Early Childhood Education - opinions please

I've been thinking about this on and off for a few years, and each time for one reason or another have done nothing about it. I'd love to hear some opinions either from those already in the profession or anyone doing mature age study.

I am seriously considering going 'back' to uni to do early childhood education - yes I want to go teaching.

When I say 'back' to uni, I last attended in the early 80's, so really the fact that I was ever there is pretty irrelevant.

I'm fairly sure I have to do STAT (special tertiary admissions test) as I did my TEE in 1978! :eek:

For your opinion to be informed I'll admit to my age - 47 and the fact that I have no intention of giving up working to study. So it'll all be part time / external study. On the plus side, my work is pretty cruisy, though full time. The kids are out the house and I have the full support of Mr Minx. Is it worth it? Am I too old?

Would love some opinions, thoughts from anyone who may gone down this path.

Early childhood studies

Hiya

When i was young, my teacher told me something which i've carried with all my life; she said "it's never too late darling".

I was a CPA during my earlier (misguided) life; went full time mothering with 3 kids and loving it; i hit the books again when the last one walked into kindy 3 years ago and did a part time teaching degree. I loved it, it not only gave me mental stimulation but also allowed me to understand my children's psychology and their education curriculum better.

Not to mention, i can now teach part time to fit into my own family schedule and earn extra monies to buy property! And unlike other profession, teaching is not ageist at all!

Hope that helps!

jenn (BTW, started the studies at 40)

Thanks for sharing that Jenn.

I was starting to wonder if everyone was so busy laughing at the absurdity of it all that they couldn't think how to respond! ;)

There are all sorts of reasons why I'd like to do this, but the chief one is that I have another 15-20 working years left and I'm bored rigid. Teaching has always interested me, though I didn't do it when I was at uni - the pay is okay, the holidays are generous and I can choose full-time or part-time work at the end of it. I was a good student, though I'm sure I'll be rusty, but that doesn't bother me too much.

Would love to hear from any other mature age students, or other teachers with thoughts and opinions, positives and negatives.

Of course you aren't too old, I know quite a few people studying in their 40's and 50's, and one gentleman who has just completed his law degree at the age of 68. get in touch with a few uni's (University of New England has a great external student study program, as do many other uni's) see what they offer and what you need to do to gain entry into the course. If you already have a degree then you may choose to enter as a graduate -although the costs can sometimes be higher for a graduate course.

Go for it Minx,

I think pre-school aged teaching is one profession where some age, maturity and life-experience of raising kids is of wonderful value. You will be valued for these attributes by parents.

From the experiences I have had with my two little ones, the 'older' workers are more stable - stay around longer. Younger ones move around more, whether for different experiences, maternity leave etc. Consistency of carer is of great importance to many parents. Both the teachers my daughter currently has are over 50, and both are terrific and highly respected and valued by the community. And more importantly, my daugher adores them.

Good for you, and best of luck.

Lily

Hi Minx,
I reckon go for it.
To be honest there is a lot of us who only realise in our
40s+ want we want to do.

A lady l know didnt want to go through the few years of study and the cost of Uni so she did a short course of approx 8 weeks in learning to be a special needs aid teacher.
She has been employed since the first day the course was completed. Enjoys a hourly rate of approx $25.00 and gets all school holidays off with pay.
She is very happy with her employment and apparently there is quite a shortage of these teachers.

The course was done through the education department in WA.

Good luck with with your studies.
yadreamin

My wife is 44. She has a few degrees and has done different things. She is now finishing off a Master of Teaching degree.
Our kids are 6 and 8, but the family logistics of one parent being a teacher are pretty good.
I think parents make good teachers, too. They understand kids and aren't as fazed by them as young teachers

...and we need more passionate teachers.

Minx:
I was starting to wonder if everyone was so busy laughing at the absurdity of it all that they couldn't think how to respond!

There are all sorts of reasons why I'd like to do this, but the chief one is that I have another 15-20 working years left and I'm bored rigid. Teaching has always interested me, though I didn't do it when I was at uni - the pay is okay, the holidays are generous and I can choose full-time or part-time work at the end of it. I was a good student, though I'm sure I'll be rusty, but that doesn't bother me too much.

Would love to hear from any other mature age students, or other teachers with thoughts and opinions, positives and negatives.

Quite a few of the rural gals and guys go back into seeking their passions in life, once the children are off, some of them rethink about the path(s) they want/seek, some just don't want to farm all their lives...a few headed back as mature age students, some as teachers and loving every minute of it.

