Going back to Uni

I'm planning on going back and doing my MBA. (Master Business Admin). Something I'm been itching to do for a while now. I've been in IT for over 5 yeas, and I love it with no intention of moving but I want to bring the Business/Exec/Company side into it. Where is where I'm interested in the most.

Is it simply a matter of funding the $12,000 a year it's going to cost (part time)? That's a lot of money. ($1000 a month, or, another IP).

Does the Australian government provide any tax privileges/advantages for people in my situation? I know I'll be full-fee paying.

Anyone done a similar thing? How did you justify the dollars? I know in the end it's just another Personal Investment.

Matt

I did my MBA just like you, after about 5 years in IT. (Since then my goals have changed, so it was a bit of a waste of time).

I did claim it on my tax, because it was related to getting more pay. The fees/textbooks etc. Even some home office expenses (25% of utilities for the weeks I was actually studying).

Is the issue that you are not an Australian citizen? Because Aust citizens can do their MBA on HECCS. Though perhaps you are doing it privately. In which case you should ask around and see if it is highly regarded in the real world (don't take the institution's word for it, they have a vested interest in getting your $s).

Call a few top placement agencies and ask if employers they deal with look for candidates with an MBA. It pays to do that sort of research irrespective of where you plan to study.

Is the issue that you are not an Australian citizen? Because Aust citizens can do their MBA on HECCS. Though perhaps you are doing it privately. In which case you should ask around and see if it is highly regarded in the real world (don't take the institution's word for it, they have a vested interest in getting your $s).