asbestos fence, requirement for scaffold or fall protection etc.). Verify that the plastic used to bag or wrap the asbestos materials is of 200 micrometer thickness - as is specified by The Code of Practice for the Removal of Asbestos. Also ask to see the maintenance records for the equipement used - e.g. HEPA vacuum cleaners.

Then there is the cost of the business itself - rent, property insurance, equipment insurance, electricity, phones, IT etc and employee wages, PAYG, superannuation etc. and of course a mark up that must be incorporated into any quotation.

Hopefully, the above gives you an idea as to why there is so much variation in quotations provided for asbestos removal. Quite simply some people cut corners and can therefore offer cheaper prices. Certainly, you can remove asbestos yourself but one word of caution in your ear - Do you have appropriate insurance cover should a tennant ever make a future claim against you?

If you ask an asbestos removalist for any of the documents outlined above and they are not able to provide them to you then the alarm bells should be going off. They are all standard practice.

Professional asbestos removal that conforms to all legistlative requirements is not always your cheapest option. Unfortunately, asbestos removalists that do the right thing often loose out jobs to those who are preapred to bend the rules or simply just not follow them.

As with most things it comes back down to what you yourself are prepared to pay for the work. You can obviously save dollars by going with the cheapest quote, but are you confident that the asbestos removal work will be undertaken safely without risk to you, your tennants or others, that your asbestos waste is not being illegally dumped or those that are performing the asbestos removal are competent to do the work and leave you without a future liability?

Asbestos prices

there is a price list on the contacts page of antsasbestosremovalperth.com
it seems as if they are similar if not cheaper than the prices mentioned on this forum.

Asbestos removal is expensive not because the overheads are high, but because it is an extremely hazardous carcinogenic substance capable of causing cancer. Once breathed in the fibres never leave the lungs. This is not to say you will get cancer and die, but who knows?

Half the asbestos contractors in Perth are total cowboys with a dodgy ute or old truck and with little regard for their own health and safety let alone anybody elses. People who do not follow up the credentials of a potential contractor have noone to blame but themselves. Buy cheap, buy twice!

Dazz sounds as if he is extremely disgruntled as he has to remove asbestos products from real estate projects but
1) does not want to touch the stuff for obvious reasons
2) does not want to pay the price for someone else to remove for him.

If you work in asbestos removal, you WILL breath asbestos fibres. There is no escaping it. They embed on tools, slings, masks, and filters even when washed. How much are you willing to pay to avoid knowing asbestos fibres are inside your lungs?

Last week had asbestos sheeting removed - 2 bedroom walls stripped, ensuite walls and floor (tiles on asbestos sheeting) cost was $3000. Prior to engaging someone, rang BCC to be told no dumps in Brisbane accept asbestos sheeting of any size and to contact the Qld Gov Health Department. Told by them that I had to find a private tip to dispose of the sheeting. Seems everyone is trying to make it complex.

Just a heads up. NSW laws have changed and they don't allow anyone to do DIY asbestos removal any more. This needs to be done by a professional.

about to remove some asbestos from my property myself.

I have found that the 200um builders plastic is actually the most expensive part (assuming wrapping individual sheets).

Then the PPE

the asbestos tip fees are surprisingly inexpensive a few dollars per full sheet.

(perth)

about to remove some asbestos from my property myself.

I have found that the 200um builders plastic is actually the most expensive part (assuming wrapping individual sheets).

Then the PPE

the asbestos tip fees are surprisingly inexpensive a few dollars per full sheet.

(perth)

I had the same experiance in Perth. Getting rid of the asbestos in Perth was surprisingly cheap - my only issue was the first place I took it to rejected it as it wasn't complete sheets (even though it was wrapped up properly). Had to take it further out (Redhill tip for those in Perth).

Having said that I probably won't be doing asbestos work again myself. It is just quite simply not worth the risk for saving a few $$.

its funny listening to the rocket scientists whingeing about the cost of tradesman

have you ever considered the overhead cost of running a business let alone an asbestos removal business?

do you know how much public liability, products liability, asbestos liability, statutory liability, workers comp, professional indemnity, super, acirt, licences, training who do you think pays for this?

then you have to contend with all other site variables weather, access, travel, unions, workcover and then to win the work your tendering against 3or 4 others

sounds like easy money wonder why so many are going broke

I had the old single garage here demolished late last year....
Spent time carefully removing nails and screws from asbestos sheeting on the walls, wetting down and bagging the leftover dirt.

Employed a "certified asbestos removalist" to take the roof off....

Cost $900 for 47 minutes work as they smashed roof sheets and ripped up the screws.
Even with a fine water spray there was dust......

Worried to replace the main house roof (110sqm) later as I do not want asbestos dust everywhere.

It is a real and present issue.....

I had these guys come in and finish a job I started
www.1stchoiceasbestos.com.au

I'm in the Sutherland Shire but they service anywhere in and around Sydney I think. They were very professional and the owner (Pat) made me feel more comfortable with the whole thing. I find some companies try to scare people.

Also I'm not sure why that other poster said DIY removal is not an option in nsw, it's still perfectly legal up to 10sq/m. The tipping fees have also just recently been reduced. I just called 1st Choice Asbestos removal because it was a tricky job up on a second story room. They came in and took it out the window!