Our local newsagency couple, did just that, he had stuff he wanted to do, and she went back to Uni for teaching, caught up with them not long ago, they are like two enthusiastic kids full of passion and interest, and it did their relationship no harm either, (their comment). Each got to follow their bliss.

Go for whatever you want Minx. And have fun. Agem smagem...bah!

My first thought when I read your plan was why spend years studying for a job that is stressful and (apparently) doesn't pay that well. But I chose not to comment because only you know where your heart lies and I didn't want to rain on your parade.

I have a friend who at 37 has just done a year's part time study to be a teacher's aid. She found the study hard to fit in with two children in primary school, each doing extra-curricular activities but she got through it, scored a permanent four day a week job and is really enjoying it. She is only on about $20 an hour (perhaps a little more now) and said she could get about $25 per hour at Bunnings, and that is where I see a real problem.

If it is where your heart lies and you have a "calling" and are going in with your eyes open, then don't worry what anybody else thinks.

I am 48 and after just having gotten the house back to myself after school and uni holidays, I am enjoying just pottering. But last year I was starting to feel a bit lost and not knowing what I wanted to do with myself. I feel quite sure this feeling will return again, but for now I am not bored. I kind of envy you in that you have found a "direction" whereas I was feeling a little lost about what to do with myself.

If you want it, go out there are get it, and if you start the course and decide it's not for you after all, you have lost nothing much at all.

Hi Minx. Go for it.

I'm Early Childhood trained. I went to UNI at 30 when I had a toddler and a preschooler (that was really easy);). I loved the course and found everything to be worthwhile. You know how sometimes you do a subject and say "how is this useful?".

I had intended to work in Preschools but sat for the department of Education interview and got targeted so got a job straight away. I wasn't sure if it would be for me but decided to give it 2 years (I had to have a job with UNI fees and 2 kids). Turns out I loved it and never left.
I have taught upper grades but younger ones are my specialty. I love it.

Feel free to PM me if you have any questions. Send your Email if you like and I can give you any info I have.
One of the parents at my school was a helper in my class. I talked her into doing her teaching degree as she's a born teacher. She finishes this year.

It's a great career. Good luck.

I am 48 and after just having gotten the house back to myself after school and uni holidays, I am enjoying just pottering. But last year I was starting to feel a bit lost and not knowing what I wanted to do with myself. I feel quite sure this feeling will return again, but for now I am not bored. I kind of envy you in that you have found a "direction" whereas I was feeling a little lost about what to do with myself.

This is how I've been feeling for a while now. My last one moved out a year ago, and after the initial shock, I just loved it - so much time to catch up on everything! But a year down the track and I'm floundering. From when our kids were babies I've worked full time - so that doesn't bother me, I can do my job with my eyes shut. Mr Minx is out a couple of times a week doing what interests him and he's joined some associations too and I'm at home doing ..... the ironing. Now that I finally have time, I have no idea what to do with it!

So the teaching really is to kill lots of birds with one stone - a much needed career change, a goal for all this spare time, and the time to travel at the end of it all as I'm battling to get 2 weeks off a year with my current job. The pay is no worse than what I'm getting now and (according to the guy I just spoke to on the phone) there is no maximum age involved and older teachers are very highly regarded.

Thanks to everyone for the support.

Maybe you could do some volunteer work at childcare centres or early yrs primary to see if teaching is really for you.

In QLD, there are always more graduates than jobs and majority new grads have to start out doing relief work. My husband graduated 2006 and some of his colleagues still can't find full time employment and others hated it tso much, they changed careers. It has a high drop out rate because it's not an easy job.

As for going back to studies, it's never too late.

My husband quit his high paying job, took a yr out at 33y.o to do a post graduate in Early Childhood Education 1yr full time EXTERNALLY.....I had to highlight that part coz studying externally is really difficult to do and I am so proud of him. There were like 98% females and 2% males on the course. He was also a full time SAHD to our newborn son that year whilst I went back to work full time.

But it's his passion...he absolutely loves his job. It's not even about the money. He spent 1.5yr at ABC teaching their pre-school room. His kids were smarter than kids at prep. The principal of a private school heard of him through parents and scouted him for a year 1 job.

the holidays is ok but it means we have to travel in peak season and everything's busy and there's so many kids about.

I would love to find my ideal job. I am envious of him but I know I definately cannot be a teacher!

