What Hours do you Work?

I'm a farmer so my hours are all over the place, but I'm keen to know what hours other people work.

Sheep shearers used to work from 7:30 am to 5:30 pm divided into 4 2 hour runs. They have a 1 hour unpaid lunch and 2 30 unpaid minute tea breaks. It's hard yakka so that's why they need long breaks. With the 38 hour week requirements they either finish at 5pm Mon - Fri or finish at 3pm on Friday and 5:30 other days.

I hear that a lot of Office workers work 9 - 5, what breaks do you guys get and what is the total hours per week.

What about tradies, I know a lot of you guys start at 7 am and finish at 3pm. What breaks do you get?

Anyone on a salary where you are expected to work more than 40 hours a week? Are the hours specified or do you just work long hours to meet the companies expectations?

from my experience people who work long hours in the office (IT) are usually early birds.

i know a lot of people who start early, just because that's how they live, with the intention of leaving early

however that rarely happens because they get held up by those who start late, or by problems that "must be resolved right now".

i used to start at 8 once upon a time, but eventually figured out that no matter how early I start, i won't leave before 5pm anyway. so gradually that shifted to 9-9.30 start, and finish anywhere between 5-6.

also in corporate IT there is a shift now towards working from home, and as a result - you are judged on what you achieve as opposed to how many hours you spend sitting in front of your desk.

I work for a crisis line.

I work 9 days a fortnight. My weekday shifts are usually 10am - 6pm and my weekend shifts are usually 2pm - 10pm. I get a 1 hour break which is paid. I work every sunday and get every 2nd saturday off. On my days off during the week I usually spend about 8 hours doing renovations. I guess that means I work between 35- 51 hrs per week depending on whether or not I'm busy doing reno's in my spare time.