I've been thinking about this on and off for a few years, and each time for one reason or another have done nothing about it. I'd love to hear some opinions either from those already in the profession or anyone doing mature age study.

I am seriously considering going 'back' to uni to do early childhood education - yes I want to go teaching.

When I say 'back' to uni, I last attended in the early 80's, so really the fact that I was ever there is pretty irrelevant.

I'm fairly sure I have to do STAT (special tertiary admissions test) as I did my TEE in 1978! :eek:

For your opinion to be informed I'll admit to my age - 47 and the fact that I have no intention of giving up working to study. So it'll all be part time / external study. On the plus side, my work is pretty cruisy, though full time. The kids are out the house and I have the full support of Mr Minx. Is it worth it? Am I too old?

Would love some opinions, thoughts from anyone who may gone down this path.

Go for it Minx!!

Life is about variety, adventure, excitement.

You are only here once, so do what you want, when you want and don't be afraid to break out and do something daring and different.

Sounds like the best kind of mid-life crisis to have. :D

Maybe you could do some volunteer work at childcare centres or early yrs primary to see if teaching is really for you.

In QLD, there are always more graduates than jobs and majority new grads have to start out doing relief work. My husband graduated 2006 and some of his colleagues still can't find full time employment and others hated it tso much, they changed careers. It has a high drop out rate because it's not an easy job.

Sue there is a teacher shortage here in WA. Though of course that may not be the case when I eventually finish.

Thanks for sharing your husband's story, I would love to know why you feel that external is so hard.

I found out today that my ancient TEE results are still in the system (on microfiche) and still more than qualify me for any course I would want to do. Now I just have check with the uni if they will accept them or if I have to sit the STAT. Would be good not to have to do that, so here's hoping.

that's good news, I don't think you will have to re-sit stat.

external is much harder than on campus coz the support you get is very limited. But I think the most difficult part is being able to motivate yourself to study since there are no tutorials. I couldn't study externally at all.

But teaching is not an easy job and it's really not right to do it just for the benefits. My husband did some relief work for 3 mths at various childcare centres before he was definite of the career change. It was a huge investment that yr coz we paid his fees outright and had substantial loss of income from work. As a Early Childhood Educator, that covers children from 2y.o to 8y.o (I think) so it's not just schools but childcare centres too and pay at CC is low and not the same benefits as school. But hubby still worked in a CC as a teacher coz it's not about the money.

He was so good at his job that when his ABC centre was closing down, he received proposition from parents to invest in him to buy the centre! we did consider buying a CC centre but he just wants to teach, not be a business owner.

I wasn't sure if it would be for me but decided to give it 2 years (I had to have a job with UNI fees and 2 kids). Turns out I loved it and never left.
But it's his passion...he absolutely loves his job.
To those of you called to this most sacred of professions, I can only offer you my heartfelt thanks and best wishes. Like Sue, I know that I'm definitely not cut out for it, which makes me even more appreciative of those who are. Best wishes to you, Minx. And thanks travelbug and Mr Sue ;) for your service to humanity.

I think working in education can be one of the most rewarding options around.

I work as a teacher aide in a large high school library and really love it. I am working 3 days a week as I approach retirement, but am now seriously thinking of cutting to 2 days in a year or two and continuing indefinitely, I really hate the thought of leaving completely.

Yes, it is often stressful but the rewards are enormous. And don't believe all the bad things people say about the youth of today - yesterday in the library we had two purses handed in with money intact, plus 6 USB memory sticks, AND I caught a bus home (which I rarely do) and three young people stood up immediately for the adults to sit down.

Minx, it sounds like a wonderful idea. There is no such thing as too old. I am an early childhood teacher and have worked with teachers over 70 in primary schools. I have gradually cut back on working since having children (number 3 due in 8 weeks) and did not intend to return but I am feeling a bit lost for something to do with my days now that 1 and 2 are at prep and kindy so I am strongly considering going back to it. As it is, I am being invited in to do specialist art sessions on a voluntary basis and I am really enjoying it. As mentioned, there is the option of part time work/job sharing, short term contracts and relief. As Sue said, also the great holidays, though you really need them to recover and reenergise!:D

I did a 4 year degree, though if I had my time again, I would have done a grad dip on top of a 3 year degree in something else - probably visual art as that is my 'thing'. If you already have a degree, that may be an option for you, I think it is 2 years externally part time.